We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lives down to its 2 stars but happily exists in 4 star surroundings” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Brioni Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Brioni Hotel to your Saves list
Brioni Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Verudela 16, Pula 52100, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Pula
Suffolk
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Lives down to its 2 stars but happily exists in 4 star surroundings”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2009

I can’t be negative about a hotel that claims to be nothing more than a 2 star hotel because it is exactly that. As people have written before, it is looking old, doesn’t benefit from air conditioning and is a bit of a concrete monster. Its lower ground floor rooms are cavernous and I couldn’t help thinking that it must be rather like the Shining hotel during the winter months.
The outdoor pool was small, so it was really a question of finding a suitable place on the rocky beachfront for sunbathing.
I want to try and be useful and so just a few things that I hope are of interest about the area and the hotel.
Firstly, if you want a ‘coolish’ room – try and get room 174 – or the equivalent on the floors above (r.h corner of the building as you look out to sea). These have a second room and so benefit from a second window – providing a good breeze through the night (I was there in August). It felt perfectly safe to leave them open. Not only that, it had a lovely view of the sea from the balcony.
If you are looking to relax around the pool, I recommend going to the Hotel Histria nearby. This is by far the best of the hotels in that area – has a very relaxing and cool terrace and lovely pool with terrific views. As with all the Pulan pools, the water is salty, which was a shame. I suppose if you all take my advice, the Histria may start to wonder why there are so many people around but no one ever approached me or wondered why I was there, so shouldn’t need to worry on that front.
The Histria area of Verudela also benefits from a better and less crowded beach. Having said that, the bars at the beach by the Brioni are lovely and have tapped into the Café del Mar feel and are open until 2am. Very mellow and atmospheric.
So whatever the Brioni lacks, it makes up for by where it is and what surrounds it. If all you want to do is sleep and not worry about its 2 stars, then it is functionally fine.
As for Pula, the Ampitheatre is amazing. Elton John, Michael Bolton had recently played there and I was lucky enough to be there when Swan Lake was being performed. Unless you want to spend money on going to one of these events, I recommend walking to the left side of the Ampitheatre, going up the hill to a bar which overlooks (through the ampitheatres’ arches) everything going on inside.
I loved the main street for its rambling, its bars and shops. Often there are bands playing outdoors and it has a very friendly, fun atmosphere.
Sadly one negative but has to be written so that you keep your money..The transport from the airport isn’t good and you will probably have to rely on a taxi. My taxi man started the fare on 100 kuna (which is about 8 quid I think), which was outrageous. We argued the whole of my journey about the price. He even threatened to dump me on the side of the road in the middle of the countryside (I was being v diplomatic, I promise!). He had said there was a traffic jam going into the main part of Pula and so would take 2 hours (it’s only about 5 miles) – so he would take me a longer way round. This was still only about 10 miles but he charged me 350 kunas. This is extortionate. I felt a bit stupid of course but incredibly annoyed as well. The Tourist Office confirmed that they are notorious cheats and that the charge to the hotel should have been 220 at most (and 120 to the centre of Pula). The initial charge should be no more than 30 kunas, not the 100 I was charged (that is for waiting for an hour).
I did actually make a beeline for him at the airport when I was leaving and found him slinking further and further down into his seat. After another firm but diplomatic argument, I did manage to get the outstanding amount back, as I had written proof from the Tourist Office. They recommend always getting a receipt. I was no doubt naïve but glad it got resolved. And my mistake means you don’t have to be conned!
That was the only negative on what was a lovely 4 days in Pula. I highly recommend it for its historic buildings, lovely weather, atmosphere and friendly people.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    51
    43
    18
    10
See reviews for
22
56
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2009

The hotel is outdated - I think the hotel was probably last refurbished in 1970's/early 80's - however it was clean.

No air conditioning in the room, no FANS and the windows are fixed so you can't open them - although there was a balcony door you could keep open (obviously not in the night)... Not nice when you're visiting in Summer!

Dinner was good and amazing value for £2.50 per head per night. Breakfast was not bad either...

Location was great, right by the coast.

Staff were friendly and helpful. I don't think there was room service.

I would recommend this hotel but if the more modern ones in Verudela are at the same price, probably go for those, simply for the outdated rooms/bathrooms in this one.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk, london
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2009

I have just returned from a week at this hotel.

The hotel is very old fashioned and needs totally refurbished. The bathrooms are old and dirty !! The food is simple, not nice and very boring. Depending on which staff serve you they can be good or very abrupt.

