We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home is where the Drunken Monkey is!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Drunken Monkey Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Drunken Monkey Hostel to your Saves list
The Drunken Monkey Hostel
21 Jure Kastriotica skenderbeg, Zadar 23000, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 215 Specialty Lodging in Zadar
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Home is where the Drunken Monkey is!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Drunken Monkey is one BRILLIANT hostel. We just kept coming back for more!
All the staff are awesome, friendly, welcoming, helpful and most of all make you feel like apart of the Drunken Monkey family!! The facilities are brilliant and the dorms are well equipped with comfy beds, air-cons and awesome decals on the walls, WIFI is great, backyard/pool/hammock is the place to be during the day with the sun shining so bright or to have BBQ at night. Bar/Lounge during the evening time is a great place to hang/chill/play games and meet fellow travelers and have a few drinks or more!
Would highly recommend this place to anyone and would definitely come back to stay here.

Room Tip: The 'Adriatic' 4 dorm room was the best room at the Drunken Monkey. Also stayed in 'Bank...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    17
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
15
40
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
swansea
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

I have travelled alot around Europe but have not stayed in a hostel that beats the Drunken Monkey. This was my second time I returned to the hostel and couldnt of had a better time or met nicer staff. The hostel has everything you want from a bar, where you can socialise and meet other travellers to even a pool, which is very unusual for hostels . It is clean and hospitable. The hostel offers a wide range of things from day trips to exciting places and even a bar crawl which is very useful to find the best places to go out in Zadar at nightime (also great if you are on a budget) Anyway if you are staying in Zadar I can not stress enough to stay at this hostel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ont
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed here and honestly it was a really good choice. We arrived late-ish but we were greeted, shown where we would sleep....a very clean, comfortable room and after putting our things away and cleaning up a bit, we were ushered out to the pool and were served cool drinks. We immediately felt at home. Everyone who works here is extremely friendly and helpful and they gave us suggestions of what to do the following day. We took their advice and even arranged to stay here longer than planned. Can't say enough, guys, you have a very special place!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Great little place in zadar. Funky, comfy, heaps of fun, awesome helpful staff and owners. Close to old town, also close to nice rocks to jump off and swim. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zadar, Croatia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

When i arrived at the hostel i was amazed how it looked. It is not a big hostel so great family feel about the place, it has spirit. Staff were really helpful, everything that i asked they put 100% effort to explain to me.
They have a bar and big common areas to spend time to hang out with other people. Water is like 3 minutes from the hostel and plus they have their own splash pool. I couldnt ask for more, actually I could (a hammock) and guest what they went out and bought one!! I recommend this hostel for everyone on their way to Zadar you wont regret for a second! Il be back lads!

Room Tip: The private Bamboo room is cosy and beautiful!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

I tought about it a several times how to explain what a great time we had there and what a nice place it was but very honestly couldn't find the right words to say how wonderfull its there with you guys. We also LOVED the crew employees!!not so close to the old town but didn't care,beautiful walk also Xxx charlotte and pim

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
århus
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

A very nice a friendly place. Good and clean rooms and beds. It´s located in a great neighborhood outside the old town (a very nice 15 min walk) Would recommend it anytime, and if I go back to Zadar, I would stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Drunken Monkey Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Drunken Monkey Hostel

Address: 21 Jure Kastriotica skenderbeg, Zadar 23000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Zadar County > Zadar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 215 Specialty Lodging in Zadar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the only established hostel in Zadar owned and run by fellow travelers. Set in a charming part of town only 15 minutes walk along the water front to the old city gates. 'Why should I stay outside the old town? 'Well, quite simply, we offer what the other hostels do not. We have a decked garden complete with sun loungers, splash pool, bar, and a sun terrace. As well as this we have a private courtyard, movie projector and guest computers. We are a clean, comfortable and secure hostel, located in the safe neighborhood of Arbanasi. Ideally situated minutes away from the main bus station, and the scenic Kolovare promenade; nothing Zadar has to offer is out of arm's reach. Note to self to all our globetrotters, avid and novice travelers that like to leave our beloved reviews - We are not in the Old Town! We are able to offer you all the facilities noted above for that very reason. We do have a bar that can get a little exciting and noisy at times, however, this is well regulated by us. We are definitely a hostel that offers fun and excitement as well as relaxation and calm. Come see for yourselves...... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your The Drunken Monkey Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Drunken Monkey Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.