We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hostel, good location, friendly helpful staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Drunken Monkey Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Drunken Monkey Hostel to your Saves list
The Drunken Monkey Hostel
21 Jure Kastriotica skenderbeg, Zadar 23000, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 226 Specialty Lodging in Zadar
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent hostel, good location, friendly helpful staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights in low season.
Great location between the bus station and the old town.
The hostel is a clean, well maintained hostel, run by fun, friendly & helpful staff,
Would highly recommend!
They even recommended a great place to grab a lovely grilled chicken burger for breakfast the day we left!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    17
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
16
45
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
bergen
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

we are two friends stayed in this hostel for three nights. the hostel is situated quite close to the bus station and also to the old town. the hostel is very popular for back packers , students and surely the best place for budget travellers. the staff in the hostel are very friendly, helpful and surely the best tour guides in Zadar based on our experience. the hostel is clean, safe and located in quite neighborhood. the hostel has a mini bar and a nice common place to hang out . the hostel is around 15-20 min walk to old town along the waterfront and it is beautiful to walk. it is one of the best hostels i have visited so far and the staff are super cool ..thanks to eva,chris,kyle and tiho ..strongly recommend for future travelers to Zadar.

Room Tip: book for a private room if you are a couple visiting here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

This hostel was a wonderful place to stay at. The owners Tiha and Eva were great, Kyle and Chris were there to help most of the time and was good to hangout at the bar and longue. It is closer to the old town, nearby to walk along the waterfront and cafe bars. Bathrooms were clean. A great place to stay and make new friends and meet people. Would be definitely visiting this place again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

Everything about the drunken monkey is amazing! Friendly staff, great atmosphere and ideal location (just a 10/15 minute walk to the main part of zadar)
I stayed in the double bedroom and it couldn't be any nicer or cleaner!
Nice cheap bar, swimming pool, hammock this place has it all, its more than a hostel its better than most places ive stayed and with the greatest of hosts (who even spent a night out with us!). Would go back in a heartbeat as we were made to feel like family/friends!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Very friendly place. The staff made us comfortable and showed us all the good aspects of the town in detail. The rooms were good size and very clean. Very close to sea front and a nice walk towards the old town.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingolstadt, Bayern, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

The Drunken Monkey has the best environment and staff of any hostel I have ever stazed at. Chris and Kyle were there to help me with anything, and were also enjoyable to hang out with at the bar, terrace, etc. It felt like I was part of a big group of friends or family as soon as I stepped into the door, which is a hard feat to accomplish at a hostel (some of them create an isolated atmosphere). Some nights I just stayed at the downstairs bar and met with people instead of going out. Great spots to swim nearby, even though it was early April and the locals thought I was crazy to dive in the cold water. Clean and stylish bathrooms to take care of business in. It would be a strain to come up with a complaint about this place. Refreshing checkpoint of my backpacking tour, and I met some great people.

Room Tip: If you want to meet people, then choose the room called "The Range".
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

We usually go to the Wild Fig for easter in Zadar, we love this place. We tried something different this easter and booked at the drunken monkey. Oh my god what a great hostel this is! It is really homeley and the staff make you feel a part of a great big family. Kitchen is available for anything you need at whatever time you want. Bathrooms are extremely clean, and hot water is more than enough. They have a lounge/bar as well where you can chill, read a book or even ask the staff for a movie to watch. If you're coming to Zadar be sure to choose the drunken monkey hostel as it guarantees an amazing and succesful croatian holiday.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Drunken Monkey Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Drunken Monkey Hostel

Address: 21 Jure Kastriotica skenderbeg, Zadar 23000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Zadar County > Zadar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 226 Specialty Lodging in Zadar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the only established hostel in Zadar owned and run by fellow travelers. Set in a charming part of town only 15 minutes walk along the water front to the old city gates. 'Why should I stay outside the old town? 'Well, quite simply, we offer what the other hostels do not. We have a decked garden complete with sun loungers, splash pool, bar, and a sun terrace. As well as this we have a private courtyard, movie projector and guest computers. We are a clean, comfortable and secure hostel, located in the safe neighborhood of Arbanasi. Ideally situated minutes away from the main bus station, and the scenic Kolovare promenade; nothing Zadar has to offer is out of arm's reach. Note to self to all our globetrotters, avid and novice travelers that like to leave our beloved reviews - We are not in the Old Town! We are able to offer you all the facilities noted above for that very reason. We do have a bar that can get a little exciting and noisy at times, however, this is well regulated by us. We are definitely a hostel that offers fun and excitement as well as relaxation and calm. Come see for yourselves...... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your The Drunken Monkey Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Drunken Monkey Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.