We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Groppo - five-star service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Groppo

Restaurant Groppo
Siroka Ulica 22, Zadar 23000, Croatia
+(385)23 778981
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 113 Restaurants in Zadar
Price range: $7 - $20
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Groppo - five-star service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We went to Groppo on our first night in Zadar. It's fairly central so quite busy and we had to wait five minutes for a table, but the staff were lovely and gave us free drinks (the strong drink is very strong!).Free bread came before the meal, and we had a seafood salad starter to share, which was excellent. The tuna carpaccio in particular stood out. For mains, I had the rump steak which was very acceptable while my girlfriend had the fish medallions with polenta chips. Polenta is a big thing in Zadar and this was a particularly good arrangement of it.

What really stood out was the cheer and attentiveness of the staff. This wasn't the cheapest place we visited but I think paying a few more kuna was fully justified.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    50
    17
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Quaint little place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We stumbled upon this place while looking around the old town. It's pretty, intimate, friendly staff and good quantity and quality food (2 mains, 1 beer and 2 wines for about 24€). Not 5 star because there was a little confusion and complication about our particular visit but think it's a rare issue

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nothing special, just proper”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We found this place on TripAdvisor. It had ok reviews. Food there is fine, nothing special, but we enjoyed our lunch. Prices are really fair. Great location- in the historic city center.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awesome Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Great Restaurant with great service. Prices are more than fair, and if you ask the waiter to recommend you wine, you will get the really great one. I´m looking forward to visit Groppo again :)

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amberg, Bayern, Germany
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

This place was recommended by our host here. We had the seafood plate for two people but it could have fed four! The atmosphere was romantic but we could still watch the World Cup match :) The prices are fair for the large portions and the food was amazing. Very fresh.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Groppo also viewed

 

Been to Restaurant Groppo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Groppo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.