We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and a nice view from the city walls” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Citadela

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Citadela
Stari Grad, Kotor, Montenegro
Improve this listing
Ranked #43 of 74 Restaurants in Kotor
Cuisines: Eastern European
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Good food and a nice view from the city walls”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

We went here to eat some pizza and steak. The food was pretty good, for Montenegro the prices are a bit high (pizza was 10,- and steak 16,-), but in Kotor everything is. The only downside was the cheesy music they played.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    7
    7
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great place to unwind”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

I only had drinks here but it was a great place to unwind, relax & watch the sun set. Had soft music playing in the background which was nice since you could easily hear the people at your table talking.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Chillax heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

We went for a late dinner last night and thoroughly enjoyed fish soup, grilled vegetables and seafood salad. The salad was especially good with a wide variety of fish and a delicious dressing. The food is not super classy but thought has gone into the flavours and presentation. The views are amazing and it was a really lovely place to relax for several hours.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Probably the best place in Kotor to enjoy a drink”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

My friends and I noticed this bar when we looked up from outside the city walls, and decided to try to find it. We were so glad we did! We came for one drink, that became lunch... then before we knew it we'd been there all day and stayed for dinner! Shocking behaviour I know, but we couldn't drag ourselves away. Just one more...

If I'm honest, after many half-litres of tasty Nikšićko beer (at only €2 each!) we don't remember much about dinner except that it was tasty, but lunch was really good. The staff were very friendly too, something that I found somewhat lacking in other places in Kotor, up for a chat and a joke and very tolerant of trio of Brits and Aussies getting gradually more and more tipsy.

Really though, this place is about being out in the sun and admiring the view - it's incredible. Looking out into the bay and up at the mountains with my mates in the sun is something I'll not forget.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Views and Beer!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

After walking around the old part of Kotor for awhile we really wanted a nice place to relax with a cold drink. The local beer was super cheap here! I believe we spent around 10 euros for both myself and my husband to have 1 liter each. The views were wonderful from the rooftop deck and the umbrellas blocked the sun. We had a great time just hanging out and enjoying ourselves and there is something to be said for that.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Citadela also viewed

Kotor, Kotor Municipality
Kotor, Kotor Municipality
 
Kotor, Kotor Municipality
Kotor, Kotor Municipality
 

Been to Citadela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Citadela, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.