We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close location to the Amphitheater” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riviera

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riviera to your Saves list
Hotel Riviera
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Splitska 1, Pula 52000, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 30 Hotels in Pula
Bucharest, Romania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Close location to the Amphitheater”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2015

The location is very good, close to the bus station (5 min) and Amphitheater (2 min). The decoration of the room is a little old and dated and the furniture also, but the building, in the Austro-Hungarian imperial style is very impressive. The hotel seems to be a former exclusive hotel. The selection of TV channels was quite poor (5-6 channels). The breakfast was good.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arena T, Management at Hotel Riviera, responded to this review, March 10, 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the location of our hotel as well as the breakfast selection and the overall building style. If your future plans bring you back to Pula, we would be happy to host you again!

Kind Regards,
Arenaturist Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    23
    26
    19
    30
See reviews for
10
52
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

A blast from the pre-Tito past. We were told this has always been a hotel, since it was constructed in the 1910's. The bathroom was updated but the room was as old as the hills, though it was clean. Wifi was only on the restaurant floor, not in the room. The TV had no English stations. But the breakfast buffet was fine, close parking was available, and the desk people were helpful.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arena T, Management at Hotel Riviera, responded to this review, November 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your impression on TripAdvisor! We are pleased to know that you found our breakfast buffet fine, the bathroom clean and our desk staff helpful. It would be a great pleasure to welcome you soon in our guest house Riviera!

Kind Regards,
Arenaturist Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014

We travelled early in the morning to get to Pula. Found the hotel easy enough and was excited about staying in Pula and exploring. Arrived at 1.30pm to be told our room not ready until 2pm. Not a problem, we go for lunch. Afterwards we came back shattered at about 2.30pm to be told that our room had an issue and that we wouldn't be able to access it till 6 or 7pm. We had hoped for a sleep before seeing the sights but ended up dozing in reception until 6pm when our room was ready. After dinner we went straight to sleep. Although we asked for twin room we were given double as well. Too tired to argue. We did get a drink on the hotel and 10% off our bill but it ruined our last day.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arena T, Management at Hotel Riviera, responded to this review, November 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your impressions on TripAdvisor. We are really disappointed to hear that your stay in our hotel wasn't satisfying and that your last day was ruined. In case of dissatisfaction, we always invite our guests to speak with our receptionists who will help them to solve any issue or in some cases, arrange a more suitable accommodation. As the free drinks and discount weren’t enough to make it up for the inconvenience experienced, we invite you to contact us directly for your future stays!

Kind Regards,
Arenaturist Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014 via mobile

We knew this was a budget hotel so no surprises. It could be magnificent!!! COULD BE. But sadly it isn't. Staff were friendly enough but the rooms almost make you want to cry. Sooooo old n outdated. No aircon which wouldn't be a problem if you could open the windows without being infested with mosquitoes.
The towels in the bathroom were torn n shredded down the sides and looked about 10yrs old. The shower curtain had mould on bottom.
We booked a double but got a twin. Could not be bothered trying to sort this. Wifi only works in lobby. IF it works in lobby.
We only needed a one night stay to catch ferry to Venice so it served a purpose but would never go back.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arena T, Management at Hotel Riviera, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We are sad to hear that our guest house Riviera didn't meet your expectations.
Your comments will be shared with related departments and actions will be taken where needed. We always invite our guests if they are not satisfied with the hotel to speak with our receptionists who will help them to solve any issue or in some cases, arrange a more suitable accommodation. Our company Arenaturist has a large portfolio of proprieties and therefore we invite you to visit our website and check if any other hotel would better suit your needs for future travels.

Kind Regards,
Arenaturist Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Felt almost like we'd walked into hotel grand Budapest. You can almost sense the ghosts of a hundred years ago dining in opulence on the fabulous terrace. A lack of investment means that this hotel hints at a magnificent past. However, rooms clean and comfortable, breakfast very enjoyable and a late visit to the Caffè bar for kids hot chocolate prompted enthusiastic comments. Location is fantastic. Architecture amazing. Just could do with a bit of money spending on it.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arena T, Management at Hotel Riviera, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your words of appreciation and choosing our hotel for your stay in Croatia. We are pleased to know that you found our room clean and comfortable, breakfast enjoyable and location fantastic; that are amazing compliments – thanks for sharing!
We look forward to your next visit to our fine city!

Kind Regards,
Arenaturist Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

This hotel really is a gem, it's located right next to the amphitheater which leads to the main shopping streets into centre with all the ruins. So no taxi needed !
The rooms are large and clean and the hotel is very grand (yellow outside peers over the city) and has a superb feel of history. It is old fashioned and is the oldest hotel in pula but that makes the experience so nice it's large staircases give a grand feel as though you are stepping back in time. As Pula is such a beautiful historical city this hotel gives a great feel to the experience.
It is overlooking the marina so if you fancy a boat tour of the Brijuni Islands this is excellently located as well as the roman ruins which I walked around from the hotel and saw all 16 in one day !
I have only one point to make- no air con but the windows are huge and let cool night air in as well as mozzy's so take insect repellent !!!
The customer service is lovely - the manager was so helpful, reception have maps of pula for you to help yourself to and lots of other information. Anything needed they are willing to help. They even let me use their printer and email to print boarding passes on my last day.
The hotel is walking distance to the lovely restaurants and awesome amphitheatre which looks amazing day and night and my eyes never tire from looking into it.

Breakfast is what you would expect everywhere else and is good value for money, also on a lovely terrace, great refreshing start to the day.

Try this place out it's a gem, no air con but it was worth it !

Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arena T, Management at Hotel Riviera, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your lovely review! We are really happy to hear that you found our customer service lovely and that they help you with anything needed. One of the main assets of the hotel it's the location – perfect for all the travellers looking for a central position in a residential area. We wish you all the best and look forward to host you in the nearest future!

Arenaturist Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolvey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

This hotel is excellently located very close to the port and the amphitheatre, and only a short walk to the main town area. Although some of the rooms appeared quite spacious we were unfortunately booked into one of the smaller rooms where there was barely enough room to even walk around the bed. The rooms have no air conditioning and this is unbearable during the heat of the summer. A fan was provided but this only circulated the hot, humid air making it very difficult to sleep. Unfortunately, leaving the window open on the first night resulted in being eaten alive by mosquitos. The hotel did provide a plug in mosquito killer but this did little to deter them.
The staff were very pleasant and the breakfast was good with some hot food and a wide variety of meats, cheese, bread, fruit, cereal. An added bonus was the availability of a small fridge in the room. Wifi is available but only in the public areas on the ground and 1st floors.
Overall, a very grand hotel that has a lot to offer but there needs to be a better solution to the lack of air conditioning and high population of mosquitos. It would also be advantageous to have a more regular change of bed linen / towels.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms facing the port (these are larger)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arena T, Management at Hotel Riviera, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us. It is with great joy that we read that you found our staff very pleasant, our gastronomic offer good and location excellent. As you know we are trying to solve the mosquito issue and unfortunately in some periods we are unsuccessful in that. We hope that once the hotel will be renovated this with other remarks will be solved!
We hope to have the possibility to host you on your future trips to Croatia!

Kind Regards,
Arenaturist Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riviera

Address: Splitska 1, Pula 52000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Istria > Pula
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 30 Hotels in Pula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Riviera 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel Pula

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riviera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.