We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Posh nosh” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Kastel

Restaurant Kastel
Bedemi zadarskih pobuna 13 | Hotel Bastion, Zadar HR 23 000, Croatia
+385 23/494 950
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 115 Restaurants in Zadar
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Posh nosh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Awesome food; amazing service! A real treat. perfect for a special meal. Be sure to book, though. Have the steak and try the local wine.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    23
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“One of the gems in Zadar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

This is a very nice and affordable restaurant located in the old town of Zadar with a nice view overlooking the port of Zadar.
We sat on the "roof top" terrasse and we were recommended their 5 course seafood meny. The waiter recommended wines that suited the food and it was good croatian wines through and through. First we had a wonderful glass of welcoming sparkling white wine (local, but I forgot the name) not unlike the italian prosecco. The waiter asked "if we wanted a welcome drink" and we thought it was free. It actually did cost 50 kuna but it was well worth it :-) If you don't let the waiter decide the wine go for Malvazia grape based wine. You can't go wrong.
The 5 course dinner were oriented on seafood and everything was really nice, fresh and minimalistic presented. One should think that the maincourse kind of topped off the whole meny and be presented as a climax but it didn't. It was good, but not the best course that night. I guess it's up to personal preference in the end.. No course were truly fantastic but well tasting, nice presented, fresh, at time delicious
There were slightly long breaks between the courses but overall time spent for the entire visit were acceptable. The waiter was proffesional and kind and spent time explaining what we had to eat. There were almost one waiter per table which was nice.
The price were very reasonably and we'll make sure to visit Kastel next summer ;-)

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

Food was excellent (seafood) and the service was good. Also the restaurant is in a great position overlooking the harbor.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Secret tip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

Not a lot of people, very good food. Payable. Friendly servants.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranford, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Heavenly!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

My husband and I vacation in Zadar every summer. Last night we had an exceptional meal at Restaurant Kastel, the rooftop restaurant in Hotel Bastion. The weather in Zadar has been very Hot this year, but sitting outside in the rooftop Kastel overlooking the Harbor proved to be delightfully breezy.
The wait staff in Hotel Bastion/Restaurant Kastel are young, energetic and happy. They are fun to be around and make sure you have a lovely visit. In my opinion, this can make or break the overall dining experience.
I would not usually dream of eating in a Hotel, but Bastion is a small boutique hotel and the restaurant is very small. There is no menu. The waiter delivers the days specials.
Dinner was in full swing at 9 pm as we were led to our table overlooking one of the loveliest views of the city.
Our appetizer was a cold salad with chopped mushrooms, arrugula, cherry tomatoes and smoked tuna served on toasted bread.
The main course was grilled orada which was so fresh and delicious, just sprinkled with a bit of EVOO.
The wine we chose was a delicate malvasia that teamed perfectly with out fish dinner and the hot weather.
Dessert was a chocalate souffle with cappucino. Perfection!
This is definitely one of our favorites!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Kastel also viewed

 
Zadar, Zadar County
 

Been to Restaurant Kastel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Kastel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.