We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an unpretentious kanoba where size matters” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Konoba Rafelo

Konoba Rafelo
Obala kneza Trpmira 50, Zadar 23000, Croatia
(385)023 335 349
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 98 restaurants in Zadar
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“an unpretentious kanoba where size matters”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

It's the portion sizes and moderate prices I suspect that attract the punters to this unpretentious kanoba.
However on my visit I found more than that...the service was good... from a young hard working waiter (a Frankie Boyle look alike but don't let that put you off) who made good recommendations from the menu. My starter was the famous local Pag cheese which was a huge plateful and half found its way into my doggy bag.

I wanted a simple plain steak and that's what I got, large. juicy and cooked to perfection with a mountain of chips that come automatically with it and fill a long oval dish.
The atmosphere was good and I was interested to see that there were locals eating here as well as tourists....always a good sign.
The kanoba is situated on the Marina on the way out of the hotel zone so you will have to make a bit of an effort to track it down , but for good honest food at non rip off prices I suspect you will be pushed to find a better deal in Zadar.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    80
    47
    11
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
carlisle
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Mountain of food at a reasonable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We returned one year later, but sensibly ordered one main meal(meat platter) to share. Again a mountain of food and very tasty if a little basic.We had to queue for a table this time but it was worth the wait.Lots of good tasty basic food in a nice setting,the waiter we had was very informative and helpful.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Not cheap but value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We arrived late at 11.30pm on a friday, no problem getting food. Ramsteak (biiiiiiiiiiiig) and fried calamares (only ate half) where nice, also french fries where too much but very nice!

Not crowded (30/08) and quiet location, nice terrace.

Tip: order one meal for two people

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Third time not as good...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Our first two times here (last year) the food was good and of course the portions huge. This time we were a bit disappointed but maybe we did not order well. The first two times here we had grilled chicken, calamari, and a special fish soup. All of it was good and memorable and we recommended the Konoba to friends. On our visit this year we ordered the mixed grill on suggestion of the waitress, and it was a huge platter, but the meat had very little flavour. It looked and tasted like a mound of indifferently cooked chicken and pork. A large plate of french fries came with it and they were great. A local friend later told us we would have been very pleased with the grilled steak, and that it is in fact his steak place. On atmosphere: we ate on the great terrace outside with lovely view of water and boats. However there are often families with boisterous and loud children, and that particular kind of noise might bother some people. We heard some people complain, but the staff felt they could not do anything as the family is local and they are regular customers. For a more relaxing meal maybe it might be better to go later in the evening, if that means there might be fewer children. We did feel our waitress was nice and our food came quickly even though the Konoba was busy.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pula, Croatia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“This is below all standards for food in the world”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

When you enter into this tavern seems to work illegally.Odd tourists who share food are main guests,and in the corner eating local mobsters.The atmosphere is poor,waiters are miserable and they are uncultured.And the food is inedible, totally rubbish.Turn around and go elsewhere

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Konoba Rafelo also viewed

Zadar, Zadar County
Zadar, Zadar County
 
Zadar, Zadar County
Zadar, Zadar County
 

Been to Konoba Rafelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Konoba Rafelo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.