We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh fish, great view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fosa

Fosa
Dmitra Zvonimira 2, Zadar, Croatia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 97 restaurants in Zadar
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fresh fish, great view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We had an enjoyable meal here. I had the fish soup and grilled fish, and my husband had a cold starter trio with grilled herb rubbed fish served on polenta. The meal was very good, but not exceptional. We would eat here again though. If you eat outside on the harbor, the setting is lovely, and there is definitely more attention to detail paid to the food than at other restaurants we tried.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    92
    68
    22
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Great location, average service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

By admission of the waitress we were there when they were short of staff. However, this is an expensive restaurant for Croatian standards and we expected a little more. The food was good but not special. It was served randomly and slowly. The location in the old harbour is excellent, although a freak wave drenched the table next to us.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Lovely setting, expensive, disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

This is a very well-known and highly-regarded seafood restaurant in Zadar. It was recommended to us by many different people and we were expecting a wonderful meal. The setting is lovely, in a quiet old section right on the water, with a beautiful large terrace. Any of the tables on the terrace will have a lovely view of water and a beautifully lit old wall with promenade. We started with some clams, and a good crisp local white wine. Our service was wonderful, professional and friendly. For our main course we had a platter with grilled fish, on the advice of our waiter. They bring the uncooked fish to your table so you can select. We had a large Orate and then a local fish. The Orate was overcooked, had very little flavour, and chewy texture. The local fish was cooked well, but the taste was not memorable. It's a shame that in a well-known upmarket fish restaurant we were unable to have even just a nicely grilled and tasty piece of fish. In fact at several modest Konobas and tavernas on this trip we had much better grilled fish. The bill was expensive, which we expected, but as the food was so disappointing the prices felt like a gouge. We noticed that most of the other patrons were tourists. The restaurant inside was empty, and on the terrace only a third to half full. We were there in late June, at around 9pm so were surprised there were not more people.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esbjerg, Denmark
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Tourist trap wrapped in elegant style”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Beautifully located at a small harbour in Zadar. We reserved a table at 8:00 PM with great expectations. The evening started fine, but the quality of the food and the service decreased during the evening, and we were very offended by the abrupt way our visit ended when the waiter placed a "reserved" sign at our table before we had finished our meal - indicating that we had to leave soon.

The waiter recommended a Craotian prosecco before the dinner. The wine was nice, but the first course was served long before we had finished it. The waiter was in a hurry.
The first course was OK: tuna and octopus carpaccio was fine, while the bruschetta was a bit dull. The local malvasio recommeded by the waiter was an elegant company to a very ordinary main course - the small piece of fish was OK, but polenta and tomato sauce was the boaring company to the fish. The apple pie we had for dessert was without taste.

The place is beautiful and elegant. The food and wine is cheap compared to many other countries in Europe, but expensive compared to other Croatian restaurants. The quality of the food, however, is not impressing. We had better food at many cheaper restaurants in Zadar.

What makes this restaurant an absolute no go is that the restaurant pretend to be a classy place, but you feel uncomfortable because all courses are served in a hurry, and you get the impression that the staff wants to get rid of you, because the table is reserved for more guests.

FOSA - an elegant tourist trap.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baden
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Top in Croatia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We compare with very good restaurants across the world and give an excellent rating!

Top food which was very nicely presented! The service was very friendly and competent. The price-quality relation is very high! One of the best in Croatia, by far!

Some guests should not forget, that quality has it's price. In general you don't get excellent food for a small price.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fosa also viewed

 
Zadar, Zadar County
Zadar, Zadar County
 

Been to Fosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fosa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.