We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location, lovely lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fosa

Fosa
Dmitra Zvonimira 2, Zadar, Croatia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 136 Restaurants in Zadar
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
berlin
Level Contributor
72 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, lovely lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

As a treat on my last day in Croatia, I went to the highly recommended Fosa. The location on the terrace is just stunning. I had one of the set menus and several glasses of white wine. A selection of tasty breads and oils was served beforehand. The portions were elegantly presented, yet not large. But I didn't leave hungry! The service was reasonable, but not brilliant. Not cheap, nevertheless a lovely lunch. Strangely enough, rather empty.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    104
    37
    17
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fosa for fish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We were given the directions to this restaurant by the staff in the Glass Museum. I was a good 15 to 20 minute walke from the museum but it was well worth the walk. We went for lunch. We were greeted warmly and once it was established we spoke only english so did they! There was a special 3 course lunch for 20 euros, but we wanted the local ham and mussels. Our starter of local ham and cheese was accompanied by the most delicious bread and olive oil. The local mussels were cooked to perfection in white wine with a chilli spice. They recommended Croatian Chardonnay and again it was delicious. The view was quiet, peaceful and beautiful. Highly recommended. We paid by card in croation kuna which has come in at £37.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Charming & delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

My husband and I came to Croatia on a holiday to celebrate our anniversary. On that date it poured rain torrentially all day; we were soaked, exhausted, and couldn't seem to get a table anywhere.

Even though Fosa was booked, our server and maitre'd, Marija, managed to get us in after a short wait. She designed a menu just for us: Dalmatian bruschetta, white fish carpaccio with olive oil & citrus, an amazing pan fried polenta scallop with scampi in a luscious sauce, and grilled John Dory with chard & potato. This was accompanied by home made bread that was pretty exceptional.

The service was perfect, we were attended to flawlessly. The dining room is lovely, and our meal was truly delicious. I would highly recommend Fosa to anyone.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fresh fish, great view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We had an enjoyable meal here. I had the fish soup and grilled fish, and my husband had a cold starter trio with grilled herb rubbed fish served on polenta. The meal was very good, but not exceptional. We would eat here again though. If you eat outside on the harbor, the setting is lovely, and there is definitely more attention to detail paid to the food than at other restaurants we tried.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Great location, average service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

By admission of the waitress we were there when they were short of staff. However, this is an expensive restaurant for Croatian standards and we expected a little more. The food was good but not special. It was served randomly and slowly. The location in the old harbour is excellent, although a freak wave drenched the table next to us.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fosa also viewed

Zadar, Zadar County
 
Zadar, Zadar County
Zadar, Zadar County
 

Been to Fosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fosa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.