We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bastion

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Bastion to your Saves list
Hotel Bastion
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bedemi zadarskih pobuna 13, Zadar, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Zadar
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Classy hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

A very classy, modern, and exquisitely renovated hotel in Zadar. Near the west end of the old town, as it juts out west into the harbor. The service was impeccable and the breakfast was excellent. This hotel is so well located in Zadar, and just down the street from Kornat, a great fish restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    93
    17
    6
    3
See reviews for
32
170
13
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Staff were friendly and helpful. Great restaurant and had a lovely outlook out of our room.
Recommend spending some time in the spa. Close to all the restaurants in the old town. Located opposite the best bar in Zadar

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We wanted to get from Dubrovnik up to Plitivice via car. We couldn't figure out whether to stay in Split or Zadar. Ironically, the Rick Steve's book doesn't even include Zadar. It only took half an hour in Split to help influence our decision; it is a huge industrial city filled with graffiti and towering memories of a communist era.

We drove on to Zadar and picked Bastion based on both T/A reviews and a note on the Frommer's website. Our room was clean, quite and comfortable. We were only about a two minute walk to the famous shoreline where you could hear the music of the ocean.

We ate dinner at the restaurant and began a prolonged discussion with both the waiter and the front desk person about Croatia, the war and how hard it hit Zadar. The city went two years w/o electricity or water and the feelings are intense and close to the surface.

We found the Croatians to be worldly, well educated and extremely comfortable w/their English. This night and our long conversations was one of the most poignant of our trip.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zadar
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

A top class hotel, probably the only one in town! Excellent spa and sauna facilities. First class breakfast included. Very professional service. Good location in the heart of the old city. Parking a bit tight.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adinkerke, Belgium
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Very nice stay in this hotel. Welcoming staff and very nice room and bathroom. Rooms are not very big but have everything you can ask for. The location of the hotel is ideal for visiting Zadar. It is located just out of the pedestrian zone of the center and has a parking area for an extra fee. The restaurant Kastel as part of the hotel serves excellent food, the best we had in Kroatia so far! Also the staff of the restaurant is helpfull and most friendly. On a next stay we would certainly return to the Bastion hotel!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

The location is amazing!
View of the Marina and Zadar new city - beautiful.
The room is to die for. Real luxury in everything: the bed, pillows, carpets and bathroom with variety of toiletries...
Great internet connection and wonderful breakfast.
Staff were warm and welcoming, spoke perfect English and tried to help in everything they could. Tips about attractions were great and made our visit very enjoyable.
In short: a treat!! We will surely return and stay again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Great location with the advantage of being next to the chill-out Garden. Excellant staff and clean, airy rooms with lots of distinctive features. Did not try the resturant which was without windows!
The old city is on the door step and also close to the Ferry terminals.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Bastion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bastion

Address: Bedemi zadarskih pobuna 13, Zadar, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Zadar County > Zadar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Zadar
#4 Luxury Hotel in Zadar
#4 Family Hotel in Zadar
#5 Romantic Hotel in Zadar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bastion 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Bastion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bastion Hotel Zadar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bastion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.