We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Solaris Hotel Ivan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Solaris Hotel Ivan to your Saves list
Solaris Hotel Ivan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hoteli Solaris 86 | Solaris D.D., Sibenik 22000, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Sibenik
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Hotel Ivan end of Sept for husband's 50th. A bit disappointed we did not have one of the front pool/sea view rooms as it was a special occasion but a side view room was okay. The room was lovely with giant bed and lovely bathroom area with large shower and large TV on wall at bottom of bed. The food at the restaurant was lovely and plentiful and the service was good, the staff were certainly kept busy! The only downside in the surrounding resort was the charge for everything - sunbeds, waterparks, sports, even the use of the sauna & gym at the hotel was charged which we have encountered at other hotels of a similar ilk as all inclusive for a similar price. Despite this we still had a fabulous time & would recomend the hotel to others

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antica B, Manager at Solaris Hotel Ivan, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear guest,
thank you for your feedback. We are happy that you had a fabulous time and we hope to see you here again.
Vedran Kopacevic
Solaris Hotel Ivan Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    80
    33
    30
    17
See reviews for
83
70
7
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

My wife and I stayed here as a stop over night as part of a Leger coach holiday. We were very pleased when we opened the door to our room which was lovely, nice clean white sheets and what turned out to be a very comfortable bed. It was a pity we did not have more time there. I know other members of the coach party were very happy to have stayed here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antica B, Manager at Solaris Hotel Ivan, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear guest,
thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is great to hear that you had a great time at Solaris and we hope that, maybe next year, you will have more time to fully explore our beautiful resort.
Vedran Kopacevic
Solaris Hotel Ivan Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We recently stayed at this property, 5 adults and one baby. We had 3 rooms, over various periods during the week. We also brought some friends who also decided to stay at the hotel.
At arrival, it was obvious that the baby cot was forgotten although we emailed and re-confirmed our arrival several times, etc. After arriving at almost midnight - we waited for the baby bed to be set up.
It is a detail but no biggie - things happen.

At brekafast on the first morning, the wait staff seemed overwhelmed by the morning rush. We couldn't find a table to sit - although there were several overflowing with the dirty dishes from previous guests. There simply didn't seem to be enough people on the floor to manage the clean up. I felt bad asking someone for the third time to clean up one of the tables, and then it took another three attempts to get coffee. I felt that this was not the level of service I expected for the price.
I assumed this was due to the fact that it was a Saturday and perhaps the number of guests is higher on the weekends and thus leaving people feeling unable to deal with the rush.

Most of the requests I had during the stay, however small or large, were declined by the reception staff and no follow up was made.

The rooms are a bit small, and the bathroom walls made of see-through plexiglass made for a few accidents for those clumsy ones amongst us but I would still return to the property as the grounds are beautiful, immaculate and brilliantly designed with many fun details.

I write the review only to point to the fact that it seems obvious that this is not simply a staffing issue but a management decision that could be either resolved by better planning and staff training/motivation, or more staff on the floor at crucial times along with a little bit of a finer customer service training, if the hotel really wants to live up to its marketing.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antica B, Manager at Solaris Hotel Ivan, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Dear Nat,
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your comments received on Tripadvisor and I appreciate the time you have spent to write it down. We appreciate Your praise regarding the grounds and that You find our hotel design immaculate and brilliantly. However I feel sorry that your expectations was not fully satisfied. We apologize for any inconvenience for breakfast on Saturday morning. Problem appears as shifts on Saturdays when most of the guests come at the same time rushing to avoid traffic jams. We apologize also the baby cot was not immediately in the room there was a misunderstanding in communication.
Every year we invest constantly in staff training and the feedback of our returning guests year after year we have only words of praise for the quality of the staff. I agree with you that there is still plenty. We hope that this small inconvenience that you had not undermine your confidence our hotel, and your paddles reunion.
It will be our pleasure to welcome you again in Solaris Beach Resort Hotel Ivan
Kind regards
Vedran Kopačević
Solaris Hotel Ivan Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croatia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

