We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favorite hotels on the trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Astoria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Astoria to your Saves list
Hotel Astoria
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stari grad, Kotor 85330, Montenegro   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Kotor
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Philly
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“One of my favorite hotels on the trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Stayed at the Hotel Astoria for one night. We booked the day of and there were only 2 rooms left (even though it was low season). So book early.

We were given an upgrade when we arrived. Place was newly renovated but they kept the charm of the place.

As mentioned in the post, when we arrived, we called the hotel. They told us where to park and met us with a golf cart.

We had the top room, which was great. Only thing to mention was that we couldn't get the air conditioning to work so it was a bit hot. But we opened the windows and it was not a big deal. (not sure if it would be noisy during high season),

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    41
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
23
99
14
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Koh chang
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

I was travelling with My four year old daughter Millie. We arrived by car from Dubrovnok airport.
Someone from the hotel met us on the road with their golf cart ( no cars in the walled town)
And directed us to the free parking just outside the walls.
All of the staff were quite wonderful and all very helpful. They were really good with my young daughter and we left feeling we had made friends.
The rooms are beautiful,restaurant good,excellent breakfast and location the best.
We originally were in a room overlooking the square which was great but the manageress very
Kindly upgraded us to a suite overlooking the marina and bay.
I hope to return with my family and will definitely be booking The Astoria.
I consider that we were very lucky to find this hotel.to be honest it was recomend end to us by a friend who lives in Kotor.

Room Tip: If possible book the sea view suite on floor 3. Stunning view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fonte Boa, AM
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

We've been to Kotor in October 2013 and stayed at the Astoria. The arrival in the city is magnificent. We called the front desk and, within minutes, they sent us a tiny car to pick up our bags and give us guidance on where we should park. The reception people receive us with a smile and gave us all sorts of information about the place. The rooms, which are designated by Greek letters, are magnificent. We got delighted with such good taste. The large windows of our room faced the street and had a spectacular view of the wall and the mountains thar surround Kotor. Everything worked perfectly and the bathroom had an exceptional shower. If we return to Kotor one day, we will not need worry about a good place to stay. The Astoria is THE HOTEL, very close to one of the gates and in a very quiet courtyard location. There is a restaurant at the hotel, much frequented at night, but the noise did not bother at all. Sometimes, when you transit by the stairs to reach your room, you can feel an unpleasant smell of cigarette. This is a negative point of the hotel, which, however, does not compromise the good stay it can offer.

Room Tip: If you want a good restaurant in Kotor, ask the reception staff about the direction to Galion. It st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tirana, Albania
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We spent the weekend in Kotor and this nice hotel, located in the very center of the Old Town, few meters away from the cathedral in a quite and romantic small square.
The room was superb, spacious and nicely decorated (if we consider that the hotel building is centuries old). The breakfast was also great, offering many alternatives.
The hotel staff were friendly and always helpful. The location is very convenient for all kinds of activity. They also provide a free parking in the corner of the city wall (200 meters away from hotel). Worth the price and everything...

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitstable
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Stayed a while back in June, beautiful hotel in the centre of town. Room was very comfortable, furnished well, and looked out onto the main square. All the staff I came in contact with were courteous and very helpful, would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights and I wish it could have been more. This hotel has rooms which look out to the square in the Old Town as well as the Bay of Kotor. My room was facing the bay and it was spacious, clean and comfortable. The staff are really great and they even have their own restaurant which is decorated almost in a modern Louis XIV style. Breakfast was okay, nice to have freshly squeezed orange juice in the morning and with it being served until 1pm it is great for the late sleepers.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in a room overlooking the bay and were very happy with our stay.
The room was clean, comfortable and spacious.
The breakfast was served next door and was OK, nothing to rave about but just adequate to start the day.

The hotel is in the centre of town and you can walk everywhere. This was a lovely stay and we were very happy and relaxed here. Would recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astoria

Address: Stari grad, Kotor 85330, Montenegro
Phone Number:
Location: Montenegro > Kotor Municipality > Kotor
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Kotor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Astoria 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Placed in the ancient 13th-century Buca Palace, in the core of the old town Kotor, Astoria inspires you to relive the history of this Unesco world heritage site. Superbly and individually designed rooms, lounge bar and restaurant give you that electric feel of discovering the mystery of life, throughout the equations of Hellenic alphabet. As the fusion of music gently pierce your ears so the smells and scents of our international cuisine, along with the touch of modern, avant garde and classic dishes, reach your deepest expectations inside the timeless atmosphere. Let us spoil you in this extraordinary mix of the past, present and future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Splendia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Astoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.