We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not gold everything that shines” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Splendid Golden Rocks Resort

Save Saved
You added Splendid Golden Rocks Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Splendid Golden Rocks Resort
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Verudella 6/B, Pula 52100, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 30 hotels in Pula
Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Not gold everything that shines”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

This place shares location and ammenities with the Horizont resort. It appears to be a price segmentation for the same clientele, although Splendid appartments are more modern than the rest. We spent last weekend in this resort. The place is beautiful, or rather, "biutiful".

We booked a big appartment, from 40 to 55 sqm, with sea views. Reality was a 30 m appartment with an 8 sqm. terrace, from which we could spot a line of sea blue over the roof of a building standing in front of ours. For the description and the pictures I expected that a sqm is a sqm everywhere, and that our terrace would be directly over the sea. Not the case.

Second disappointment was the air conditioning. If you want it, you have to pay extra money for it. In the description I got it was written that the room counted with aircon. And it was true... at a price.

Then, the fact that the ward wanted to keep our passports at all cost, until the bill had been paid. I never ever separate from my passport; actually it is not mine, since it belongs to my country, so I should not do that. I also refused to pay in advance, so the ward had to go with a photocopy in the hope that his manager would not yell too loud. The manager appears to be an ogre in the place, since all staff refers to him whenever you ask for anything you expected but is not there for you to take unless you pay extra money for it.

The following disappointment was the swimming-pool. Beautiful in the pictures, and honors reality. The problem is that the water inside comes pumped from the sea, so unless you like cold and extremely salted water in a pool, this one is not for you.

Terrific was the fact that you could not use the sunbeds if not for 8 extra euro/day. First, they charge for them, and then it cannot be for one hour, it has to be for the full day, and you lose your right if you leave it unattended. Since you are there and there's no other way you can relax, you finally pay for it, just to realise five minutes later that if you need to use the umbrella... yes, you got it, 5 more euro. By that time you have paid already a lot: room + aircon + sunbed + umbrella... and of course, you'd like to have a drink, and since you canno t keep your sunbed unattended, there's no other place to have that cold drink than... you got it, the hotel bar.

A propo: no room service in 4 days is something worth mentioning, isn't it?

Let me also remind those who have not explored the area that you will find no single sandbeach in the area. It's all rocks. Yes, from the rock to the sea, and you'd better take nautic shoes with you, a very thick pad to lie on, and lots of sunscreen, since no umbrella can therefore be used.

Finally, the restaurants at Pula are terrible in our experience. You pay extraordinarily high prices for minute fish of dubious quality, plus they will look bad at you whenever you ask for anything special, such as "this fish is raw, can you cook a few minutes longer?", and respond quite inpolitely to requests such as "the oil you gave me for the salad has been used to cook fish before, could you bring me some olive oil?".

Summing up: the most beautiful stripe of Mediterranean coast I've seen since Menorca, but: no beach, low products quality, low hotels quality, and very customer-hostile service.

Who wants to visit this place yet? Just drive down there from beautiful Rovinj, take some pictures, and leave.

And what a waste of hotel management in such a beautiful scenery. A real waste. Simply, "biutiful"

Stayed June 2011

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    27
    12
    8
    3
See reviews for
27
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berliin
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

This was terrible. First you think you are getting a great deal on a cheap hotel wit ha nice pool, But EVERYTHING costs. They dont even supply you toilet paper. chairs by the pool are 6 Euro, and the food it WAY over priced..Also no maids, no fresh towels, NOTHING! you will end up spending just as much at other resorts because they make you buy all he things you need from the "grocery market" on site, but it is crazy overpriced and is a full rip off. Even if you want to play table tennis, its 8 euro an hour.. totally crap.. dont bother wit this place.
P.S they only have Wifi in the reception, which is far away from everything.. they are liars about this on their site.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arenaturist, Manager at Splendid Golden Rocks Resort, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Dear guest,
We wish to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to write your opinion on our Splendid Resort on Tripadvisor.
We would like to apologize for those services in which we could not meet your expectations Also, we are terribly sorry that you didn’t find all the needed information of the Resort on Arenaturist’s website. For any doubts on the available services, we provide a phone number and a direct email, on which our guest can rely in case they need to.
Please, be assured that your important comments will be taken into account and will help us to continually improve our services.
In the hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you at Splendid Resort, or in any other hotel and resort managed by Arenaturist.
Sincerely
Arenaturist management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2010

We enjoyed our brief visit to Pula Splendid Resort. The Resort is combined with Horizont Resort. The Apartments in Spendid have been renovated and are very good. We have seen the Horizont Apartments from outside and seems to be in neglect.
The Apartments are only serviced once and you have to clean them as needed. All towels and bedsheets were supplied once.
We had a 1 bedroom apartment with 3 single beds in one room and a double sofa bed in the Lounge/kitchen/dining room which was very spacious. They call it type N apartment.
Check in was easy but check out time, allow some extra time if you are heading to Airport as it can get busy.
The area around is good and nice walks. The beach is rocky and quite a drop, so not good for people with mobility problem.
We were half board. Food was adequate but not very much choice.
The staff were very good and friendly. Speak to Lidia at the reception, very friendly and speaks good english.
We arranged Taxi transfer from Airport and found Taxi-Aldo very good. They are in the website and charged 25 Euros for 4 passengers each way.
In general we found Istria quiet expensive, compared to Spain and Portugal.
However, less crowded and scenic.
We visited few places and enjoyed Istria

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Splendid Golden Rocks Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Splendid Golden Rocks Resort

Address: Verudella 6/B, Pula 52100, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Istria > Pula
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 30 hotels in Pula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Splendid Golden Rocks Resort 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Splendid Golden Rocks Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Splendid Hotel Pula

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Splendid Golden Rocks Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.