We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic and fabulious !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lviv High Castle

Lviv High Castle
Castle Hill, Lviv, Ukraine
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 78 things to do in Lviv
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Rivne, Ukraine
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Romantic and fabulious !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

You must be there at night or at least in the evening to see the night Lviv becoming alive) All sparkling lights just make you feel like in the dream. However, if you have a chance it's great to see the whole city at daylight from the hight of the High Castle too.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    74
    30
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Top Contributor
921 reviews 921 reviews
509 attraction reviews
Reviews in 159 cities Reviews in 159 cities
1,269 helpful votes 1,269 helpful votes
“Take your time--this is a tough climb!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

My young guide had to wait several times for me to catch up on a recent Monday morning. There are benches at several points on the climb up and I made good use of most of them. Unfortunately, on the day I went there was a heavy fog so the view, which must be fabulous on a clear day, was mostly obscured. Oldsters like me will be glad to know that the walk down is much easier than the climb up. Those with bad knees will remember this climb, and I don't mean in a good way, for days afterwards. You can drive or take a taxi half-way up, reducing the huffing and puffing; nevertheless, the climb is a difficult one.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great view - hard climb”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

This hill used to be a castle but was ruined over the various centuries of warfare in Ukraine. The view from the top is unparalleled and makes you really appreciate the city. It's particularly important to see the old Lviv on the west side full of its historic buildings and the more modern soviet style buildings to the east. It gives you a good contrast. The climb is pretty hard but not impossible. Just make sure to bring water and take it slow

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemet
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Hard walk, but worth the climb.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

No. There is no castle.
The view and fresh air from up at the top make this worth the climb!
It is a moderate walk up, so if you don't like walking, have a hard time uphill, etc. You might want to skip this one.
At the top you can see the entire city of Lviv. It is incredible.
I went in the winter, so everything was snowcapped and even more amazing.

On our way up there was a caricature artist. He drew our picture for a great price and was very fun. It is such a great memory of ours.

If you are into partying, nightlife, and crazy excitement, this is not your place.
This is a serene, casual walk with your partner to take amazing photos at.
:)

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Top Contributor
242 reviews 242 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
“Great views but nothing at the top”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

A long and arduous walk was rewarded with great views (which would be best appreciated in winter with no leaves to obscure the view). However it is quite littered at the top and there is nothing at the top, not even a little cafe for some well-earned liquid refreshment. Also, it may have once been a castle but now only the most basic fort remains.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lviv High Castle also viewed

 

Been to Lviv High Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lviv High Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.