We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brioni Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Brioni Hotel

Save Saved
You added Brioni Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Brioni Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Verudela 16, Pula 52100, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 30 hotels in Pula
Arundel, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Brioni Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Is now somewhat dated. The staff are friendly and helpful, the rooms clean and food is tasty and filling. The hotel does need a total refurb tho. There is no air con,which in 30 degrees is drastically needed. The WiFi is only available in reception area and even that is weak. The hotel may have been you notch 30 years ago but today is somewhat dated and poor in comparrison to others. There is no beach here, there are only volcanic rocks into the sea. The Adriatic is calm and safe to swim in and there is a hotel water sports provision. A number of local cycled or walked in for the day to enjoy the sun and facilities so it can't be too bad

Room Tip: Some rooms overlook the sea and get the heat of the afternoon. If you want a cooler room at bedtime...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arenaturist, Management at Brioni Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your impressions about your recent stay with us. We are glad to hear that you found our staff friendly and helpful, the rooms clean and the food tasty and filling. On a more negative note, we are sorry to hear that you found our hotel dated and poor in comparison to other hotels. We hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you in Hotel Brioni or in any other hotel of our portfolio that would better suit your need.

Kind Regards,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    34
    34
    17
    6
See reviews for
14
34
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We have read many reviews on trip advisor and have noticed many people tend to over react sometimes to minor things.

When we walked into our hotel room it was old, dirty stained furniture, door handles were rusty and not to mentioned that there was no aircon in the room which was immediately noticable. Especially when we checked in was slightly after midnight - We struggled to sleep as it was super hot and feet were hanging over a springy bed. also - the outdoor pool is not for adults but there is an indoor pool if you like to swim indoors in summer.

The buffet breakfast was average at best..

We are writing this less than 24 hours after we have checked in and off a computer in the reception which you must pay 20 kuna for 30 minute as there is wifi in the rooms either. wifi only avalable in the lobby.

Location is good if you want to miss out on all the historic and transportation as croatia is heavily geared to its bus transportation which is the best and cheapest way to get around. in saying that taxis are the only transportation around from this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arenaturist, Management at Brioni Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review even though your experience wasn't among the best ones. We are sad to hear that you were completely unsatisfied with the services and the overall hotel. All of your kind remarks will be taken in consideration and discuss within the management team. In regards to the local bus, please note that at the entrance of the resort (5 min walking distance from the hotel) there is a bus stop. It has several bus lines connecting the city centre and the Pula surroundings with the resort.
That being said, we send you our warmest regards and look forward to see you in the future for a hopefully more enjoyable stay!

Kind Regards,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

...understand that you could build a hotel and offer guests rooms without air conditioning. It can't be a surprise that it is well above 30 degrees C during the summer. We wherealso surprised buy the promise that the hotel was 
surrounded by beaches...These beaches was made out of concrete and not very pleasant.
As one former person mentioned, the furniture in the room, was very old fashioned and stained.The cleaning was, however, very good.
The outdoors pool is not swimable for an adult.

The most positive about the hotel was the friendly and service minded staff at the reception desk who always smiled and always answered your questions and queries. What was surprising though is that the exchange ( of money) service just worked one-way; you could change from Euro to Kuna, but not the other way around...

Will we go back? Definitely when there is AC and the refurbishing is completed.

Room Tip: Ask for a seaview or for a room facing the entrance. A "parkview", that stunds promising h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arenaturist, Management at Brioni Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay in Hotel Brioni, Pula. We are happy to hear that you found our staff friendly and service minded. On the other hand, we are sorry that the surroundings and internal decorations were not to your liking. Those being said, please note that we have in plan to provide AC to all the rooms in the nearest future.

We wish you all the best and look forward to see you anytime soon!

