We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommend Zadar & Hotel Adriana” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Falkensteiner Hotel Adriana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Falkensteiner Hotel Adriana to your Saves list
Falkensteiner Hotel Adriana
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Majstora Radovana 7, Zadar 23000, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Zadar
St. Albans, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Recommend Zadar & Hotel Adriana”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Very recently stayed at the Hotel Adriana. Exceeded our expectations for the following reasons:

•Good location, around 5 mins by car or 10 mins by bike to Zadar old town
•Although a 'resort' felt like a hotel, only a few floors and peaceful
•Warm welcome on arrival
•Comfortable junior suite, good view (gardens/sea), gown and flip flops provided very useful
•Hotel always felt clean and tidy
•Very friendly and helpful staff, reception staff always willing to help and the hotel manager had a good eye for detail
•Good food, diverse and excellent presentation ( Marina the waitress was incredibly professional)
•Great bikes to rent for free
•Ideal sized swimming pool (outdoor & indoor including heated pool at the Funimation Hotel)
•Superb spa facilities, plenty of areas to relax & outstanding treatments (at the Funimation Hotel)
•Excellent gym classes (gym compact and would benefit from more equipment

Would very much recommend Zadar and this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marin M, General Manager at Falkensteiner Hotel Adriana, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear,
Thank you for your kind feedback regarding your stay at Falkensteiner Hotel Adriana, it was pleasure to have you as our guests! We are delighted that we managed to contribute to a memorable experience.

With kind regards,

Marin Moric
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    27
    2
    6
    0
See reviews for
20
83
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

I already wrote a review of this hotel but strangely it was not published!
So to put it shortly, the service was very bad, it was very cold in our room, heating did not work at all, they lied about it, promised to fix it, refused to give us some heater. After all the trouble managed to get transfer to Funimation hotel where the heating work. No appologies.
Final word: go to Funimation! Adrianna is not a 4 star hotel, don't be fooled by its higher price.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marin M, General Manager at Falkensteiner Hotel Adriana, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear,
Thank you very much for taking time to write us constructive feedback regarding challenges you have experienced in our hotel. We take an extra effort to exceed our guest’s expectations in every moment of their stay so we are really sorry to hear that our service was not as promised.
There is no excuse for heating problems that you have experienced in our hotel, because we are aware how uncomfortable is when you feel cold in the areas where you should have warm and relaxing feeling.
I would like to take this opportunity to apologize you personally for uncomfortable feeling and all the trouble you went through due to transfer to our neighbor hotel. I will make sure that this situation never happen again. Also we hope that you will give us another chance to demonstrate our services at highest level as they usually are.

Best regards,
Marin Moric
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Perfect place to be, me and my girlfriend travelled by car for six hours before we arrived at Hotel Adriana and as long as we got there we felt relax and comfortable. Outstanding staff, very friendly and helpful, they made us feeling at Home. We enjoyed the large pool surrounded of a well maintained gardens, the al fresco restaurant and most of all the fantastic delicious food we had, absolutely gorgeous, we did not dine anywhere outside the hotel . We loved our junior suite with nice balcony, nice comfortable bed and fantastic view of the Adriatic Sea, very romantic. I would like to thanks the manager Savino Giannella and the all staff for the way the made us feel for the entire stay at the Hotel Adriana, we spend four days and we are planning to go back next Year for longer. If you are planning to go to Croatia, The Hotel Adriana in Zadar it’s the place to be.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giannella G, Manager at Falkensteiner Hotel Adriana, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear RobertoB76,

Thank you for your review about our Falkensteiner Hotel Adriana.

It give us pride to having being able to provide you with services that have met your needs during your stay.

The whole service team would like to thank you for the kind words used.

We really would love to welcoming you back at the hotel and ensuring you will have another relaxing stay.

Best regards,

Savino Giannella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

First of all, I'd like to say any dinner that includes help yourself kegs of beer and wine is awesome. I only wish it was pleasure not business! Food in the buffet style dinner was amazing and for the most part, so was this resort. The rooms were a tad bit small but very modern and clean. Bathroom had a large window looking into the bedroom. Only English TV channel was BBC News, wireless worked well. Was gone before breakfast but the staff actually gave us some food and coffee early before they opened. Did not get to use the spa or outdoor pool facilities but looked great. The Staff was wonderful and escorted us to dinner and the bar staff was also very friendly and accomodating. Great place, can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giannella G, Manager at Falkensteiner Hotel Adriana, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear jefjon1970,

Thank you for your comment I have passed it on to my colleagues at the Falkensteiner Funimation Borik which is where you had your lunch and dinners as part of a conference.

The Falkensteiner Hotel Adriana is hotel designed for couples and the rooms are there to give intimacy.
I am happy you have appreciated the bathroom window and the meaning of having one.

We look forward to welcoming at the Falkensteiner Hotel Adrian soon having the chance of trying all of our services..

