We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget bargain in a wonderful location but not really worth it. needs a good clean.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Donat

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Donat to your Saves list
Hotel Donat
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Majstora Radovana 7 | Borik Holiday Complex, Zadar 23000, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Zadar
Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Budget bargain in a wonderful location but not really worth it. needs a good clean.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

Reasonably priced hotel for the area. It's a bit of the beaten track but the bus services are good and you can get there from the bus/ train station in about 20 mins. The location on the seafront is quite beautiful but as others have noted it's a rocky beach. The hotel itself us part of the 'borik' or 'fulmination' chain dotted around this holiday park. The Donat is certainly the poor cousin, it's drab a dated, the rooms are grubby and the Mosquitos are a bit of a nuisance. Dinner, breakfast and Bar to 10 pm were included in my rate. The dinner wasn't bad, for a one night stopover, but the breakfast was pretty inedible. All in all I'd rate this place average enough, more backpacker than sun vacation. It was better than some places in Laos or Cambodia if that's the Market they're after. Ps. Reviews below (June/July '11) were very helpful and pretty close to the mark.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    19
    9
    21
    12
See reviews for
17
21
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

I booked a hotel for 2wks. June 18-July2, 2011. Problems started the moment I stepped into that place. At the receiption I was told no rooms were ready yet and just to leave my luggage beside receiption desk and was assured that it was OK and safe and everybody does it and was sent across the road to Donat 2 where restaurant is to have lunch. Upon return (less then 1 hr.) all the luggage was gone including mine. Approached the same man and told him that my luggage was gone-his reply was what did I do with it? left it where you told me. At that moment it wasn,t his problem and it had nothing to do with him and I was totally ignored. There was another man standing beside him that only stared at me and left. I searched all around the lounge area but no luck and asked to speak to the receiption manager and requested that police be called. It turned out man staring at me without a word was manager and he was hesitant to call police I guess it would give them bad reputation and never mind that I was travelling there from Canada and that everything was gone including my toothbrush. I was lucky because my luggage ended up at the marina several kilometres south of Zadar and was brought back thank god and only comment said by receiption staff was lady got a bit upset . The receiption staff did not give a DAMN nor showed any concern. Few other people were complaining about the same man and his attitude but others weren't much better if anybody had a question they were annoyed to be disturbed. They SURE need improvement with their customer relations. And by the way there was never as much as sorry this happened - NO APPOLOGY AT ALL.

Room Tip: Single rooms very small but clean and when above restaurant kitchen very stinky.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tsimac, Manager at Hotel Donat, responded to this review, July 20, 2011
Dear Customer,
Thank you for taking the time to notify us of your unsatisfactory experience with our front office service. We are taking every action possible to make sure that this problem will not repeat again. Please accept our truly apology for any inconvenience this may have caused you. We highly appreciate your feedback, as it will assist us in becoming better at what we do.
The problems that you mentioned have been brought to the attention of our front office department. While the lack of service you experienced is unusual and not the standard
of our hotel, there is no excuse for a lackadaisical attitude on the part of any of our employees. Thank you again for your comments. We hope that you will give us another chance to serve you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South London
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

If you arrive at the Donat expecting five star luxuries in the lap of historic Zadar, expect to be disappointed. On the other hand if you want a decent bed for the night albeit a bit off the beaten trail, above par facilities and enough food to sink a battleship at breakfast and dinner, make a beeline for the Donat. The room was hardly large enough to swing a cat and the shower facilities had seen better days though proved perfectly adequate whilst the bed was comfy enough to ensure perfect rest and large enough to accommodate the larger frame. Location right on the shore, with an adequate beach was probably more aimed at the family crowd looking to spent most days swimming and sunbathing as the historic sights of Zadar itself are a good 30-40 minutes hike away though a bus stops quite close. What sells this hotel to me and ensures I'll be basing myself there on further visits is the magnificent spread at meals with a range of quality foodstuffs to rival the 5* Hiltons of this world and all the drinks you can drink. Oh and it is perfectly placed to luxuriate in Zadar's world-renowned sunsets with being swamped by crowds of tourists.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010

