We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun family holiday in Istria - recommended” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Splendid Golden Rocks Resort

Save Saved
You added Splendid Golden Rocks Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Splendid Golden Rocks Resort
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Verudella 6/B, Pula 52100, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 30 hotels in Pula
Sweden
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Fun family holiday in Istria - recommended”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This is the second review, we stayed last year with a great experience. Normally we do not go anywhere twice, but we had such a good time last year, so we headed to the Splendid Resort once again. If you are looking for a price worthy non luxury summer holiday, The Arenaturist Splendid Resort is a great place.

The welcome at the reception was very friendly and efficient, one important point for me.

You can park anywhere you like in the area, but coming late in the evenings it can be a problem finding one close to your apartment. We had no problems this week, though.

We got a nicely renovated 2 room apartment for 5 people, one bedroom with a double and a single bed and a sofa-bed in the sitting room/kitchen. The apartment was sparkling clean (dont forget to tip the cleaning-lady for a job well done) and we had a great view over the pool and a totally awesome view of the wonderful chrystal clear sea and coastline. Please note that there is an additional fee of approx. 57 Kuna for A/C every day, but it was well worth it.

With our teenage kids we wanted to be near the pool with all music and fun games and the location of the apartment was ideal. The pool area is very active and you can rent sun loungers (30 kuna/day) and umbrellas (20 kuna/day) but you have to be up early to occupy some loungers.
There are also free loungers on one side of the pool and additional rental loungers on platforms on the rocks at the sea. The service staff was very attentive and friendly, helped us out with all sorts of comforts.

The activity team did a good job trying to make us holiday softies a litte active with lots of stuff to do and the smaller kids seem to enjoy the Hot Spot for Kids. I noticed that they had to work harder with getting people on the move this year, could it be the nordic shyness of the rather large Scandinavian portion of this years guests? The music around the pool is "salsa summer and spanish playa"-inspired which we really loved but If you prefer a more quiet holiday, ask for an apartment a bit away from the pool and relax on the golden rocks by the sea instead of the pool.

The bistro at the pool did a very good job also this year, great welcoming smiles and very friendly service. It was a genuin pleasure to return and find that you were recognized since our last stay. Such personal attention is in my view seldom found in holiday resorts and it made us feel very at home and spoiled.

The rocks at the shoreline is a really great place to put your beach towels if you like to be near the chrystal clear and warm sea. There was always a nice breeze cooling down the temperatures which were around 34 degrees during the day. Stairs everywhere makes it easy to gracefully glide into the water or to get up on the rocks again with some dignity even if you are over 50 and fit like me. And there was plenty of space...

We had a super holiday, this year too, and were all very happy during our week at the resort. The apartment was really nice, newly renovated, clean and had a big terrace with an awesome view. The resort offers a lot of holiday fun for the money and the location near the beautiful city of Pula is really good. The staff surprised us by recognizing us from last year and spoiled us with great attention and many smiles. I really recommend the Splendid Resort for anyone looking for a great holiday in lovely Istria with great value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arenaturist, Management at Splendid Golden Rocks Resort, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. It is with big pleasure that we read that this was your second time in our resort. Also, we are happy to hear that you found the welcome at the reception very friendly, the apartment sparkling clean and the service staff very attentive and friendly. We are always trying to do our best to make the stay of our guest pleasant and memorable, and we are really grateful when our guest notice all the effort made.
If you do plan a return in the future, please do reach out to our team at booking@arenaturist.hr, and they will be more than happy to assist you further.
Thank you once again for recommending us and we hope that we will be able to welcome you back soon!

Kind Regards,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    27
    12
    8
    3
See reviews for
27
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Splendid and Horizon Resorts are marketed as separate hotels but, in fact, they are located in one and same huge resort area in a forest by the sea and can be booked via the webpage Arenaturist (it's normally cheaper to book directly from that page).

The entire complex was apparently built in the 50's to host workers (and also foreign tourists) for their recreation. Later, I heard, an American guy bought the entire complex and has renovated some parts, whereas most parts, including the two star "Horizon Resort", are in the original shape. But you can easily see that the renovations have been just a little "make-up" on surface. There were problems for instance with water system while we were there..

The area is really perfect for fresh air recreation in a forestry area with nice walking paths, benches etc. and it's not a dull concrete complex like many modern resorts often are. Even on a hot day a cool breeze from the sea and the shadow of the forest makes it possible to enjoy promenades.

The "reception" is at the entrance of the area and if you arrive by car, you can drive to your room that could be located in a bigger complex or in a building of three or more flats. If you arrive by other transportation, ask the driver to wait while you check in and then to drive you to your flat, as otherwise you might need to carry your luggage long way.

There are a number of meal options and you can purchase half board at one of the restaurants. (If you book on-line, you'll be automatically sent to the restaurant "Horizon" which is an indoor restaurant that closes early, but you can cancel that booking when you check in if you don't like it). I think the best restaurants were the Center next to the supermarket and the Tamaris by the sea. Half board for one week per person costed for us 90EUR. Note that the distance between your flat and the restaurant could be 5-10 minutes walk..

