We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gourmet experience!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bistro Gourmet Kalelarga

Bistro Gourmet Kalelarga
Siroka Ulica 1, Zadar 23000, Croatia
0038523233000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 113 Restaurants in Zadar
Price range: $9 - $22
Cuisines: Diner, Dessert, Italian, Croatian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Rio de Janeiro BRASIL
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“A gourmet experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

Amazing restaurant with amazing service. An outstanding baked goat cheese in olive oil, tomatoes. Really worth trying. We tried parpadelle that was very good, and the shrimp risotto that was good. Terrific house white wine.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    48
    17
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Cannot recommend Gourmet Kalelarga enough!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We had spotted this small restaurant in the centre of the Old Town when we first arrived in Zadar. My boyfriend was really intrigued when he spotted one of the chefs preparing a dish behind the counter so we though you would give it a try in the evening.
There was a good selection of food avaliable on the menu as well as on the daily specials board. It was taking us so long to choose or meals that we decided to ask Ivan, our waiter for the evening, for some recommendations. He recommended that we tried a few meals of the Specials Menu including the Tuna Salad, which was fantastic. I had the Broadbean and Shimp Risotto which was amazing and certainly one of the nicest meals I've had in Croatia.
After insisitng that we were full after our 2 courses, we soon changed our minds and decided to try the light deserts. I'm so glad we did as the almond and mint mouses which we tried were gorgeous and the perfect way to finish a meal.
I cannot recommend this place enough and will definately make this one of my first stops next time I am in Zadar. Ivan was an amazing host and made us feel very welcome and had some great recommendations. His wine choice was particually good, I'm just disappointed I can't remember its name. Please do not let the 'Gourmet' in the name put you off, this restuarant is fantastic value and is a must for anyone, even those on a budget!
A huge thank you to everyone at Gourmet Kalelarga!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The best place to eat in Zadar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We went to this restaurant for our last night in Zadar and were not disappointed. The service is brillant ("you don't know what to choose between the prosciutto and the cheese ? we can serve both to you in half portions"), the food excellent (octopus salad !! desserts too, we took another one just because it was so delicious, and we came back again for breakfast the day after just before our flight) and the terrace is quiet. :-) If you have plans for settle a restaurant in France, you definitely need to inform me. :)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic pies!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We very much enjoyed eating here. The staff was friendly, which can't always be expected in Croatia. They recommended a number of dishes based on asparagus as it was in season. The food was excellent but what really earned them this good review was the fantastic homemade pies. Try the chocolate pistachio. You won't be disappointed!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
“nice evening meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

checked out the menu at lunchtime,whilst trying out a few glasses of local sauvignon blanc.made a booking for the evening.clearly a quality option without 'rip off' prices.very high standard service,great pinot noir.staff seemed genuinely keen to ensure i enjoyed my time there.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Gourmet Kalelarga also viewed

Zadar, Zadar County
Zadar, Zadar County
 
Zadar, Zadar County
 

Been to Bistro Gourmet Kalelarga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bistro Gourmet Kalelarga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.