We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden pearl in Pula” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bistro Americano

Bistro Americano
Kapitolinski Trg 7, Pula 52100, Croatia
+385 4320585
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 83 Restaurants in Pula
Cuisines: Albanian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night, Street Food
Description: Closed
San Mateo, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A hidden pearl in Pula”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Bistro Americano is a small restaurant hidden behind the temple of Augustus at the old town square “Forum” in the ancient city of Pula. You might have to look for it but I guarantee it is worth the effort. The menu is different form all the restaurants in the neighborhood and the name is daring, far from the first association to burgers and fast food even though gourmet versions of burgers are on the menu as well as quesadillas.
Mladen, the chef, is doing a fantastic job, creativity and excellence in cooking is an understatement.
The service is very friendly and the outdoor seating in the back is very nice.
Look for it and find it, you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    6
    0
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious and not expensive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

The atmosphere of this bistro is very nice. The service and staff are so kind that you feel yoursef in a family atmosphere. We like here so much so we have been there 3 times in 4 days. Each time we were pleasant with our dish. The price is also reasonable.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

As recommended by the seller of the boutiques we visited the newly opened restaurant Bistro Americano in Pula, Croatia. The remarks about the unfinished interior completely ignored because of the wonderful food and drink. We ate sea bass on grill (13 euros ) and grilled calamari topped with garlic oil (9 e), and rolled pork filled with bacon and prunes with cheese potatoes (9e). In a word, beautiful. I highly recommend all visitors to stop and refresh at this restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Pricey?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

I say pricey because the night before we ate at Jupiter which was less than half. We had 3 main courses, 1 starter 4 cokes and 2 beers and the total was 53 EUR which I guess is not a bad price. We went in search of this restaurant and when we got there were looking at the menu outside on the terrace and a lady approached us (for lack of a better term a "tout" to convince to go inside. This normally makes me cringe and I will not go to places where this happens however we had already planned to eat there and to be honest she was very friendly and please which really set the tone. We got there about 2030 which is a bit early and there were still a fair few empty seats on the terrace so we sat outside. The service was good and it did not take long for our food to arrive. It was just fine nothing special and when the bill came, as I said, I was a bit surprised. The next night we ate 100 m away and it was less than 200 kn as well.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great location, poor billboard.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Went here as a group after searching through some online recommendations. This place came up average and we can see why - great location but the frontage and the menu billboard does not do the food justice. Please change it! The staff were very accommodating and the service was a bit slow but the food was delicious and plentiful - not as pictured on the board! Recommend a carafe of sangria to get things going along and the ravioli was devine. We had a good time here and had a laugh at the faux Greek staff and their costumes at the place next door. Give it a go if youre not in a hurry.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Americano also viewed

 
Pula, Istria
 

Been to Bistro Americano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bistro Americano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.