What was good:
- the location, it's beautiful, natural and not too hot.

- the 1-2 bedroom flats with sea view are, as said earlier by others, renovated and clean with really a beautiful seaview. The complex "Splendid A" does not seem to have been renovated for quite some time.

- The flats are spacious with relatively new appliances.

- From the pool area you can go down to the rocks via stairs. At that spot, there are stairs that you can climb down to water, instead of struggling on slippery stones (like below the restaurant Horizon). The water is cool and clear and if you dive you can see all kinds of fish.

- the food at the above mentioned restaurants was excellent and they had good choice of meals suitable for children.

- Central Pula is not very far away and there you find shops like Kaufland, Drogerie Markt, Mercur etc. as well as all the sights.

What was bad:

The place is not very suitable for families with small children, although the flats actually are nice and safe. Below is explained why:

- The balconies are so nice that people spend there even their nights, smoking and drinking. We were at the 4th floor and you can imagine the amount of cigarrette smoke that rose into our flat. Also there were some really disturbing people in the complex, that stayed on their terrace, drinking and making noice until early morning. It took the management several days until something was done and finally we had only two quiet nights at the end of our stay.

If you have small kids who wake up at 7am or who are allergic - don't choose this place, as you will not get good night rest and the cigarette smell is unavoidable (it's forbidden to smoke inside the flats..).

- The complex is really far away from the reception and there were no phones in the flats, so the management had really no idea what was going on in the complex at night until we complained. Only then they sent security guards the following nights to have a look. I think this is a general security issue, if something happens, how do you notify the reception and how do you get help - except for calling 112??

- The pool area was dirty. The toilets especially were very dirty. They were not cleaned at all during the day, the lamps were not working and the floor was covered by water.

- The floors around the pool were dirty already in the morning. There should be some way to wash shoes before arriving to the pool area as the surrounding area is a forest.. Even my child did not want to visit the toilet as it was so dirty.

- The water in the pools is not clean. It's full of hair that stuck to your fingers when you swim and if you dive, you can't see through it. In the bigger pool it's sea water, that gets so warm in the sun, that I cannot believe it would be constantly changing as we were told.

- The pool side bistro food is not recommended- it's expensive and you get much better food in the other restaurants.

- Cleaning of the flats is only done once in the end of your stay. Therefore, it should not be called a "hotel" at all and with small kids, you get to clean a lot.

- There's no dishwasher in the flats which is the standard for instance in Italy.

- Wifi is only available by the pool and reception which is not very convenient if you need to keep your kids active and not drowning while sending e-mails or something.

In addition you need to bring your own detergents, spounges and toiletpapers (there are only few rolls available).

Note: The activities for children: the people that work there are nice and energetic, but the planning of the activities seems not very well thought. Most activities take place below Restaurant Horizon, so if you as the parent would like to stay by the pool for instance while your kids are participating, it could be inconvenient, if you don't want to be very far away from the kids. Below the Restaurant Horizon, there's nothing really for adults to do while waiting, so at the end of the day, we just were swimming all day with our kids. The childrens' "disco" (more like aerobics) also takes place by the pool side where the floor is slippery - doesn't seem very safe.

Room Tip: Indeed the sea view rooms will lead you to the flats that are renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arenaturist, Manager at Splendid Golden Rocks Resort, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear guest,

We are very grateful for your detailed review about your say at our Splendid Golden Rocks Resort. It is very pleasant to get to know you have enjoyed your time spent there as well as our country's landscape, hotel's location, sea view rooms and our food and drinks offer. On the other hand we do understand that having small children and having to deal with groups of noisy young people isn't the best one could expect from their vacation. Your criticism about how to avoid such situations (safety, smoking, hygiene at the pool area etc) will be used as constructive.

We are looking forward to seeing you again soon!
Best regards

The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schweinfurt, Germany
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed in a 2 bedroom, 2 bath apartment overlooking the sea. The view was amazing! The balcony had a patio set so we could sit outside in the evening and watch the sunset over the sea. The beds are a bit firm so we didn't get a real restful sleep. You need to pay for the air conditioning and you will definitely want to do that in the hotter months as the apartment was stifling when we first arrived. Each morning when we would shower, the water would stop after about 2 minutes. We'd wait for a minute or two and then it would come on again. When we brought this to the attention of the staff, they said it's normal and that's just how it is there. It was inconvenient but it didn't have much impact on our stay.
The pool is sea water and is large enough to accommodate a lot of people so it never seemed overly crowded. There is a bar/restaurant right there at the pool so it's convenient to have lunch and/or drinks without leaving the pool area. The sea is down a few steps from the pool area and you can rent a sun deck with 2 chairs and an umbrella if you'd prefer to swim in the sea water. Make sure you bring a beach towel as the resort doesn't have any and you can't use the hotel towels at the pool. You can buy some at the resort though and they're inexpensive.
There is a small market on the property to purchase items you may want for the apartment. We stocked up on water as the tap water is not suitable for drinking. The food in the restaurants was decent and not overly priced at all.
We had a great time here and will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Book a sea view room! You won't be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arenaturist, Manager at Splendid Golden Rocks Resort, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear guest,

We are very grateful you have found the time to send us a review about your stay at our Splendid Golden Rocks Resort and glad you have enjoyed the services within our facility. We inform you your critics about firm beds and water problems will be taken seriously in consideration before the next summer season.