Kind Regards,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Opava, Czech Republic
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for 9 nights during our summer holiday. We booked family room with the seaside view and were pretty suprised with the large size of the apartment no.215. There were 2 large bedrooms, one of them with bar and fridge. Both rooms have their own balcony with the view on the sea. In the reconstructed bathroom we could find shower/tube in one, toilet and bidet. There was also enough furniture for our wardrobe. Cleaning service worked perfectly every single day. Breakfast and dinner were served in the large restaurant in buffet style with wide choice of food. Every day we could find a fish on the menu and different kind of continental and mediterranean cookery. There was also an outside open terrace where we could eat with the view on the sea. We were satisfied with the Brioni Beach connected to the hotel. That beach itself is made from concrete platforms between the rocks and stone steps with rails for the entry to the sea. Two minutes walk from the hotel is situated Ambrela Beach with small stones cover. There is also pool inside and outside the hotel. Beds around the outside pool are for free, on the beach you have to pay for them. We came for our holiday by car, which we could easily park close to the hotel. There is bus stop of the public transport 5 mintues walk from the hotel, and it takes around 10 minutes to reach Pula historical center with it. Although the Hotel Brioni was built in 1972, it still has its own soul. Someone could find it old fashioned, but the bathrooms, pools and sanitary came under reconstruction, hotel is really very comfortable and spacious. Personel and staff of the hotel were very polite and friendly. I think that the Hotel Brioni has the best location in Verudela than the other hotels and new built facilities. We were really happy with our summer holiday stay in the Hotel Brioni. The wonderful Adriatic Sea is the best in Croatia.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arenaturist, Manager at Brioni Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear guest,

What a delight to read your review! We are very satisfied to get to know you have thoroughly enjoyed our stay with us and especially the food and drinks offer, polite personnel, our hotel's location and our city and region in general. Your review will be among those who help us to keep on making efforts in order to satisfy our clients' needs even if this isn't always the easiest thing to do.

We're awaiting for your next visit and send best regards from Hotel Brioni until then!

The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

In a nutshell, the standard of accommodation, the quality of the food served at this Half Board Hotel and the efficiency of the staff were all extremely good. The Hotel Brioni deserves at least three or four stars! The Hotel is located about three miles of the historic port city of Pula and the Brioni is situated in a quiet wooded area, next to the sea. It would appear that the hotel was constructed in 1972 and gives the impression that the place has been transported back to the era of Tito's Yugoslavia. Having said that, it is part of the hotel's charm. Another excellent feature of the hotel was the Half Board food service. The food provided at evening meal time, was one of the best which I have experienced.The rooms are basic, but clean and comfortable. On occasions, I had trouble with the massive key in opening and shutting the room door.

On the negative side, at the Brioni there was no evening entertainment or late night bar available. The Verudella resort, generally speaking, has very little or no night time activities. All the bars and restaurants close at 11pm on the dot. Considering that dinner is served at 7pm, that only leaves two or three hours for drinking, socializing and partying. One or two nights, I spent having evenings out in Pula, which had abit of an atmosphere. What was unusual about my stay in Verudella, was the fact that none of the guests and tourists ever interacted with each other. Maybe, if there was a centre for entertainment in Verudella or a traditional tavern or even a disco, the visitors would become a little bit more sociable
On balance, I found the Croatian people helpful, polite and friendly. For instance, the Pula based Taxi Drivers never overcharged me and kept every above board. As I said, Verudella is a peaceful and relaxed resort, surrounded by nature. Verudella is divided in two, the older part which has forests (ie the Brioni Hotel; area) and the newer part, has trendy shops, apartments and cafes(.the Park Plaza Hotel area). Overall, a much needed relaxing holiday at the Brioni and my first trip to Croatia!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arenaturist, Manager at Brioni Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for having found the time to write a review about your stay at our Hotel Brioni. We are pleased to get to know our food offer, personnel and the location of our facility satisfied your needs as well as to hear the experience with local people was pleasant.
When it comes to evening entertainment we will use your critic as a basis to improve our service within that field and offer something better for our future guests.
We're looking forward to your next visit within one of our facilities in Pula.

