We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pet Bunara

Pet Bunara
Stratico | Next to "Pet bunara" square, Zadar, Croatia
+385 23 22 40 10
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 93 restaurants in Zadar
Price range: $12 - $32
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Mediterranean, Croatian, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Dear guests, it has been 30 years since the restaurant PET BUNARA has been firstly established. In all those years it has been groving, changing, modifining... and last few years has become a trend setter and actualy a leading restaurant in Zadar county. Cuisine could be described as; traditional, simple, local jet appreciating new trends emphasizing seasonal offer and, as much as possible, extensive usage of organic, ecological or bio products or groceries. As a result of all mentioned, restaurant PET BUNARA proudly acquired a SLOW FOOD nomination for 2012. In addition, restaurant was the best restaurant in Zadar County according to Ministry of Tourism for 2010.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Beautiful restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

This is a beautiful restaurant near the 5 Wells Square in the Old City and was recommended to us. The first impression when you arrive is wonderful, the decor is beautiful, quaint and romantic. The service was wonderful, our waitress looked after us very well, even recommending dishes and wines/beers to suit. The prices are not cheap, but for the quality of the meals they're quite reasonable. There are a variety of meals - including bio, organic, vegetarian, traditional Croatian, contemporary and the seasonal menu (which included game meat, while we were there). The octopus salad is fabulous! Our main meals we thought were nice, but not overly special. Still, I would definitely recommend Pet Bunara, which also seemed popular with the locals (always a good sign of a quality local restaurant).

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VPNK, Owner at Pet Bunara, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear guest,
thank you very much for your review... Hope to see you sometime soon... Best regards! Vladimir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    114
    71
    18
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Trogir, Croatia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great food, great service!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

restaurant Pet Bunara is definitely a place to go to while you are in Zadar. The food is great and service also (special thanx to Martin!).

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VPNK, Owner at Pet Bunara, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Ana from Trogir,
many thanks for your sincere review... Martin is certainly our pride and great person to work with!
Hope to see you sometime soon...
Best regards,
Vladimir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Oh, yum.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

My husband and I just enjoyed a delicious meal here. I started with one of their specials, a warm octopus and chickpea salad, and he had the tuna carpaccio (or something close to that) for starters. Both were quite, quite good. I had the saffron ravioli with scampi, and he had some kind of traditional meat dish that we can't pronounce or spell, but it had beef, and gnocchi. We both pretty much devoured that too.

For dessert, he had an orange and white chocolate cake, and I had the seasonal chestnut cake. They know how to do desserts at this place.

On top of all the delicious food, the waitress was very friendly (as are so many people here), and the atmosphere was upscale but not pretentious at all.

Also, it's open in the wintertime, so if you're off-season travelers like we are, you have a sure bet here.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VPNK, Owner at Pet Bunara, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear TravelinLo from New York,
thank you very much for you sincere review! Hope to see you sometime soon...
Best regards,
Vladimir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Njami”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

Small lovely restaurant, I've been here several times and each time I was more then happy with food and service. Menu is different each season due to season vegetables. Highly recommended place.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VPNK, Owner at Pet Bunara, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear guest,
much obliged for you sincere review...
Hope to see you again sometime soon...
Regards,
Vladimir
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great food, great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I went to Pet Bunara on the recommendation of a site following Anthony Bourdain's trip to Croaita.
Apparently Mr. Bourdain's croatian chaperone knows a thing or two about good food.

The atmosphere inside was very typical european. Out was your basic covered patio. Well lit, with wooden decor.

The menu is very traditional for the region. Some meat, some fish, a few soup dishes, and of course dessert.

I ordered the octopus carpaccio, with a cabbage salad. The octopus carpaccio started out a little bland, but, a dash of salt and pepper came alive, almost literally. Thinly sliced octopus on a bed of arugula is a great pairing. Bitter at first, mildly fishy, with a sweet aftertaste. Its much more appetizing than it sounds.

Cabbage salad is standard for Croatia, olive oil, balsamic vinegar, salt, pepper. I could eat this stuff for breakfast lunch and dinner.

For the main I ordered the grilled 1/2 kg of Scampi. It came by itself. Imagine 7 mini lobster grilled to perfection. In my broken Croatian I asked the extremely helpful waiter how to eat these, and he obliged by giving me a lesson. That's what I call customer service. Be forewarned, this is a messy dish. You'll need a shower afterwards, but trust me, its worth it. The scampi were cooked just right, no real fishiness to them at all, just bite sized lobster flavoured morsels.

For dessert came the chocolate lady. a moist meld of chocolate and marasaka, the local cherry liquor. Decadent.

All in all, the meal was great, the service was phenomenal.
My only gripe would be the location of the restaurant during out of season dining. Its a little out of the way, so there's not a lot of people watching. Not much they can do about that, but who cares when you're enjoying the company and food.

Kudos to Bourdain's guide, and of course, to the restaurant and staff of one of Zadar's longest running establishments. Will definitely go back again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VPNK, Owner at Pet Bunara, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear review er
Much oblige for your nice review.
Hope to see you again sometime soon ...
Best regards
Vlad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pet Bunara also viewed

 
Zadar, Zadar County
Zadar, Zadar County
 

Been to Pet Bunara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pet Bunara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.