We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Culinary Studio Kryva Lypa

Culinary Studio Kryva Lypa
Proizd Kryva Lypa, 8 | off Sichovykh Striltsiv, Lviv 79000, Ukraine
+380 322 553 100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 243 Restaurants in Lviv
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations
Switzerland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Could be better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Kryva Lypa is located in a nice side street in the center of Lviv. The restaurant is nice and has also a small terrace. The borsch soup (served in a bread bowl!) and the herrings with potatoes are excellent. The rest is average, and not typical ukrainian. On the negative side, the terrasse seems to be the meeting point of a group of cyclists, more specifically, acrobatic cyclings adepts. So, unless you want to be surrounded by them and watch their experiments on their bikes, you'd better eat inside! Also to mention, eating inside will save you from drunk guys shouting around the terrace...

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    15
    16
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norge
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best value ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

I was visiting Lviv during Euro 2012 and decided to eat brunch at this place on arrival with the nighttrain from Kiev. The food was excellent, especially with the low prices in mind. Did not check out their dinner options, but if I ever go back to Lviv, I will definitively et here again.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best food we've had in two weeks of being in Ukraine.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

We gave this restaurant a go because of the excellent reviews on tripadvisor and we fully agree with them.

We reserved a spot outside so that we could people watch in the charming square outside the restaurant. We ordered the traditional borscht soup for starter which is the best we've had whilst travelling throughout Ukraine for euro 2012 and we must have tried it in close to ten separate restaurants! Served in a bread loaf it is both filling and delicious.

For the main course we had a Greek salad and pork fillets with Gorgonzola. Again these were first class.

Friendly service and with cocktails it came to around £30 for the two of us. Excellent value!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
526 helpful votes 526 helpful votes
“Excellent food, good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

This is one of the best restaurants I ate in during a 12-day stay in Lviv. The food was good - I variously had a meat cutlet and a unique borsch soup which was served in a bowl made of bread. You need to eat it quickly or otherwise you might have soup all over the table. The beers are good. Highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Great food in a cool pub atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Culinary Studio KL is a nice pub like atmosphere located on the pedestrian lane "Kryva Lypa." All the previous reviews are spot on. It's an atmospheric small place, with very friendly waitresses and a good menu. Had the veal steak (locally sourced) with a red berry sauce which was at last 12 oz! Done perfectly and very tasty. For appetizers, had the greek salad which was also very large in portion and fresh. Perhaps a little overdoused in dressing though, but not fatal. Two glasses of Planeta (Sicily) red wine to accompany our meal. Total for two mains, two appetizers, two 100ml glasses of wine, and two coffees was a little over $30. I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Culinary Studio Kryva Lypa also viewed

 
Lviv, Lviv Oblast
 

Been to Culinary Studio Kryva Lypa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Culinary Studio Kryva Lypa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.