We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday in August 2013...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Brioni Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Brioni Hotel to your Saves list
Brioni Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Verudela 16, Pula 52100, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 29 Hotels in Pula
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Holiday in August 2013...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I stayed at The Brioni Hotel for a week at the beginning of August.
Prior to booking, I looked over almost all of the Trip Advisor comments (!) to get an idea of the hotel's standards and was well aware that there was no air con in any rooms or reception.
However, nothing can quite prepare you for the 24/7 heat! it was relentless, especially at night. I had to stand in the supermarket just to cool down (one of the only places with air con!)

Aside from this one point, the hotel was fine. The evening food was delicious, with a selection of salads, bread rolls, cheese, meats, assorted pasta dishes to choose from, as well as hot food such as chicken, fish, curries, spagetti, roast dinners. There was also a selection of soft drinks, red/ white wine (which was actually surprising decent if you only had one glass, after that it tastes a bit like its burning!) and draft beer.

Its true that the beach consists of just rocks and concrete, but the sea is so refreshing and clear- you can see fish swin underneath your feet.
There are also a number of other hotels on the complex, and you can go to their "beaches" or pools if you're not a fan of the area surrounding Brioni Hotel.

There is a bus stop on the complex, and it takes about 10-15 mins to get into Pula town, depending on the traffic. There's also bike hire on site, which is a nice alternative to get around.

If you are not on a family holiday, I would recommend going out to Pula in the evening, as the hotel complex can be a bit family orientated.
The staff at hotel reception are helpful with planning and booking excursions, and there's quite a selection to choose from.

I booked this trip with teletext holidays, and was not expecting a 5 star luxury resort- as I didn't pay for that! What I got was (aside from air con) a functioning hotel, with friendly staff, nice food, and a place to crash at night so that I could explore Pula. Perfect!
This hotel is surrounded by beautiful scenery, and probably the one and only thing I would want to improve is the lack of air con.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arenaturist, Management at Brioni Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to write a review. We are happy to hear that you found the hotel functional, staff friendly and our food nice. Providing excellent customer service is our main priority and we are happy to hear that you notice our efforts. On a more negative note, we are sad to hear that the lack of the air conditioning made you feel uncomfortable during your stay. If you plan a return visit to our city, please do contact us at: booking@arenaturist.hr. Our team will be more than happy to assist you with your inquiries.
Looking forward to welcome you in the nearest future!

Kind Regards,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    51
    40
    17
    10
See reviews for
20
55
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arundel, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Is now somewhat dated. The staff are friendly and helpful, the rooms clean and food is tasty and filling. The hotel does need a total refurb tho. There is no air con,which in 30 degrees is drastically needed. The WiFi is only available in reception area and even that is weak. The hotel may have been you notch 30 years ago but today is somewhat dated and poor in comparrison to others. There is no beach here, there are only volcanic rocks into the sea. The Adriatic is calm and safe to swim in and there is a hotel water sports provision. A number of local cycled or walked in for the day to enjoy the sun and facilities so it can't be too bad

Room Tip: Some rooms overlook the sea and get the heat of the afternoon. If you want a cooler room at bedtime...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arenaturist, Management at Brioni Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your impressions about your recent stay with us. We are glad to hear that you found our staff friendly and helpful, the rooms clean and the food tasty and filling. On a more negative note, we are sorry to hear that you found our hotel dated and poor in comparison to other hotels. We hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you in Hotel Brioni or in any other hotel of our portfolio that would better suit your need.

Kind Regards,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We have read many reviews on trip advisor and have noticed many people tend to over react sometimes to minor things.

When we walked into our hotel room it was old, dirty stained furniture, door handles were rusty and not to mentioned that there was no aircon in the room which was immediately noticable. Especially when we checked in was slightly after midnight - We struggled to sleep as it was super hot and feet were hanging over a springy bed. also - the outdoor pool is not for adults but there is an indoor pool if you like to swim indoors in summer.

The buffet breakfast was average at best..

We are writing this less than 24 hours after we have checked in and off a computer in the reception which you must pay 20 kuna for 30 minute as there is wifi in the rooms either. wifi only avalable in the lobby.

