We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, worth a return visit” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Yacht Club

Yacht Club
Verudela 17, Pula, Croatia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 89 Restaurants in Pula
Cuisines: Croatian
Restaurant details
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Good food, worth a return visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

The Yacht Club is on the sea-front as part of the Park Plaza hotel resorts at Verudella, Pula. As such, it is a welcome break from eating in either of the two Park Plaza hotels, with stunning views over an inlet off the Adriatic which leads into the major marina for Pula itself. The service is good, the ambiance is determined by the setting and whoever you are with.

The menu is reasonably diverse and suitable for a romantic occasion or a simple family meal. We ate at the Yacht Club 3 times in two weeks, starting each meal with a massive shared plate of fresh calamari, a great start to what were always good meals.

If you are a Club Carlson member, remember to show your card to get your discount.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    4
    7
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great food brilliant views.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We went there last night for a quick bit to eat recommended by our hotel park plaza because theirs where closed. Right in th water the staff very friendly and helpful food was amazing an huge serving prices avg to expensive. Would visit again in pula.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

A nice romantic setting for a meal. Loved it because although quite informal, setting and service was great.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good food, Great view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stopped off here after wandering around the Verudela area and rocky beaches. It was nicely tucked away and not too busy, which made us a bit worried at first but once we sat down it was very pleasant and offered a much nicer view than the other bars and restaurants around - a short walk from the main complex which had a couple of restaurants which overlooked the hotel area. Well worth the 5 minute walk!

There's little hint from the front of what it is or of pricing which is a bit annoying, we were a bit nervous of heading in in case it was too pricey but it turns out the meals are well priced with a good variety. On the day we went there wasn't much availability - there were no pizzas which seemed a bit odd when that was a good chunk of the menu but it didn't affect us that much and there was still plenty to choose from.

We had a lovely Gnocchi dish which was well proportioned and arrived swiftly. From memory the dish was around 60 kuna - a bit more than our usual meal but by no means expensive. Beer was around 25 kuna - again a little but more expensive than some restaurants in the town but well worth it for the view!

Staff were friendly and spoke very good English, though service was nothing to write home about. The restaurant does have quite subtle, well placed beds and diving areas so you don't have to watch people tan/go for a swim while eating which was a nice change from some other sea front bars in the area.

The only perplexing thing was the cutlery that arrived in a paper bag! Very odd, if a nice touch.

All in all a great place to grab lunch or watch the sun go down. The only draw back is that the whole area feels a bit 'fake' and too obviously like a holiday resort. We went in late June before peak season hit and it was a bit quiet, so it may feel more alive later in the year.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graz, Austria
Top Contributor
268 reviews 268 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 111 cities Reviews in 111 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Great views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

We came here a few times during our visit last year. Will definetly visit again on this trip.
To note, food is of good standard, the views are great of the harbour,
The service is somewhat lacking and slow however they are not rude. The cost is relatively high but overall it's worthwhile to visit.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yacht Club also viewed

 

Been to Yacht Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yacht Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.