We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better than expected” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Horizont Golden Rocks Resort

Save Saved
You added Horizont Golden Rocks Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Horizont Golden Rocks Resort
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Verudella 6/B, Pula 52100, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 29 Hotels in Pula
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Much better than expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We booked a last minute Jet2 package holiday and had low expectations for a 2 star hotel, however we were pleasantly surprised. The resort is made up of 2 sections, Splendid (from what I understand the older properties) and Horizont (the nicer properties). The coach dropped us at the small reception and check in was busy but reasonably quick. We then had to walk to our room dragging our suitcases which was about a 15 minute walk, right at the furthest end of the resort which in the 37 degree heat and humidity was quite a challenge. We paid for the aircon at 53 kuna per day as in the current heat wave we couldn't have managed without it.

The room was basic but very clean. There was a double bed in one room and a double sofa bed in the lounge. Only 2 toilet rolls are included and after that you need to buy them which isn't a lot for a week. You also need to bring sponges, washing up liquid, salt, sugar etc as there is nothing extra in the rooms. The towels were only changed once during our week long stay and the room was not cleaned. The beds were hard but there was enough bedding. There was a large balcony but sadly our room backed straight onto another block so there was no view. The aircon was powerful and the fridge was large enough to store everything.

The rocks near the sea were extremely sharp so bring water shoes. You can buy them on the resort for a higher price than elsewhere. Beach towels aren't provided so you must bring your own. You can rent a bed at the pool for 30 kuna and an umbrella for 20 kuna which is quite expensive for a large family considering you're in a private resort. There are 3 restaurants, the food is nice but is over priced compared to the rest of Pula where you get a lot more for your money. There is a supermarket on site selling everything you need. There is an old fort just outside the complex, you can't go in but it's nice to look around, and there's a park for children, mini golf and tennis courts but apart from that there's not a lot to do around the resort. It's within walking distance to the restaurants and attractions in Verudella and there is a bus stop just outside of the main entrance to go into Pula (if you're at the far end of the complex like we were this is about a 25 minute walk from your room). We didn't watch any of the entertainment as from what we saw it was aimed at young children, but the entertainment team did try to keep people busy at the pool with aqua aerobics and games. There were a lot of wasps all around the complex and although this may not bother most people I have a horrendous phobia of them so I spent most of the week running away terrified. The staff did not appear to do anything to overcome this problem in the restaurants which made eating difficult pool and my young cousin was stung on our final day.

Overall, the complex was better than we expected for the price we paid and the 2 star rating, but I probably wouldn't stay there again due to the extra costs for almost everything in the complex. Most guests had driven there from other parts of mainland Europe and I could see the attraction in that, but flying from England I'd choose to stay elsewhere next time.

Room Tip: The Horizont side appears nicer than the splendid side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arenaturist, Management at Horizont Golden Rocks Resort, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We are happy to hear that you found the overall complex to be better than expected and that the accommodation was also to your liking. On a more negative note, we are sad to hear that you had problems with wasps and that your son got stung. Please note that we use special sprays in the restaurant area’s to prevent the inconvenience they could cause and we apologize if this didn’t help in your case.
If you plan a return visit in the future, please do contact us at: booking@arenaturist.hr with your inquiries. We'll do our best to provide you with a more suitable accommodation.

Kind Regards,
The Horizont Golden Rocks Resort Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    17
    9
    6
    7
See reviews for
26
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
yorkshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This is a 2 star resort hotel approximately 4 kilometers from Pula. The resort is set in a forested area and is on a graded landscape which means there are lots of steps to negotiate, not for the unfit. The coastal location is beautiful and the staff friendly and work hard. The accommodation is basic, advertised with sat T.V which for the English is just SKY and CNN news and Eurosport. There are 2/3 restaurants on site, and a supermarket, but little else to do in an evening. The pool and surrounding areas were clean and well maintained but there are a lot of steps to negotiate to get there. The charges for sun loungers/parasols are expensive 50 kuna per day ( approx £7 depending on the exchange rate) but they were good quality and comfortable.Some of the apartments have been renovated but others were quite dark and from the outside in need of renovation and the number of trees in the area meant some did not get sunlight on the balcony.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arenaturist, Management at Horizont Golden Rocks Resort, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing the Horizont Golden Rocks Resort for your stay. We are glad to hear that you found our location beautiful and our staff friendly and hard working. In regards to your other comments, we will take all of them in consideration and discuss internally. It would be our pleasure to welcome you anytime soon in our resort.

Kind Regards,
The Horizont Golden Rocks Resort Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tottenham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Me and my partner stayed here for a music festival in August 2012. We had to pay an extortionate amount to stay here because of this as most places where sold out locally.

I got the feeling they knew who booked via the festival website as we got the most rubbish apartment going. The place was infested with ants and millipedes. The shower didn't work properly and the place was generally in a poor condition. The sofa was covered in animal hair and the room only got cleaned 1 time in the 6 nights we stayed there.

It is close to the beach but the beach area is tiny - you are lucky to get a spot or you will end up laying on very uncomfortable rocks.

The restaurants staff where slow and understaffed. I did feel sorry for them as they were very busy but they should definitely have more staff in busy periods to cope. Other than that the food was ok.

I think they should bear in mind that even though young people attending a festival may have a bad reputation that we have paid over the odds to come on holiday and we deserve a nice romantic break too! I would never ever stay here again - and I advise any festival attendees to book in the sister resort called Splendid as it was much nicer!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arenaturist, Management at Horizont Golden Rocks Resort, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. First and foremost, we must apologise for the experience you have described here. It is clear from what you have written that your stay was not to the usual high standard of our resort. We will take all of your comments into consideration and discuss them internally.
You are correct that you certainly should have received better and quicker service and we do regret that we weren’t able to provide you with a new room sooner. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We will address these points and we hope when you return you will see the improvements made.

