We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, location and price. Avoid the other tourist traps!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Orfej

Orfej
Kandlerova Ulica | corner of Uspon Konzula Istranina, Pula, Croatia
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 81 restaurants in Pula
Cuisines: Croatian
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great food, location and price. Avoid the other tourist traps!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We hunted this place down after being in fear of the "pictures of food" restraunts which all looked a bit sub-par and we're very glad we did. We ate here twice mostly due to the location and price.

We had Pizza and a Mixed grill the first time, both of which were about 40 Kuna, and beer was about 15 kuna. The second time we had seafood spaghetti and grilled calamari with rice. Both times the total bill for meal and drinks was around 110 kuna.

Service was very friendly both times and very quick. The location was great as we passed by a few times so worth while hunting down in place of the other touristy restaurants! The menu is good and varied too.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

69% Recommend
    21
    23
    14
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pforzheim, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Attractive prices, welcoming staff and good meals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

This restaurant, located closed by the Forum, is a very nice place to have a lunch or dinner. The terrace offers a view on the walking street. The staff was very nice and it is a good value for money. The waitress is speaking couple of languages included French, German, Italian and English.

Mathilde & Julien
From France

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Had lunch here and it was very good. The service was excellent and the staff were very polite, also it was very good value for money.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Excellent food, service and location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We ate lunch here yesterday and were very impressed. The prices here are great compared to some of the other ropey. tourist restaurants in the area, but Orfej is excellent and I would definitely eat here again. The ingredients used were very fresh and delicious. My husband ate a pizza, made with fresh tomatoes and prosciutto underneath - fabulous. I ate calamari with rice (amazing rice!) and the calamari was SO fresh and tasty. We were both so impressed! The service here was fantastic; the staff are so friendly and helpful. There is an outside terrace on the street (where we sat), but if the weather was not so kind, the inside of the restaurant is very cosy and has a lot of character. You should certainly eat here when in Pula.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheery”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Small local restaurant with large outdoor terrace just off the main Forum square in Pula. Decent traditional dishes at very reasonable prices.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orfej also viewed

 

Been to Orfej? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orfej, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.