We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely setting, nice food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Luna Rossa

Luna Rossa
Old Town 423, Kotor 85330, Montenegro
00382-32-322-458
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 74 Restaurants in Kotor
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Spain
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Lovely setting, nice food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I actually visited this restaurant twice as I found the place really nice. They have a lovely terrase and it's a perfect place to relax. They offer Mediterranean food, quite a lot of Italian dishes. I tried the risotto which was excellent. On my second visit I had some meat, a very tender sirloin steak. The service was impeccable. Prices were ok, not the cheapest but still good for the quality they serve. I would certainly go back again!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    23
    11
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prestwick, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Rude Service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

The food was little more than average. Veal which was actually pork. Pasta dish was far too salty. Service was very poor and waitress was rude and as she kept sneaking off for a cigarette every time she appeared back stale smoke aroma was unpleasant.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Coffee and a big fan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Luna Rossa was a lovely place to recuperate after climbing to St John's Fortress. We sat on the plaza, under large misting fans and had coffee and a big fruit plate in very comfortable chairs. Service was friendly and timely. We needed that coffee.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Rip off for breakfast”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

This is only a review of the breakfast served in this hotel. We had a room in Apartments Wine House and they recommend this place for breakfast. When we initially sat down outside we ordered drinks, orange juices a coke and a latte. We were given a breakfast menu which had eggs and bacon for €4. My husband ordered this. I spotted the cereal inside the door and asked could the children have this. They said yes and asked us to sit in another area where there was a buffet breakfast. The children both had cereal and I had a croissant. When the bill came we were charged for our drinks which was fine plus €6 euro each for the buffet. My husband explained that he had not touched the buffet but had ordered from the menu, a dish for €4. Also that we had only taken 2 bowls of cereal and a croissant.Tthe waiter said he understood this was unfair and he would only charge us for the drinks. My husband explained that we would like to pay for the food too but just a fair price. He checked with his manager and said we must pay for the four buffet breakfasts plus the extra drinks as we had sat in the buffet area. We paid and left but were disappointed. Also the buffet was uncovered with flies on the bread and the dining area very dusty. I'm glad we weren't staying here.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“What A Great Lunch Spot in Kotor!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Wandering around the streets of Kotor, we were disappointed to see the restaurants full of tour groups eating pizza/pasta and baking in the sun. As we rounded a corner, we happened upon Luna Rossa and being curious we checked out various patrons meals. The food looked appetizing and we decided to have lunch at Luna Rossa. We have no regrets! Our lunch was superb! One of the best meals we enjoyed in Croatia and Montenegro - tuna carpaccio on a bed of arugula, delicious fish pate, bruschetta, fresh salads and seafood! Thank you Lawrence for superb service - attentive, but not intrusive - ranks in the best service levels of the trip!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luna Rossa also viewed

Kotor, Kotor Municipality
Kotor, Kotor Municipality
 
Kotor, Kotor Municipality
Kotor, Kotor Municipality
 

Been to Luna Rossa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luna Rossa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.