Kind Regards,
The Horizont Golden Rocks Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lviv, Ukraine
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

Whole resort is a complex of separate 2 stores houses amid a park hill. Close to beach ambrela. Rooms are equiped with kitchen, supermarket in the center of resort area. Great choice for self catering.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
419 helpful votes 419 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011 via mobile

We enjoyed our week at the resort - next to the beach, near the pool and a short bus ride from Pula. Some peculiarities ~ tatty mini-golf, Hi-de-hi style entertainment.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

Very good price. Easy access to Pula and Premantura by bus from end of road. Supermarket on site is a little pricey so possibly better to go into town for supplies. Quiet when we were there because before main season. Sea view was blocked by trees but not a problem as you could take cup of tea two minutes down hill and sit on rocks! Accommodation basic but adequate - for price no complaints at all. Nice to have access to swimming pool (sea water) on Splendid part of site. Cafe looked ok but didn't try it. As previous reviewer said be careful when you walk around at night(maybe take small torch!) as lots of steps and lights not brilliant. Reception very helpful.

Do visit Rovinj - lovely little city - bus from Pula bus station.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arenaturist, Manager at Horizont Golden Rocks Resort, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing the hotel Horizont for your holidays. We are glad that you were satisfied with our service, the hotel and its surroundings. Also, we would like to thank you for taking the time to give us such a nice feedback on Tripadvisor. Your praise is motivation for us to continue to do all the possible to make our guests’ holiday as perfect as possible.
We are looking forward to welcome you back at hotel Horizont within the near future.
Kind regards,
Arenaturist management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

We spent last weekend in this resort. The place is beautiful, or rather, "biutiful".
We booked a big appartment, from 40 to 55 sqm, with sea views. Reality was a 30 m appartment with an 8 sqm. terrace, from which we could spot a line of sea blue over the roof of a building standing in front of ours. For the description and the pictures I expected that a sqm is a sqm everywhere, and that our terrace would be directly over the sea. Not the case.

Second disappointment was the air conditioning. If you want it, you have to pay extra money for it. In the description I got it was written that the room counted with aircon. And it was true... at a price.

Then, the fact that the ward wanted to keep our passports at all cost, until the bill had been paid. I never ever separate from my passport; actually it is not mine, since it belongs to my country, so I should not do that. I also refused to pay in advance, so the ward had to go with a photocopy in the hope that his manager would not yell too loud. The manager appears to be an ogre in the place, since all staff refers to him whenever you ask for anything you expected but is not there for you to take unless you pay extra money for it.

The following disappointment was the swimming-pool. Beautiful in the pictures, and honors reality. The problem is that the water inside comes pumped from the sea, so unless you like cold and extremely salted water in a pool, this one is not for you.

Terrific was the fact that you could not use the sunbeds if not for 8 extra euro/day. First, they charge for them, and then it cannot be for one hour, it has to be for the full day, and you lose your right if you leave it unattended. Since you are there and there's no other way you can relax, you finally pay for it, just to realise five minutes later that if you need to use the umbrella... yes, you got it, 5 more euro. By that time you have paid already a lot: room + aircon + sunbed + umbrella... and of course, you'd like to have a drink, and since you canno t keep your sunbed unattended, there's no other place to have that cold drink than... you got it, the hotel bar.

A propo: no room service in 4 days is something worth mentioning, isn't it?

Let me also remind those who have not explored the area that you will find no single sandbeach in the area. It's all rocks. Yes, from the rock to the sea, and you'd better take nautic shoes with you, a very thick pad to lie on, and lots of sunscreen, since no umbrella can therefore be used.

Finally, the restaurants at Pula are terrible in our experience. You pay extraordinarily high prices for minute fish of dubious quality, plus they will look bad at you whenever you ask for anything special, such as "this fish is raw, can you cook a few minutes longer?", and respond quite inpolitely to requests such as "the oil you gave me for the salad has been used to cook fish before, could you bring me some olive oil?".

Summing up: the most beautiful stripe of Mediterranean coast I've seen since Menorca, but: no beach, low products quality, low hotels quality, and very customer-hostile service.

Who wants to visit this place yet? Just drive down there from beautiful Rovinj, take some pictures, and leave.

And what a waste of hotel management in such a beautiful scenery. A real waste. Simply, "biutiful"

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arenaturist, Manager at Horizont Golden Rocks Resort, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Dear Guest,
We appreciate it very much that you took your valuable time to write this review about us Hotel Horizont on Tripadvisor. We are glad that you found beautiful our nature and the Mediterranean coast.
We are terribly sorry to hear that your stay in our hotel hasn't been gratifying. We would like to apologize for those services that did not meet your expectations.
Also, We are sorry that our receptions did not explain you that keeping the guests' passports is a normal security procedure in Croatian hotels.
You may be assured that all your comments will be taken into account and will help us to keep continually improving our services.
We hope that these inconveniences do not prevent you to visit us once again in the future.
Sincerely,
Arenaturist management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Horizont Golden Rocks Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizont Golden Rocks Resort

Address: Verudella 6/B, Pula 52100, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Istria > Pula
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 29 Hotels in Pula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Horizont Golden Rocks Resort 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Horizont Golden Rocks Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Horizont Pula Hotel Pula
Hotel Horizont Pula

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Horizont Golden Rocks Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.