Location is good if you want to miss out on all the historic and transportation as croatia is heavily geared to its bus transportation which is the best and cheapest way to get around. in saying that taxis are the only transportation around from this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arenaturist, Management at Brioni Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review even though your experience wasn't among the best ones. We are sad to hear that you were completely unsatisfied with the services and the overall hotel. All of your kind remarks will be taken in consideration and discuss within the management team. In regards to the local bus, please note that at the entrance of the resort (5 min walking distance from the hotel) there is a bus stop. It has several bus lines connecting the city centre and the Pula surroundings with the resort.
That being said, we send you our warmest regards and look forward to see you in the future for a hopefully more enjoyable stay!

Kind Regards,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

...understand that you could build a hotel and offer guests rooms without air conditioning. It can't be a surprise that it is well above 30 degrees C during the summer. We wherealso surprised buy the promise that the hotel was 
surrounded by beaches...These beaches was made out of concrete and not very pleasant.
As one former person mentioned, the furniture in the room, was very old fashioned and stained.The cleaning was, however, very good.
The outdoors pool is not swimable for an adult.

The most positive about the hotel was the friendly and service minded staff at the reception desk who always smiled and always answered your questions and queries. What was surprising though is that the exchange ( of money) service just worked one-way; you could change from Euro to Kuna, but not the other way around...

Will we go back? Definitely when there is AC and the refurbishing is completed.

Room Tip: Ask for a seaview or for a room facing the entrance. A "parkview", that stunds promising h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arenaturist, Management at Brioni Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay in Hotel Brioni, Pula. We are happy to hear that you found our staff friendly and service minded. On the other hand, we are sorry that the surroundings and internal decorations were not to your liking. Those being said, please note that we have in plan to provide AC to all the rooms in the nearest future.

We wish you all the best and look forward to see you anytime soon!

Kind Regards,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Opava, Czech Republic
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for 9 nights during our summer holiday. We booked family room with the seaside view and were pretty suprised with the large size of the apartment no.215. There were 2 large bedrooms, one of them with bar and fridge. Both rooms have their own balcony with the view on the sea. In the reconstructed bathroom we could find shower/tube in one, toilet and bidet. There was also enough furniture for our wardrobe. Cleaning service worked perfectly every single day. Breakfast and dinner were served in the large restaurant in buffet style with wide choice of food. Every day we could find a fish on the menu and different kind of continental and mediterranean cookery. There was also an outside open terrace where we could eat with the view on the sea. We were satisfied with the Brioni Beach connected to the hotel. That beach itself is made from concrete platforms between the rocks and stone steps with rails for the entry to the sea. Two minutes walk from the hotel is situated Ambrela Beach with small stones cover. There is also pool inside and outside the hotel. Beds around the outside pool are for free, on the beach you have to pay for them. We came for our holiday by car, which we could easily park close to the hotel. There is bus stop of the public transport 5 mintues walk from the hotel, and it takes around 10 minutes to reach Pula historical center with it. Although the Hotel Brioni was built in 1972, it still has its own soul. Someone could find it old fashioned, but the bathrooms, pools and sanitary came under reconstruction, hotel is really very comfortable and spacious. Personel and staff of the hotel were very polite and friendly. I think that the Hotel Brioni has the best location in Verudela than the other hotels and new built facilities. We were really happy with our summer holiday stay in the Hotel Brioni. The wonderful Adriatic Sea is the best in Croatia.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arenaturist, Manager at Brioni Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear guest,

What a delight to read your review! We are very satisfied to get to know you have thoroughly enjoyed our stay with us and especially the food and drinks offer, polite personnel, our hotel's location and our city and region in general. Your review will be among those who help us to keep on making efforts in order to satisfy our clients' needs even if this isn't always the easiest thing to do.

We're awaiting for your next visit and send best regards from Hotel Brioni until then!

The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

In a nutshell, the standard of accommodation, the quality of the food served at this Half Board Hotel and the efficiency of the staff were all extremely good. The Hotel Brioni deserves at least three or four stars! The Hotel is located about three miles of the historic port city of Pula and the Brioni is situated in a quiet wooded area, next to the sea. It would appear that the hotel was constructed in 1972 and gives the impression that the place has been transported back to the era of Tito's Yugoslavia. Having said that, it is part of the hotel's charm. Another excellent feature of the hotel was the Half Board food service. The food provided at evening meal time, was one of the best which I have experienced.The rooms are basic, but clean and comfortable. On occasions, I had trouble with the massive key in opening and shutting the room door.