The hotel is completely renovated, so everything looks shiny and is well maintained. The pool area is great and very relaxing in the pre-season. The rooms are very nicely decorated, but unfortunately a majority does not have balconies.
We stayed in this hotel with a child despite the fact that hotel Ivan does not have playrooms, but hotel Andrija has. And, we will make the same pick again because this hotel looks and is on much higher level than the other hotels in the resort.
The whole resort looks great and is perfect for holliday (except maybe in the peak of the season whan it is much more crowded).
The only negative thing was service in the restaurant. There is a plenty of waiters, but some of them should consider their work more seriously (they served coffee, but twice forget to bring cups so we went for them; one waiter had a private conversation on mobile phone while serving the coffee and cleaning the table, etc.).
All in all, we loved this hotel, highly recommend it and will be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antica B, Manager at Solaris Hotel Ivan, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear guest,
thank you for your review. It would be our pleasure to welcome you again next year.
Vedran Kopacevic
Solaris Hotel Ivan Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greece
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed recently in Ivan hotel of the Solaris complex (there are 5 of them) and we enjoyed the interestingly decorated excellent room and modern bathroom, the breakfast and dinner buffet with a great variety of choices and the entertaining oppurtunities of the whole resort. I recomment it for a stay outside Sibenik. The only thing missing from a holiday place was the lack of hanging line on the balcony, as the hotel shutter decoration makes it impossible to hang towels and swim suits anywhere outside. Of course the beach is not a natural sandy bay, but with rocks, but that's all over the Dalmatian coast anyway, so it was nothing new for us. Bathing shoes recommended to get in the water.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antica B, Manager at Solaris Hotel Ivan, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear guest,
thank you for your feedback. It is great to see that you had a good time in our hotel.
Vedran Kopacevic
Solaris Hotel Ivan Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

The newly renovated hotel has some extraordinary architecture solutions that is really worth to see (bathroom, french balcony, bar area, etc).
We stayed there with two kids (3 and 4), and we really enjoyed it. We had two rooms with connected doors, which was really practical. Room size is ok, shower is really very big. Bed is huge, but too tall. Exclusive, design furniture, but no armchair!
Food: excellent, lot of specialities for breakfast, some dalmatian and also international taste for dinner.
Area: inside exclusive, outside beautiful, like in the paradise.
Staff: friendly, working a lot, trying to help always.
Beaches: very varied, suitable for everyone
Areas to improve, or misssed:
Service: awfully slow, partly because of unskilled staff, partly because of not properly organised work (eg. at night in the bar they were collecting drinks from two places that were at least 50 metres away from each other, so time was wasted with walking from here to there and then to the tables)
Internet: free wifi is very slow and usually not working properly, paid wifi not working at all. But they refunded the price, thanks
Children friendly solutions: basically nothing apart from chair in dining area. I asked for a step for the washbasin, because my kids could not reach for washing hands, i did not get one. Bed is too high, my 3.5 year old had difficulties to climb up. And i was always afraid that they fall off. Glass door to bathroom, in which they always ran into. ( although it looks very nice).
Price: no all inclusive is available, so you pay for everything, which is really costy as the prices are very high

As we have 2 small kids, we had to stay in the room for the evening after they went to bed, and that is not so pleasant, as there is no balcony, no armchair to sit down and discuss with a glass of wine. Music is tooooo loud and every evening the same, but high quality.
all in all we enjoed it but would choose a different hotel next time. We will definitely return to Solaris.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The hotel was renovated, rooms are okay, the food was really good, most of the food was home made, produced by resort, resort have their own gardens, most of the vegetables are organic and they make their own olive oil, cheese, dry/smoked meat etc... staff at reception unexperianced, you also need to pay for internet and still connection was poor quality. Very noisy hotel, loud music all over the place. All children's activities at the resort are very expensive. The beach is okay for small children but hard to swim there as water is not deep with big and sharp rocks all over, you need to watch where to step. The Dalmatian village is nice to walk around but food is not that good and expensive too. The amazing is water mill with wheel and bakery at the back, you can get hot and very tasty bread. Night life is okay considering this is family resort, drinks are expensive too. Looks like owners are very greedy. I am not that amazed to plan another trip there, for the same offer and money I would rather go to Turkey and get all-inclusive hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Solaris Hotel Ivan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solaris Hotel Ivan

Address: Hoteli Solaris 86 | Solaris D.D., Sibenik 22000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Sibenik-Knin County > Sibenik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sibenik
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sibenik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Solaris Hotel Ivan 4*
Number of rooms: 372
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Solaris hotel Ivan**** is a brand new hotel. Fashionable design with authentic Dalmatian theme intertwined in all the elements of the hotel. Replication of unique vineyards of Primošten along with famous quality wine sort Babić are only part of Šibenik's regional history and tradition which will enliven throughout our new hotel contents. 372 completely redecorated rooms (superior, deluxe and connected door rooms), a restaurant with a beautiful terrace and wine bar with numerous autochthonous wines, night club, new congress capacities, a completely renovated Solaris Wellness & Spa Mediterranean garden are only a small part of numerous other surprises which will await for you in Solaris. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Solaris Hotel Ivan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solaris Hotel Sibenik

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Solaris Hotel Ivan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.