Best Regards,

Savino Giannella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We arrived at the Falkensteiner Adriana after 20 hours of travelling from California to find immaculate accommodations and a quiet retreat. We didn't really know what to expect as this was our first stop in Croatia and the pictures on the internet look great but don't do it justice. It looks even better in person. We had a very comfortable junior suite with a view of the Adriatic. It was a quiet corner with a huge balcony and giant sliding doors that nearly open the entire room to the outside. The grounds are very serene and the beach location was perfect. The staff and service was amazing. Everyone was so helpful and friendly. The manager Savino was especially terrific. He really made every effort to insure our stay was memorable and it certainly was, as we got engaged during our stay. Unfortunately we only had 3 short days at the Adriana but it really set the tone for the rest of our trip and I would go back in a second and recommend everyone to select this hotel when in Zadar.

Room Tip: Junior suite was a great value
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giannella G, Manager at Falkensteiner Hotel Adriana, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Jason H,

Thank you very much for the time taken to write this review.

The whole Adriana team is very happy to have left such a good memories of your stay.

It goes without say that we will be very happy to welcome you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind regards,

Savino Giannella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stayed at the Adriana for a week on a half-board basis. I think this is the quietest hotel I've ever stayed in. Our room overlooked the garden, with distant sea views over the swimming pool beyond. The meals were something else - wonderful breakfast buffet, lacking nothing. The evening meals were to die for - cold buffet (you had to restrain yourself, knowing what was to come) followed by a choice of hot starter ( normally a soup or something else - sometimes Croatian dishes) then a main course - meat or fish or vegetarian.Then a house dessert and/or a choice of other desserts, fresh fruits or cheese an biscuits.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giannella G, Manager at Falkensteiner Hotel Adriana, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Dear Dozival,

Thank you for your review and for sharing your thoughts on Trip Advisor.

We are very pleased you have enjoyed your stay at the hotel and that you have appreciated the amenities of the hotel and the service.

The Falkensteiner Hotel Adriana hopes to welcoming you back very soon.

Best Regards,

Savino Giannella
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riva Del Garda, Italy
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

On arrival over the top "welcome home" way too much of it!

Very disappointing hotel.

No lift and no automatic light switch on the dark stairs, for a senior citizen not good at all.
The rooms are so cramped, the internal structure is in wood, the shower is so small, our shower floor leaked, and outside the shower the floor was unstable to the extent we thought we would land in the dining room.
The mirror in the bathroom are skew so if you want to dry your air you have to look sideways.
There is a window between the bathroom and the back of the bed.
They have cramped, bedroom (very uncomfortable bed) lounge bathroom and dress room, in such a small space 2 people battle to move.
We requested a double bed, we were given a double with 2 single covers!
The balcony is of little use as it has only the view of the garden, the garden is reasonably maintain,
The swimming pool steps are dirty and full of algae, easily fixed with high water pressure.
The beach is on the outside it is public and not great.
Dinner was ok but not great, Marina our waiter was very pleasant and gave us good service.

Breakfast was bad, the waiters suffered from blind waiter syndrome, we battled to get coffee.

We spent 7 days around Croatia staying in 4 and 5 star hotels, this is not a 4 star hotel, the prices are! It looks like only the good rating are showing on trip advisory, what is happening to the rest?

We will not be Returning.

Room Tip: There are no good room they all the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giannella G, Manager at Falkensteiner Hotel Adriana, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Ms Grazia L,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for giving us the opportunity to re look at different areas of our hotel.

Guest feedback is always welcome I am sorry that you did not have the chance of expressing your dissatisfaction to me while at the hotel.

The Falkensteiner Hotel Adriana is a Boutique hotel built in 1905 and part of listed buildings where the construction of and elevator is not allowed although we are looking at ways to overcome the issue.

Concerning the room is most certainly matter of taste I am sorry that our room design did not meet your needs and I will in due course check all the showers to avoid future issues.
We do as standard provide two single duvet in our properties for our beds.
I will check the bathrooms to identify and resolve the faults with the showers.

Concerning the pool we do weekly maintenance with water pressure in and around the pool I will instruct to do it as often as needed to avoid build up of alga.
I am sorry the public beach was not as expected but we do have blue flag for the good water quality.

I am glad to hear the service provided by Marina was satisfactory I will personally thank her and I will seek that the breakfast team pay more attention to the guests during breakfast.

Ms Grazia L I am terribly sorry that you have felt an over the top "Welcome Home", this is what we are, we try to make our guests feel comfortable and we try to give personalized service.

I am everyday out with our guests and I am sorry that I was not given the chance to at least give you the value for money that you felt we deserved.

We do take costumer feedback a great value and your comment is without doubts very precious to us.

I hope that you will give us the chance to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Please contact me at the hr.fbo.rm2@falkensteiner.com should you wish to stay at our hotel in the near future.

Best regards,

Savino Giannella
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Falkensteiner Hotel Adriana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falkensteiner Hotel Adriana

Address: Majstora Radovana 7, Zadar 23000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Zadar County > Zadar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Zadar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Falkensteiner Hotel Adriana 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic, noble and stylish - that is how the Falkensteiner Hotel Adriana is seen from the first moment. Exclusive design, exquisite meals and wines in the hotel's own a la carte restaurant, all this make this lifestyle hotel a holiday paradise for all those who simply expect something more.All Wellness, sports and recreational offers of the Falkensteiner Hotels & Resorts Borik resort are at Adriana's guests disposal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Escapio, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Falkensteiner Hotel Adriana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Falkensteiner Hotel Adriana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.