On the negative side, at the Brioni there was no evening entertainment or late night bar available. The Verudella resort, generally speaking, has very little or no night time activities. All the bars and restaurants close at 11pm on the dot. Considering that dinner is served at 7pm, that only leaves two or three hours for drinking, socializing and partying. One or two nights, I spent having evenings out in Pula, which had abit of an atmosphere. What was unusual about my stay in Verudella, was the fact that none of the guests and tourists ever interacted with each other. Maybe, if there was a centre for entertainment in Verudella or a traditional tavern or even a disco, the visitors would become a little bit more sociable
On balance, I found the Croatian people helpful, polite and friendly. For instance, the Pula based Taxi Drivers never overcharged me and kept every above board. As I said, Verudella is a peaceful and relaxed resort, surrounded by nature. Verudella is divided in two, the older part which has forests (ie the Brioni Hotel; area) and the newer part, has trendy shops, apartments and cafes(.the Park Plaza Hotel area). Overall, a much needed relaxing holiday at the Brioni and my first trip to Croatia!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arenaturist, Manager at Brioni Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for having found the time to write a review about your stay at our Hotel Brioni. We are pleased to get to know our food offer, personnel and the location of our facility satisfied your needs as well as to hear the experience with local people was pleasant.
When it comes to evening entertainment we will use your critic as a basis to improve our service within that field and offer something better for our future guests.
We're looking forward to your next visit within one of our facilities in Pula.

Best regards
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Stayed here for several nights and it was fine. I had room 116 which is the closest room to the lobby. The noise from the lobby area is loud but I closed the inside door (not to be confused with the outside door) of my room and the noise was dampened adequately. The best thing about room 116 is that I had the internet in my room. I don't believe that is the case in any other room in the hotel. Hence, the noise in the lobby from all the people accessing their internet all over the lobby.

My room initially had 2 single beds and I wanted just 1 bed. The hotel was full so the maid (with approval from the front desk) pushed the two beds together for me and got a larger sheet and several blankets to make a large bed for me. Yes, the rooms are dated, but I like that kind of chic. Decorative bare lightbulbs in the wall and an intercom are as kitschy as they come.

The view of the sea is fantastic and the balcony was great. The shower I had was in a bathtub that required a huge step up to get into and the shower head would not stay up on the rod. The flimsy shower curtain was terrible. I felt completely cramped in the shower. The rest of the bathroom was fine.

The restaurant was fine. The buffet is crowded but the choices are good and the staff is very prompt in filling empty containers. We had a birthday party for a friend that is allergic to gluten and believe it or not, the chef found gluten free cake mix and icing and made a fabulous birthday cake with cream and fruits that was huge. The staff brought it out with fireworks in the cake and it was great, so cudos to the restaurant staff for rising to this unusual request.

I would prefer a hotel closer to Pula, but the Brioni is not that far from downtown. But it is not a walkable distance.

I had a massage in the salon and it was really just average. I don't believe the therapist is really trained in a real therapeutic massage. She rubbed my skin with oil but she didn't really get at my muscles. None of the showers in either the men's or the women's locker rooms worked, so I had to put my clothes back on my oily skin to get back to my room. The salon is very small and I wouldn't recommend using their massage services.

There is a small gift shop in the lobby area open from 8-11am.

Room Tip: Get a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arenaturist, Management at Brioni Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay. We are glad that you enjoyed our gastronomic offer, the balcony and the sea view from the room. On the other note, thank you for all of your kind remarks and suggestions.
We appreciate your feedback and can assure that our team members continually strive to make changes to improve the facilities we offer for our guest's comfort. It is nice of you to let us know how impress you were with the genuine care shown by our associates; they are our greatest asset and saviours when comes to guest satisfaction. We look forward to welcome you anytime soon in our Hotel!

Kind Regards,

Arenaturist Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brioni Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brioni Hotel

Address: Verudela 16, Pula 52100, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Istria > Pula
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 29 Hotels in Pula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Brioni Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 222
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Brioni Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brioni Hotel Pula

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brioni Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.