We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“complete disaster.. no tips” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Zak

Zak
Safarikova 6, Novi Sad 21000, Serbia
21447565
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 97 Restaurants in Novi Sad
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Belgrade, Serbia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“complete disaster.. no tips”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

it was my 4th visit to this restaurant & it's needless to talk about food which is (was) very good, creative, , delicious..but here's where problem starts..
char-coal stains on the walls, (fancy redecorating soon ? ) modest sheets on tables (quite poor for this kind of restaurant) finally..waiters.. complete nightmare ..
first we got wrong starter ( not the one we've chosen) then again happened with the wine ( not the one we asked for) there were not many guests but had to wait whole hour between starters & main course.. too much !!!!!!
bad service is in a big disbalance with a spicey prices.. even though food is great we won't come again..

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    15
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Novi Sad, Serbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very Pricey but Very Good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

This is probably the place with the best food in the city, very expensive, but you get what you pay for.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi Sad, Serbia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Were rudely rejected on the entrance”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We planned to come here for a dinner and came 3 minutes after the kitchen was closed (23:03). While I don't mind being refused because of coming too late, the level of rudeness and unpleasantness with which the refusal was delivered was unnacceptable.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Novi Sad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I spent five weeks visiting friends in Novi Sad, and Zak was by far the best restaurant I visited. Not only was the food great, but the two owners are really great guys and we all spent quite a bit of time chatting with them.

The atmosphere is a bit plain, but the food more than makes up for it. My favorite dish was the beef filet in green peppercorn sauce which is served with some potatoes and vegetables. But the duck and celery purée is great too.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Far away from fine dining”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Went there with a friend ( local fellow ) who tried to prepare me for miracles to come.Ambience was very poor, we set at the first floor and I felt like eating in factory.The food was ok, we had beef carpaccio and chicken wings and after that some chicken and lamb ( mostly bones with just a little bit of meat ) but there were two things that were really bad: service ..the waiters were almost fighting in front of us, unpolite and unpleasant,very unproffesional and the other thing was the bill that was too expencive even for the Europian standards .Shame that my friend was really embaresed.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zak also viewed

Novi Sad, Vojvodina
Novi Sad, Vojvodina
 
Novi Sad, Vojvodina
Novi Sad, Vojvodina
 

Been to Zak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.