The only good thing is the location. I would suggest picking a different hotel in Croatia.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2008

The hotel is located steps from the water. There are no sandy beaches but access to swimming areas is fairly good.
Hotel was built in the 1972 and few upgrades have been done since then. The ventilation is poor or non-existent so if you are allergic to tobacco smoke, this hotel is not for you, as smoking is permitted everywhere except in the dining room, but the smoke wafts in from the entrance area where people have their coffees and smoke.
Food is cafeteria style with hardly any variation from day to day. Breakfast drinks are included, but at dinner, you have to buy even bottled water. A hot drink of tea will cost approximately $2 and the cup is only half full of hot water. There is a small grocery store in another complex nearby where you can purchase water, beer & wine but they do not restock the shelves after high season, so the only red wines were the most expensive ones.
The rooms are small but clean and there are no facilities for making coffee or tea. Bathroom is not ventilated, so sometimes there was a sewer smell which we dealt with by covering the floor drain with the bathmat. No airconditioning in the rooms, but the open door or window helped to circulate air and allowed for a comfortable sleep at night.
Seaview room was obstructed by the roof of the indoor pool.
During our stay, many athletic groups of young people were at the hotel. A choir group from Poland were practising their pieces and entertained us with their choral pieces in the dining room on their last evening.
The hotel is located about 4km from the centre of Pula. You can easily walk or take the 2A or 3A bus for 11kn, which is about $2. The town of Pula is quaint and has a well-preserved ampitheatre as well as other architectural structures left from Roman times. There is a statue of James Joyce who taught English in Pula before WWI. From Pula, one can take buses to other places of interest or guided tours are available from travel rep or the hotel desk.
On the whole, we feel we had good value for the off-season last-minute vacation. Except for the tobacco smoke, we have no other major complaints.
When the weather co-operated, we had some lovely walks through pine trees, holm oaks and bearberry trees, on paved paths that run along the shores and the marina.
Laura & Mel
Ontario, Canada

  • Liked — Setting
  • Disliked — Tobacco smoke gets in your eyes
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
230 helpful votes 230 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2008

Nicely set on rocky headland, with good bathing areas though area for sunbathing quite small. We stayed here off season though the dining room was full suggesting a high rate of occupation. Room very dark and tired, no aircon. Food in restaurant (and there was nowhere else close) very poor quality. Breakfast similarly poor.
Not recommended.

  • Stayed October 2007
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2007

I've just come back from a singles holiday in Croatia. This is my 6th such holiday so I have experienced various accommodations. Croatia is the most beautiful country. Still unspoiled by litter, graffiti and hoodies. Wonderful countryside, crystal clear seas, very friendly people and the best public loos I've come across aborad!

The hotel is large and fairly remote. You can take the bus into Pula or walk 4km but the nightlife, such as it was, is not on the doorstep. Nothing is organised at the hotel in the evening. The bulk of the guests are German, Russian, Austrian - not many Brits. The rooms are clean and have everything you need. On half board, the food is OK. Breakfast buffet is reasonable but the evening buffet meal is boring and barely luke warm. There is no atmosphere in the Dining Room or Bar. For lunch you can get a toastie in the cafe at the hotel, nothing more. You can walk along to the cafe in the nearby bay for a pizza. That's about it. Bottled water has to be hauled from the supermarket at the nearby Hotel Histria - which was closing for the summer in my second week and there was no water! I spent a lot on food, water and drinks.

The indoor sea water pool is a really good size but icy cold.

Overall I was disappointed and wouldn't recommend it but do go to Croatia.

  • Liked — Comfy bed, great pillows.
  • Disliked — Located at front of hotel and constantly woken up by returning guests.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2007

A 3* hotel in a 5* location. The hotel is sited on the Punta Verudela
peninsula approx 4 miles from Pula and shares facilities with a number of other hotels and apartments under the same ownership. When we were there in June the resort was quiet. Indeed there was only live entertainment on one night at the Punta Verudela apartments. We were informed that things would get much livlier in July and August.
The Hotel Brioni however is sited in a quiet area surrounded by woods and parkland. There is a beautiful walk around the headland.
Although the carpets appeared faded in parts, the grounds, public areas and bedrooms are kept immaculately clean by an invisible army of cleaners.

Staff are friendly and professional. We arrived at the hotel after the dining room had closed. A supper was delivered to our room within 10 minutes. Also on the last day the hotel allowed us to keep our room until 5pm free of charge.

Food - Breakfast - A good selection of breads, cereals, cheeses and cold meats. Hot food however was limited to boiled eggs, scrambled eggs and Frankfurters - no fried eggs, bacon etc. Fruit was already peeled and cut possibly to avoid guests removing oranges etc from dining room!
Dinner - Meats were cooked to perfection although possibly choices were limited. Although vegetables were self service the chefs insisted on serving hot meats.

  • Liked — Great Scenery
  • Disliked — Lack of evening entertainment
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Brioni Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brioni Hotel

Address: Verudela 16, Pula 52100, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Istria > Pula
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Pula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Brioni Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 222
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Brioni Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brioni Hotel Pula

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brioni Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.