I can't believe the previous reviews of this great value hotel! Stayed 3 nights in June and just back from 4 nights in Sept. Stayed all inclusive rate with all buffet meals, local beer,wines, minerals, coffee, tea from 10am to 10pm. Swimming pool nice and quiet for sunbathing this time as 3 day conference on so participants weren't around during the day! 2 or 3 fish options at lunch and dinner......so fresh, it seemed the fish had jumped from the sea into the kitchen! Also, chicken, pork and pasta dishes with plenty of fresh vegetables and salads. Plenty of fresh fruit available for breakfast, eggs, cold meats, cheese, etc. Bedroom and bathroom, although clean, could do with some updating, but such value for 45 euro p.p. per day. Lovely balcony with amazing sea views. Stoney beach but boardwalk with ladder into the clear sea. Taxi very cheap into old town, bus stop very close too. Old town is a must to visit, full of atmosphere. Supermarket close by. Hotel in a very picturesque location. Other visitors mainly from neighbouring countries,Germany, Austria, Slovakia & Slovenia & travelled by car . Now that Ryanair is flying into Zadar, could do with some English TV channels in bedroom instead of just German and Croatian. Internet in foyer. Will definitely be back again!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2010

Myself and my boyfriend stayed in this hotel back in April 2010.
We originally went to Zadar for 3 nights, but ended up there for 10 due to the ash cloud - our orginal hotel became booked up and so we moved here.
My first impression when entering the hotel, was that it smelled, it was dark and dreary and extemely dated. Staff behin the desk looked shabby and were not too friendly.
We went to the room and it was what i feared - horrible. It smelled of cigarettes and was dark and damp. The bed was uncomfortable with a lumpy pillow, smelled damp and was damp. The shower was horrible and the sink was full of ants. The TV had no reception and it just made me feel dirty to be in it.

The only compensation was the view from the also dated balcony.

Across in another building was the all inclusive buffet which I was not altogether impressed with - my boyfriend can't eat fish so he wasn't left with much to choose from!

Did not mind its location the bus ride was nice. We tried to spend as much time as possible in town to avoid being in the hotel. We came back early 1 of the nights to find a busy bar but not sure where all these people were coming from as I cannot understand why you would want to be in this hotel! Sorry to have to say such bad things but I would certainly not recommend this hotel, not even to a dog.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2010

The room reminded us of a well used student hostel (as did the dining area) and some fittings needed maintenance. Room musty -- maybe it had not been used for a while as it was in May. Bed too hard for us. Cannot judge value, as on a tour and there one night, but would need to be had at a good price. Dinner acceptable (with a good variety) especially if you are more concerned with quantity than fine quality. Breakfast similar. Free wine (roughish, but OK really) on tap: Perhaps this hints at the market it caters for.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2010

I spent two nights at the Donat in outer Zadar recently, wow were my eyes opened. Firstly may I suggest when you are inside your room, always keep the key in the lock as the cleaners will open your door without knocking even if you put the DO NOT DISTURB sign on your door!! I had them trying to gain entry about 8am one morning when they thought everyone was at breakfast, not sure what they were looking for as the time i got dressed to see what was going on, I just caught the sight of a cleaner running around the corner.
If you insist on staying here, pay the extra 5 Euro for all inclusive as the food is not too bad, German food, but edible (just), don't bother with the bar as the beer and wine are not drinkable, cheapest of cheap.
This hotel advertises they are on the beach, well I think someone should tell them that a beach has sand, not sharp rocks and coral! if you are going to swim there buy reef shoes as you will slice up your feet bad!
If you choose to swim in the pool, you will notice the Germans will throw down their towels and books to reserve deckchairs from about 6am and will keep their deckchair for the whole day, leaving just to feed... but maintaining their right to the chairs, the pool boy seems unwilling or unable to control this, my advice is give the pool a wide berth and buy the reef shoes.
The rooms are very basic, very old furniture, showers overflow, toilets smell. If you only speak English, don't worry about the tv, it only has German and Croatian channels.
The hotel is located some distance from town, you need to catch either the number 5 or 8 bus, if arriving on the shockingly bad airport bus (which does not run to the published schedule!), walk across the footbridge from the old town to the new town, walk 1 block and there is a major bus stop just as you turn the corner right. Buses cost 8 Kuna to anywhere in Zadar.
Overall... I would suggest you give Zadar a miss and go to Split or Dubnovik

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Donat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Donat

Address: Majstora Radovana 7 | Borik Holiday Complex, Zadar 23000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Zadar County > Zadar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Zadar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Donat 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Donat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donat Hotel Zadar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Donat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.