We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Istrian” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Konoba Kazun

Konoba Kazun
Vitasoviceva 2, Pula 52100, Croatia
052 22 184
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 79 restaurants in Pula
Cuisines: Croatian
Restaurant details
Malmo, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Istrian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Rustic place in dull setting. Not the place to go for the view, but for the skillful but simplistic kitchen.

Sampled a few dishes, standouts were:

– Truffle carpaccio with tons of finely sliced, very fresh black truffle on top of meat that, alas, was too cold. It was our first dish so we didn't have the patience to wait for it to come up to temperature. Delicious none the less, and plenty of truffle for the money (no truffle oil).

– Worm-shaped pasta with wild asparagus. This was so good it almost made us cry. Perfectly al dente pasta with elegantly understated asparagus and olive oil "sauce". Sensational.

Other dishes were perfectly fine, ravioli with beef ragu and simple grilled veal are the ones I remember. Braised beef ribs were plain and one-dimensional in flavor.

The house merlot was cheap and tasted cheap, but the cabernet suggested by the staff was outstanding for the price.

All in all a very pleasant experience with a few truly superlative elements.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    14
    18
    2
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great place in Pula!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

I've been here many times and the waiters, the food and the atmosphere is fantastic! It really is my favourite place to go in Pula.

The staff are also great, always going out of the way to help. I completely disagree with the previous comment since fundamentally they run a good business and getting a white glass instead of red and then giving them a terrible score sounds very harsh :)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porec, Croatia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Waitress with short hair dont know the job.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Food is nice and good.

But problems start whan u decide to drink some good wine...
She did not know how expensive wine properly present, open, use (serve) ... and whan i make coment for glass (she give me glass for white wine and I drink red) total disaster and nervousness !!!
Never again go back there!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“VERY local place, don't come here for atmosphere, but meat.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

My wife and I visited this place following a recommendation we got from Pula Plus, a tourist info service in Pula downtown. We actually were craving some meat and got referred to this place. The atmosphere in this restaurant is very basic, the ambiance as well. The guests are almost exclusively locals. But this is a very good eatery. We had some Istrian hard cheese and some squid salad to start with. We continued with local cattle breed sauce over "fuzhi" a local pasta made in this restaurant. Finally, we finished with the main course of beef tournedos with prosciutto in button mushroom and wild asparagus sauce. The sauce was amazing as it blended bitter tastes of wild asparagus and mild flavors of mushrooms. We would come here again, but not for the atmosphere or chitchatting, but for a serious meal.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin Ireland
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Not for us ....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012 via mobile

Kazan was one of four restaurants we ate in while staying in the Pula area ... We will not be returning to Kazun. The restaurant is on the edge of a busy dual carriageway, with a power line running in front of it - there is a builders merchant across the road, so if it's ambience you are looking for, Kazun is not the place to go to. We found the staff abrupt and not particularly interested - we thought that as visitors rather than regulars / locals we we getting less attention / service than others in the restaurant. We were not too impressed with the food - Kazun serves traditional Croatian fare we did not expect anything else but we expected better - and better is possible as we found in alla Beccaccia, the following night. A similar basic menu, but more included; much better, ingredients, preparation and presentation; better staff and a better ambience. Kazun was not one we will be going back to.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Konoba Kazun also viewed

 

Been to Konoba Kazun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Konoba Kazun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.