We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very reasonably priced in a great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old Town Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Old Town Hostel to your Saves list
Old Town Hostel
Mihe Klaica 5, Zadar 023, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 215 Specialty Lodging in Zadar
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Very reasonably priced in a great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Couldn't ask for a better location! The room was clean and spacious, the showers were hot. The girl at the property spoke great English and was very helpful. Also gave us some great eating and drinking recommendations. Great place to meet other travellers too ;-)

The only downside is that the kitchen is a tad on the small side and gets rather over-crowded!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    22
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
9
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

I stayed two nights here in a 4 bed dorm. The owner is a lovely friendly guy who genuinely loves to talk with travellers and another girl who works here, Sara is also really friendly and helpful (everyone speaks English). The rooms are clean, the bathroom is huge, there is free Wifi, lockers (use your own lock), a small kitchen and communal space.
There are also a few private rooms which look very nice. Note the hostel is up a few flights of stairs, the kitchen is quite small and the rooms on the kitchen floor can be noisy with guests hanging out in the evening. You couldn't find a better location right in the centre of the old town and the staff are very happy to help with all your questions. There is a small fresh fruit and veg market close by to buy healthy salads (makes a nice change when you're travelling!) I highly recommend staying here. Zadar is definitely worthy of a visit on your trip along the coast.

Room Tip: Rooms on the floor above reception/kitchen will be quieter (but up one more flight of stairs!) book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

make sure you have a very good map or a local guide when you arrive at this hostel as we had quite a bit of trouble finding it after we got of the airport bus, but saying that once you get your bearings, it couldnt be in a much better location, although the old town is quite small so i imagine most places seem like they are in a good location.
the accomadation was fine,just basic what you would expect from a hostel but given the price it felt like a real bargain. there are cooking facilities although we didnt use them, and the shower was lovely, much nicer than your normal hostel standard, but there is only one for girls and one for boys, so you may need to queue during high season. we were in a big groups and some of the girls found the beds uncomfortable, but mine was fine. there are large lockers to store your stuff in.
also there is free internet which was very helpful, they also have wi-fi if you bring your own laptop.
the staff were very friendly and helpful with restaurant recomendations and stuff. the only thing probabaly worth mentioning is that it is up quite a few sets of stairs so probably not best for anyone with mobility problems as there is no lift.
i would definately receommnd this to anyone looking for hostel accomodation in zadar.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

This hostel was in a great location, right in the centre of Zadar. In June it wasn't very noisy but I guess it might be moreso in high season.

The twin room was very clean and quite big for two of us.

The bathrooms were shared and they were clean but I can imagine if the hostel was full it might be difficult to get in there.

The receptionist was fantastic, even using her own mobile to help us out in a crisis.

Room Tip: The twin room was very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

I stayed at this hostel for one night on a solo trip up the Croatian coast. I have to say the facilities were quite good. I stayed in the 6 bed dorm, it was quite spacious and had big lockers. The kitchen had everything you needed, there was one computer near reception with free internet access (and surprisingly it wasn't taken all the time), the bathroom/shower wasn't always busy too despite only being one on the floor. The reception staff were friendly and gave me tips on where to go, where to eat. I must have a whinge though, I arrived from the main bus station and I literally had NO direction from the hostel, I ended up getting very lost and frustrated and had to literally stumble upon a tourist information who rang the hostel and gave me directions. I don't know what I would have done if it weren't for that little tourist info! Zadar itself is a lovely little city. All in all a good hostel.... as long as you know how to get there!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Town Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Town Hostel

Address: Mihe Klaica 5, Zadar 023, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Zadar County > Zadar
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 215 Specialty Lodging in Zadar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Old Town Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Town Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.