We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place in Pula!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Konoba Kazun

Konoba Kazun
Vitasoviceva 2, Pula 52100, Croatia
052 22 184
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 85 Restaurants in Pula
Cuisines: Croatian
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great place in Pula!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

I've been here many times and the waiters, the food and the atmosphere is fantastic! It really is my favourite place to go in Pula.

The staff are also great, always going out of the way to help. I completely disagree with the previous comment since fundamentally they run a good business and getting a white glass instead of red and then giving them a terrible score sounds very harsh :)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    23
    3
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Porec, Croatia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Waitress with short hair dont know the job.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Food is nice and good.

But problems start whan u decide to drink some good wine...
She did not know how expensive wine properly present, open, use (serve) ... and whan i make coment for glass (she give me glass for white wine and I drink red) total disaster and nervousness !!!
Never again go back there!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“VERY local place, don't come here for atmosphere, but meat.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

My wife and I visited this place following a recommendation we got from Pula Plus, a tourist info service in Pula downtown. We actually were craving some meat and got referred to this place. The atmosphere in this restaurant is very basic, the ambiance as well. The guests are almost exclusively locals. But this is a very good eatery. We had some Istrian hard cheese and some squid salad to start with. We continued with local cattle breed sauce over "fuzhi" a local pasta made in this restaurant. Finally, we finished with the main course of beef tournedos with prosciutto in button mushroom and wild asparagus sauce. The sauce was amazing as it blended bitter tastes of wild asparagus and mild flavors of mushrooms. We would come here again, but not for the atmosphere or chitchatting, but for a serious meal.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin Ireland
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Not for us ....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012 via mobile

Kazan was one of four restaurants we ate in while staying in the Pula area ... We will not be returning to Kazun. The restaurant is on the edge of a busy dual carriageway, with a power line running in front of it - there is a builders merchant across the road, so if it's ambience you are looking for, Kazun is not the place to go to. We found the staff abrupt and not particularly interested - we thought that as visitors rather than regulars / locals we we getting less attention / service than others in the restaurant. We were not too impressed with the food - Kazun serves traditional Croatian fare we did not expect anything else but we expected better - and better is possible as we found in alla Beccaccia, the following night. A similar basic menu, but more included; much better, ingredients, preparation and presentation; better staff and a better ambience. Kazun was not one we will be going back to.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Excellent introduction to Croatian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

This was a thoroughly enjoyable dining experience - authentic ambiance, delicious food and enjoyable wine with outstanding attentive service from our waiter. Being Australian - we don't tip but this gentleman made such a difference to our evening - that we did!

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Konoba Kazun also viewed

 

Been to Konoba Kazun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Konoba Kazun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.