Best regards
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Stayed here for several nights and it was fine. I had room 116 which is the closest room to the lobby. The noise from the lobby area is loud but I closed the inside door (not to be confused with the outside door) of my room and the noise was dampened adequately. The best thing about room 116 is that I had the internet in my room. I don't believe that is the case in any other room in the hotel. Hence, the noise in the lobby from all the people accessing their internet all over the lobby.

My room initially had 2 single beds and I wanted just 1 bed. The hotel was full so the maid (with approval from the front desk) pushed the two beds together for me and got a larger sheet and several blankets to make a large bed for me. Yes, the rooms are dated, but I like that kind of chic. Decorative bare lightbulbs in the wall and an intercom are as kitschy as they come.

The view of the sea is fantastic and the balcony was great. The shower I had was in a bathtub that required a huge step up to get into and the shower head would not stay up on the rod. The flimsy shower curtain was terrible. I felt completely cramped in the shower. The rest of the bathroom was fine.

The restaurant was fine. The buffet is crowded but the choices are good and the staff is very prompt in filling empty containers. We had a birthday party for a friend that is allergic to gluten and believe it or not, the chef found gluten free cake mix and icing and made a fabulous birthday cake with cream and fruits that was huge. The staff brought it out with fireworks in the cake and it was great, so cudos to the restaurant staff for rising to this unusual request.

I would prefer a hotel closer to Pula, but the Brioni is not that far from downtown. But it is not a walkable distance.

I had a massage in the salon and it was really just average. I don't believe the therapist is really trained in a real therapeutic massage. She rubbed my skin with oil but she didn't really get at my muscles. None of the showers in either the men's or the women's locker rooms worked, so I had to put my clothes back on my oily skin to get back to my room. The salon is very small and I wouldn't recommend using their massage services.

There is a small gift shop in the lobby area open from 8-11am.

Room Tip: Get a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arenaturist, Management at Brioni Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay. We are glad that you enjoyed our gastronomic offer, the balcony and the sea view from the room. On the other note, thank you for all of your kind remarks and suggestions.
We appreciate your feedback and can assure that our team members continually strive to make changes to improve the facilities we offer for our guest's comfort. It is nice of you to let us know how impress you were with the genuine care shown by our associates; they are our greatest asset and saviours when comes to guest satisfaction. We look forward to welcome you anytime soon in our Hotel!

Kind Regards,

Arenaturist Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I'll take example on another review and start with the positive points: the pool and access to the beach from this hotel were great! Unfortunately as we were there for 2 of the worst day of weather in September it really was of no use to us! This being said, it did seem beautiful. The other thing I can mention is that despite all the flaws with the room, it was clean, I must say.
Now for the rest, the first thing that threw us off is that when we checked in we were asked to leave our passports for check-in. What was not clear to us at the time, is that our passports were going to be held as leverage to ensure we would pay for our stay! In all our travels, we had never seen this!!! The person assured us that this was a common practice in Croatia. Just as a side note, it is the only hotel during our 14 day stay that asked us to do this. In order to retrieve our passports we had to pay upfront for the room, which we did. Then there was the room... Our reservation stated we were only 2 but we were placed in a room with 3 beds, which means our already small room, was made considerable smaller! The room smelled musty upon our arrival. As I mentioned, it was clean, it just smelled musty and old. I can live with old decor and antiquated surroundings, but the smell killed me! We luckily only stayed two nights. We made sure we spent as little time in the room as possible and that pretty much helped us enjoy our stay in Pula.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arenaturist, Manager at Brioni Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Nadesa80,
Thank you for taking the time to write your opinion of the Hotel Brioni on Tripadvisor. We are very sorry to hear that your stay with us did not meet your expectations.
Please, let us kindly inform you that leaving the passports at the reception on your arrival it is indeed common procedure in Croatian hotels.
We hope you will give us and the city of Pula another opportunity to serve you, in Hotel Brioni or in any other hotel from the Arenaturist portfolio that would better suit your needs.
Kind regards,
The Arenaturist management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Brioni Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brioni Hotel

Address: Verudela 16, Pula 52100, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Istria > Pula
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 30 hotels in Pula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Brioni Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Brioni Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brioni Hotel Pula

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brioni Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.