We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoyed the visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sokolarski Raptor Centre

Sokolarski Raptor Centre
Near Dubrava, Sibenik, Croatia
+385 91 506 7610
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 35 Attractions in Sibenik
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Museums
Attraction details
Heemskerk, The Netherlands
1 review
“Really enjoyed the visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

We were the only ones there and got a private demonstration.
Next to the cool interactive demo, they do a lot of good work as a bird of prey shelter.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    4
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Informative and unusual”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We visited in April 2013 and were lucky enough to be the only guests at the time. We were introduced to a beautiful owl and given a very informative chat about birds of prey. The fellow showing us around asked if we'd like to feed a hawk. I was so excited to do this. So, he kitted me out with a heavy leather glove, and much to my husband's shock and horror (LOL!), handed me a dead baby chick to hold for the hawk. He explained to me what to do (and importantly, what NOT to do) and the hawk swooped down, landed on my arm and proceeded to enjoy his snack. It was so cool! My husband even took a turn and found the experience fascinating.

I highly recommend this place if you want to do something different than the usual tourist crap, and if you are interested in animals and nature.

I also encourage you, if you can, to add a few extra $/Kuna/Euros to the pot when you pay your fee to help offset the costs of rehabilitating the birds and returning them to the wild where they belong. The centre also does educational outreach to children to help the next generation learn to take better care of the world. Well worth contributing to!

It is a little bit difficult to find ... look carefully for the small signs indicating where to turn. It took us a couple of tries, but we found it!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annecy, France
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Such an interesting time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We came after 5pm, hoping we could still learn from their activity. We were warmly welcomed and we could spend a great hour learning about their eagles and owl. Thos two guys do an amazing job helping the injured birds and they are really passionate. unlike every "touristic"activity, you feel that they don't do this for money. It is worth to see if only you respect what they do.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great views of some lovely birds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We spent a lovely couple of hours here whilst visiting the area. The owners are very passionate about the birds in their care and are more than happy to talk to you about them.

We go to feed the owl and hawk, and had a small talk about the birds themselves.

There do appear to be a number of areas of the centre that you are not allowed into and this limits what there is to do.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Split, Croatia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great, great, great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Great experience. We were with small children and the children were delighted. The staff is very professional and friendly. They explain all about the birds that can be seen. We saw several American hawk and owl legendary. guide was excellent and allowed us to feed the hawk. this is a must stop for all friends of animals and especially birds.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sokolarski Raptor Centre also viewed

Sibenik, Sibenik-Knin County
Sibenik, Sibenik-Knin County
 
Sibenik, Sibenik-Knin County
Sibenik, Sibenik-Knin County
 

Been to Sokolarski Raptor Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sokolarski Raptor Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.