We are looking forward to seeing you again soon within Arenaturist in Pula.

Best regards

The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We didn't had any high expectations when we booked Splendid resort for 3 weeks summer holiday in july-august 2011, but we were lucky to read some TA reviews before and knew we MUST have the big 2 bedroom (L-type) unit with the sea view.
And we glad we did!
The apartment was clean, comfy enough for 5 persons, with everything you need for relax holiday, the big balcony & dolphins watching was a real treat in the mornings & evenings.
The staff is very friendly (esp animation team), food is nice and cocktails and milkshakes by the pool are a must. We really liked the fact that this resort is international oriented, with guests from all over the world. All together Splendid Resort is a good value for money and i would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arenaturist, Management at Splendid Golden Rocks Resort, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your impressions of your recent stay with us.We are glad to know that you liked the big 2-bedroom apartment, our staff and the gastronomy offer. Providing excellent service that is gracious and attentive is our top priority and we look forward
to welcome you back soon at our hotel.

Kind Regards,

Splendid Golden Rocks Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We did not expect very much when booking an apartment for a week´s family fun at the pool and the beach. But leaving the Splendid Resort was hard, we had a perfect week oh holiday. We stayed in a renovated apartment with sea view and I really must recommend you to do the same. The apartment was clean, well appointed and had a superb balcony with a stunning view at the sunset over the sea. There was a small additional fee for air conditioning, which was a great enjoyment as we had around 36 degrees of heat every day.

We mainly stayed around the pool, which had a very good atmosphere. The staff around the pool and at the restaurant made our days great with very welcoming and kind attitude. The rocks at the beach makes for good snorkeling, sun bathing and swimming. The water is clear and there are some smaller pebble beaches although the area is more suited for families with older children.

By the way, the restaurant at the pool was the best in the resort area and the waiters made all fuss keeping us happy every day.

All in all, great place for holiday if you are not a 5-star buff. Friendly, good value for money and fun for all family.

Room Tip: Do book the renovated apartments with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arenaturist, Manager at Splendid Golden Rocks Resort, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear RoySweden,
Thank you very much for your review of the Splendid Resort. We really appreciated your kind and detailed comments about the resort, its facilities and services. We are glad to read that you and your family enjoyed your holiday with us, that you found our staff very friendly and that you enjoyed the surrounding nature, the sea and the numerous beaches.
We would be very happy to have the chance to welcome you and your family again at our resort.
Kind regards,
The Arenaturist management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

When driving up to Splendid, it seems more campsite than resort. Not to worry! If you booked a sea-view apartment then you are in for a treat. You'll navigate past other 'apartments' that look a bit run down on the outside (and I totally can't vouch for those) and over to a great little set of holiday apartments. We fit 5 people (adults) comfortable in a 2 bedroom apt. There was nothing super special about the room, but it was clean and had everything that we needed for a 3 night stay. And our super big balcony that overlooked the water was a dream! If you're staying in Pula and want a treat of a room on a budget, I would definitely recommend this place. But don't expect 5 star amenities (although it really does have everything you need). Plus, you can walk to all the other hotels in the area thanks to a long sidewalk that hugs the coastline down the peninsula.

Room Tip: Spend the extra 7 Euro a day for a seaview!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arenaturist, Manager at Splendid Golden Rocks Resort, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear blondie71716,
Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review on Tripadvisor. We are happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay at the Splendid Resort, especially the sea view terrace of the apartment and the long sidewalk to the coast line.
We sincerely hope to have the chance to welcome you at the Splendid Resort soon!
Kind regards,
The Arenaturist management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechelen, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We've had a great stay at the Splendid Resort. We had easy access to the swimming pool, restaurants, watersport activities, ... The view from the different sides of the resort are amazing. The friendly (dutch speaking) reception of the resort helped us planning trips, arranging cabs, ...

Room Tip: In high season you might ask for air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arenaturist, Manager at Splendid Golden Rocks Resort, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Joke L,
Thank you for your positive feedback on Tripadvisor. We are very glad that you have enjoyed your stay at the Splendid Resort, that you liked the location of the resort and that you found our staff friendly and helpful.
We hope to have the chance to welcome you and your friends back to our hotel for another enjoyable stay!
Kind regards,
The Arenaturist management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Splendid Golden Rocks Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Splendid Golden Rocks Resort

Also Known As:
Resort Splendid Hotel
Resort Splendid Hotel Pula
Address: Verudella 6/B, Pula 52100, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Istria > Pula
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 30 hotels in Pula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Splendid Golden Rocks Resort 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Splendid Golden Rocks Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Splendid Golden Rocks Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.