We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but expensive resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Solaris Beach Hotel Jakov

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Solaris Beach Hotel Jakov to your Saves list
Solaris Beach Hotel Jakov
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hoteli Solaris 86, Sibenik 22000, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Sibenik
Zivinice
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Nice, but expensive resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Hotel Jakov is one of 5 hotels of Solaris resort and is situated at the east side of resort. It is surrounded by nice gardens with plenty of palm-, olive-, pine- and rosetrees. The hotel has 2 pools: one for adults with max. depth of 110 cm (I know, pretty pigmaeic proportions), and the other for children with max.depth of 48 cm, both well-cleaned and maintained. Rooms are good and regularly cleaned. Food is varied, but quality is just OK: not so bad, not so good. Staff is nice and polite.
Beach that is just in front of hotel is not the place you want to spend your vacation, but just 2 minutes walk from there you have nice Family beach. There are lot of opportunities to have fun in resort, for children and adults.
Lacks of this hotels are:
1. Rooms don't have balconies
2. Complete animation program in hotel is for French tourists
That's the story of hotel Jakov. But I have to say a word about complete resort. After couple of days here in Solaris, you get an impression that they want to squeeze out every cent of you. For example,they charge you 2 Euros per day for parking that is reserved only for hotel guests, so you have to ask yourself: what's the point? Isn't hotel parking for hotel guests? Why pay something that naturally belongs to you?
That's the smallest problem. Prices of food and drinks in restaurants, hotel bars etc. are pretty high: about 30% higher than rest of Croatia. There are few beach shops, but their prices are high too. All beaches are covered with sunbeds and they are charged 6,5 Euros per day. You can see what majority of guests thinks about it when only 20-30% of sunbeds are filled, and the other tourist are lying on their own towels and chairs.
All in all, this is nice, clean, well maintained,full-of-action resort, but prepare your wallets to be devastated :-)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    49
    19
    12
    9
See reviews for
65
42
6
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
all over
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Our family of 4 was there for a week in August
ROOMS: clean, fairly new, good beds, enough space, no coffee maker, small fridge that we were able to empty out and use for our drinks, good service.
HOTEL ambiance: terrible. Completely taken over by french animation program Lookea for about 100 french guests arriving specifically to this hotel every week. As a result, there is no place to have a coffee or a drink or relax by the hotel pool, because the entertainment with loud speakers and french enthusiastic staff clapping, jumping and playing loud music from their own speakers. You are not allowed to use other hotel pools (like hotel Ivan, etc).
BEACH: it is a bay with shallow water, good for small chidren and good for swimming, because there is no boat traffic. It is at the end of the resort, so it is less bussy with people walking by and noise would be minimal, if there was not the french program
FOOD: Pretty bad. We had half board (breakfast and dinner). They cannot cook. Really. I almost concluded, that croatian kitchen is that bad. It is just that staff at this resort is unable to cook. What could be wrong with steamed broccoli ? Everything, if you totally overcook it. Or a cabbage salad? I do know how it tastes if you remove the rotten parts of cabbage and use the rest of it. Or a soup? It tasted like it was from a box. Still people were coming with full plates. You can always eat their good breads, butter, some veggies, fruits etc. The coffee at breakfast was from a machine that used a mix of instant coffee and dry 'milk'. Yuck. It was better to have just the coffee and add the hot milk from the container next to it. The only problem with that was that there was a sour milk in the collumn indicating the level of milk in the container. I pointed out to the staff that there might be a problem with that milk, but they mimed that it is fine. It is true that what went to my cup tasted fine. It just made me think of their cleaning routines.

I would say, that we would not recommend this place and would not come back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

First of all, the official airport transfer service is utterly poor. They were an hour late for us and 2 hours late for some of the others. Secondly, the staff are rude. My husband only received 4 days internet only when he paid for 5 and they were rude to him when he complained about it i.e. slapped the password on the desk and glared at him and didn't apologise for the mistake.

What is most bizarre about this place is you have to pay extra for tap water with your food, because they said water is not included. When we asked why, the restaurant manager said it was company policy.

On Wednesday evening we wanted to order a cap to Sibenik so we asked the hotel reception to order one for us, but she it would cost twice as much as "normal cab" so if we want to pay less we should go outside to get our own as the hotel would not order "normal cab" for us.

Both my husband and I are well travelled, we dare to say services at Solaris is the worse we've ever come across. The beach and the bars are nice but the basic hotel service is more like a hostel than a hotel.

Few other things I need to mention: Utterly poor coffee, poor breakfast and super slow internet (if you are on a business trip, good luck). Our room is very small with no double or queen size bed, only 2 single beds were put together, also, for some strange reasons, we got a bunker bed next to our bed so it makes the room even smaller.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skopje, Republic of Macedonia
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

The best hotel I've ever visited!
I've been staying for 7 days at Hotel Jakov. The stay was really nice and so are the staff, in the end I was almost sorry to leave. Entering the room, it was clean and quiet (couldn't hear a noise). The bathroom is also spacious and very clean. The shower seems to be bigger than my house.The bed was one thing that if I could take him home, I would have done.
My friends were there last year and they recommended it to me. The rooms are beyond beautiful and the service makes you feel like royalty.
You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

I had a beautiful vacation in this charming hotel at the end of June 2012. I like the room and the environment around the hotel. The stuff was really friendly and even spoke Russian. I highly recommend this hotel for everybody!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

We were in Hotel Jakov in 09/2011. It is a beautiful time of the year in Croatia with warm and sunny days, warm sea water and far less people. Hotel is nothing spectacular but is worth the 3 stars. Food is very good, rooms are clean but are very small. Surrounding area is very nice, beaches are beautiful and you can really relax yourself from daily stress and routine. If you want to get out of Solaris we recommend visiting Sibenik and Split.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lublin
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

We have never been on Adriatic sea until this year. It was excellent and we all enjoyed ourselves. Hotel Jakov is an old hotel with smaller rooms. It is kept clean and receptionists have been helpful in giving us advice what to see, where to eat and where to go. Resort is big with sport fields, water sports, restaurants, wellness center and so on. It was a great experience that can`t be placed in these few short words. Coming back next year!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Solaris Beach Hotel Jakov? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solaris Beach Hotel Jakov

Address: Hoteli Solaris 86, Sibenik 22000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Sibenik-Knin County > Sibenik
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Sibenik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Solaris Beach Hotel Jakov 3*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Solaris Beach hotel Jakov is situated in the family part of the Resort. Comfortable and simple interior, experienced and kind personnel will make your vacation unique. It is situated only a few steps from the sea and the spacious family beach. With the vicinity of the first Aqua park in Dalmatia, rich children's animation program, kids town, Wellness & Spa Mediterranean garden, sport facilities, restaurants and bars, it is an ideal place for relaxation, with the scent of pine trees and herbs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Solaris Beach Hotel Jakov reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Solaris Beach Hotel Jakov, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.