We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hostel Sun

Hostel Sun
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hostel Sun to your Saves list
Hostel Sun
Shevchenko 16, Lviv 79005, Ukraine   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 62 Lviv B&B and Inns
Sofia, Bulgaria
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Nice place to crash. Kind of compact but very interesting. Has a big entrance hall with comfortable couches and the beds are not bad although the shower cabin is in the room (behind the wall :D) and the room air gets moist.
Front desk is really nice and speak amazing english ;)

Room Tip: If you are in dorm #3 pick a bed in the internal room beacuse its not in the same room as the shower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    5
    7
    0
    10
See reviews for
Families
0
8
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Krakow
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We were around 40 people staying for 2 nights in this hostel.

A friend's iPod was stolen out of our locked room. During that day somebody of the staff was in our room because the toilet paper was refilled.

And when we wanted to check out on our last day, they told us that a bed was broken. In fact is was already broken when we arrived and it was only one wooden part of the bed base. we were forced to pay 200€ for it. Otherwise we wouldn't have got back our luggage (we put in the storage room). The owner of the hostel also threatened us with the police. It was nowhere written that we have to pay such a high "fine". And we were also not allowed to see the "broken bed" again.
I also have to say, that we only slept in our rooms. We didn't party up there.

The rooms were dirty, too. And we only got something like a linen and a really thin bed sheet for sleeping. It was really cold.

Besides the good location, i definitely can not recommend this place!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cracow, Malopolskie, Poland
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We stayed in Sun Hostel for 2 days.
The experience was not as we hoped it to be, for multiple reasons.

First of all the bathrooms, sheets and toilets where dirty or broken.

An IPod from one of us was stolen from a locked room.

And one of us was forced to pay 200 euros for a broken piece of wood of the bottom of the bed.

The said against all rules that it was a fine for destroying hostel property, and for the repairs of the bed. Although it was not stated in any regulation, there was actually no regulation written anywhere. She was not in the position to show us why he had to pay that amount, but in the end the money still was paid due to threats of the owner to involve the police.

Together enough trouble, never to return again and to say it is not to be recommended

21-11-2012

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed in the Sun Hotel for a few days and it was very pleasant. Hotel's staff was very friendly and helpful. It seems many guests are coming back there so there's a good chance to meet somebody who can share a lot of information about Lviv and Ukraine with first-time visitors like us. It's also very cheap and they offer one free beer for all their guests. The only problem were uncomfortable beds and stained bedsheets, but maybe we were just unlucky.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleator, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Me and my partner checked ınto a private room at the sun hostel, staff were frıendly and helped us wıth maps etc. The room had an on suıte, quıte small and the shower had no curtain so the place was wet after usıng ıt. The pıllow looked lıke ıt had been stained ın coffee wıth the amount of drıbble on ıt and there was some suspicious marks on the duvet as well. The sheets were clean though. The kitchen was basic and wasn't very tidy. Location wise, very close to supermarket and maın square, would recommend only for low budget travelers.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kharkiv, Ukraine
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

The location of the Sun was great, it puts you in the middle of everything-all the sights and attractions

The staff at the reception was friendly and took their time in pointing us in the right direction. Spoke English , Russian , Ukrainian and Polish.they provided us with all the travel information , maps and places to visit.

The rooms were nothing to brag about . the beds and pillows were just about average-the beds never stayed on the cots, the bathroom was large and spacious and had running hot water . The toilet was clean so were the rooms.

The place is definitely a value for money - 65GRN a night(8$) for this amazing location was good deal.

Room Tip: Ask for extra blankets and choose a room with a window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostel Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Sun

Address: Shevchenko 16, Lviv 79005, Ukraine
Location: Ukraine > Lviv Oblast > Lviv
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Lviv
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Hostel Sun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostel Sun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.