We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Valsabbion” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Valsabbion

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Valsabbion to your Saves list
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Pula
East Midlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Hotel Valsabbion”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

NOTE THAT IN CROATIA THEY USE KORUNA NOT EUROS.


Was good trip, but no point in returning for me as this was a visit to assess Pula's suitability for groups.


Boutique B&B Hotel:

Pros:
attentive and friendly staff
(Ask hotel to organise transfer from airport. Big Edi will charge for 190.00 Koruna)
spacious premium bedrooms,
comfortable beds
good quality and comfortable furnishings,
Good standard of decor,
great sea views from the premium rooms
good location next to the beach
Free wifi
Lots of little dishes available for breakfast, but if
hotel was busy this would be rubbish as easily exhausted.
Nice touches, such as blankets for cold evenings
Seating area close to the beach.
Very easy access to beach and very clean sea.
Good choice for couples wanting a little romantic hideaway.

Cons:

THE RESTAURANT IS CLOSED! THIS IS A PAIN as off season local choices are limited.

Active building site to rear of hotel, admittedly not too noisy when I was there.

Hotel is quite far out of Pula. Taxi or 40-50 min walk to get in.
Walked the route through residential area of Pula. Was quite easy if not
very scenic as area is run down.

Std size normal bedrooms have quite poor light
Small/tiny bathrooms
No tea/coffee in bedrooms
No price list for mini-bar

Only scrambled, boiled or omelette available as the cooked breakfast option.
so no fabulous tasty sausages!

There is no lift at this hotel for anyone who struggles with stairs.


Some good historical sites in Pula and it is still a working harbour. So suitable for both beach and active holidays. Hotel Valsabbion is NOT in Pula but some distance away.

Restaurant options seemed a bit limited in Pula and definitedly poor choice where the hotel is located. Tried the LANTERN restaurant recommended by the hotel and felt this was a poor choice. In my view the relaxed restaurant available in the local marina (Out of hotel turn right and down into the marina, keep walking as restaurant is 10 mins on the right), was great. The staff spoke English, the range of food was excellent, fish platter was very fresh and substantial, and they even had live music on Friday night!

Also had drinks and tasty snacks at the Cafe Caramba, Mexican and out of the way, but didn't have time to visit for dinner.

Room Tip: Ask for a premium room on the top floor with sea view and balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    17
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
15
49
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I have again visited small luxury hotel Valsabbion in Pješčana uvala near Pula, big news is that they have two more facilities-studion OM in Medulin and Villa Munz in the center of Pula, near ancient Arena. Studio is great for two people stay (my friends went there) and Villa is awesome in this part of the year, when is not too hot...It is a big place for 4 people-two bedrooms, great living room. I checked everything since I am planning to go back there. Maybe with some friend or relatives.
Hotel is still great as it was, breakfast is maybe even better-they always serve something new and fresh. I hate boring breakfast, and this one is delicious, ofcoure still with home made bread.
Rooms are celan and comfortable and stuff very nice. Medical Spa has some new treatmants. All together it is also great value for money.

Room Tip: Depends on what you like every room is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

A last minute decision to stay here the night before we flew home was an excellent one !!
We arrived by car, parked up and were soon settled in the outside chill out zone with a bottle of wine. Check in was effortless and a pleasure, offered a sea view room at a little extra, made the stay special. We took a cab into Pula and loved the ampitheatre, phoned the hotel to ask for dinner recomendation, they emailed details and we took a cab to where they said and it was excellent....good help from them. The hotel is very stylish and a has a very high spec and standard. All the staff were so friendly, helpful and professional. The breakfast was beautiful, all in all a very good experience and ended our beautiful week in Croatia on a massive high !!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Arriving in Pula from the Venice ferry, a couple of relaxing days were in order before a Croatian road trip. The Valsabbion was perfect.
Though a little out of the way, the bay in front of the hotel was perfect to relax for a day. Don't be surprised though: even as a hotel guest, you will be charged for the use of parasols on the private part of the beach. If you intend on swimming, bring swimming shoes or flip flops as the beach is very rocky.
The room was perfect. The bed very comfortable, and enough space for two people to move about without stepping on each others' toes. Daily breakfast was also very good.
Go to the rooftop pool for unwinding at the end of a long day. you'll have spectacular vies of the bay.
Check your bill on the way though. We had three bottles of wine we had not drank on our bill.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Last week I had a marvelous vacation at the design hotel Valsabbion in Pula. I can say only BRAVO! The staff iz great, kind, polite, always ready to help. Breakfast is great because everything is fresh and home made, especially I liked bread and beagles. My wife was very happy with cakes they serve for breakfast. Rooms are special, very clean and cosy. Few steps under hotel is beautiful sandy becah, fully equiped and specialli reserved for hotel guest. I felt great and I will come back again very soon.

Room Tip: All rooms are great but I reccomend sea view room, very ronatic sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, Utrecht, Netherlands
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We had a lovely stay. The rooms are very nice decorated as well as the entrance to the rooms. Beach is in front of the hotel and its a great spot overlooking the bay. It's not a sand beach, So you should were shoes. To the old city of Pula it was a 10 min drive.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Walton Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

My husband and I went to get away from it all. This was the spot. We went in May just before the crowds and it was wonderful. The staff was more than helpful. They arranged airport pick up and any taxi we needed. They arranged for us to see the island. When we had to leave early to catch our flight, they packed us a lunch to go. Our room was beautiful over looking the beach and water. It was very homey with beatiful furniture. Would love to go back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Valsabbion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Valsabbion

Address: Pjescana uvala IX 26, Pula 52100 , Croatia
Location: Croatia > Istria > Pula
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Pula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Valsabbion... Like you - Unique! Boutique hotel with the most famous restaurant in Croatia. On the top floor is a swimming pool with a beautiful sea view and medical SPA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Valsabbion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valsabbion Hotel Pula

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Valsabbion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.