We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel and staff, but one problem...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monte Cristo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Monte Cristo to your Saves list
Hotel Monte Cristo
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Stari Grad, Kotor 85330, Montenegro   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 16 Kotor B&B and Inns
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice hotel and staff, but one problem...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

The Monte Cristo is a nice enough hotel; our room was adequately sized and cosy, the staff were friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was decent enough. One problem; they had a live band playing in their bar below until past 1am! Apart from that noise, there were various other bangings and furniture movings which when you're getting up at 7am to hike the city walls is a bit irritating. Also the parking is quite far from the hotel, though there is a golf kart service to take you there.

Not a bad hotel, just beware of the of the noise.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    20
    6
    4
    2
See reviews for
13
28
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I immediately loved this hotel when I checked in. Eclectic, old world ambiance in the Old Town section of Kotor. Centrally located, clean, convenient and charming. The room was spacious and had a lot of character (old stone walls, antique furniture, etc).

Down side to the hotel -- tonight is my 2nd night and there is live music next door. It's now 2 AM and the noise is so loud, I can't sleep. While i love the character of this place, there needs to be some effort to sound proof the rooms -- it's utterly frustrating to not be able to sleep when you want to.

I really wanted to give this hotel 4 or 5 stars, but this evening's experience kind of ruined it for me.

The hotel restaurant is average. I suggest eating in one of Kotor's nearby restaurants or cafe's (there is a great new wine bar about 100 metres away). I originally intended to stay a few extra nights because I am enamored with this town, however, the lack of sleep from the noise has changed my opinion (i'm sorry to say).

On the plus side -- incredibly friendly helpful staff @ reception. Waiter in the restaurant on 1st night was quite unfriendly. No big deal, but given the price of the meals, one expects a bit friendlier service. Especially in a hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the courtyard or on a higher level. My room was on 2nd floor and it was horribl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spalding, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We only stayed one night in Kotor but really enjoyed our stay at this hotel and in the old town. The town is even better at night when the crowds have gone and the town is lit with street lamps.
Small but very welcoming hotel which is very tastefully presented. It was a little noisy but not bad enough to not go again. The streets are small and it is a vibrant place hence there is always going to be some noise of people going about their daily lives. Breakfast was OK and is served in the restaurant below the hotel. The only down side was that breakfast was served with only one cup of coffee ad you have to pay if you want another

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is very well located and our room (#7) was very comfortable for three people with 2 large beds in 2 separate rooms. There is a pub/bar next to hotel that plays music, which during the day was quite to our liking. At night when we closed the shutters and put on the AC we didn't hear it.

I very much appreciated that the staff was very responsive and able to accommodate a snafu with my reservation.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights at the beginning of the season.
Hotel is in a great location at the top end of the old town, within the city walls.

Hotel has a deal with the local car park if you're driving in.
Just ask at reception and they'll point you in the right direction.
Then it's a short walk through the Northern City gate to the hotel.

Very helpful staff showed us to a lovely room on the top floor (No. 7).
Spacious and charming. The right balance of traditional touches and good facilities.

As you'll know by now, Kotor old town is quite lively at night and there is music playing
until the early hours from some bars nearby, but to be honest, once the heavy wooded
shutters are close over the windows of your room and the curtains drawn, it's fine
and we both slept well.

Breakfast was a bit average with not much choice and we had dinner on the first evening
which again, wasn't great.

So overall, stay here if you like a clean, charming traditional hotel close to all that Kotor has to offer, but perhaps eat elsewhere.

Room Tip: No. 7 is on the top floor and has 2 doubles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

I go to Kotor rather often and this hotel is far from the best in town. The service is not high level, the staff was louder then appropriate, the room was ok, but i ended up not returning there after the first stay. The Old Town location is my personal favorite, so it was not a complete miss!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

My Mom and I stayed at the Hotel Monte Cristo during Easter week. It is located right in the center of old town Kotor. The hotel is absolutely charming. It was our favorite out of the 3 hotels we stayed during the week. The bed was comfortable and they supplied us with extra pillows and blankets. The water stayed hot and the bathroom was easy to move around. The only downfall for staying in this hotel would be the stairs to get into the hotel and to the rooms. My Mom has has minor knee difficulties and found it stressful. The staff was always helpful and friendly. The breakfast isn't amazing for variety of food, however we were happy with the selection of tidbits. Cocoa puffs!! I would highly suggest staying at this hotel if you want to be in the heart of Kotor.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Monte Cristo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monte Cristo

Address: Stari Grad, Kotor 85330, Montenegro
Location: Montenegro > Kotor Municipality > Kotor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Kotor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monte Cristo 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Monte Cristo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monte Cristo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.