We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another example of bad hotel management in Croatia” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riviera

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riviera to your Saves list
Hotel Riviera
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Splitska 1, Pula 52000, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 30 Hotels in Pula
Bruxelles
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Another example of bad hotel management in Croatia”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

I'm struggling to come up with at least one positive thing about this hotel... The building hosting this hotel is beautiful. It dates back to 1906 and was erected of course by Austrians. It is an art-nouveau bilding with amazing façades and spacious rooms. But it is so neglected! Rooms are totally worn out and need an immediate overhaul. There's plenty of insects and bugs that can really bother you at night. I can't remember being so much stung by so many bugs at night. It was very disturbing. In the morning we discovered a nest of ants in the bathroom (see the photo). In addition, there is a disco next to the hotel so just brace yourself up for techno sounds all night long.

The only positive thing was the breakfast which was quite opulent as for Croatian standards. It is served on the terrace overlooking the harbour.

To sum up, try to stay away from this hotel but if you must stay there, do not stay in Room 516.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arenaturist, Management at Hotel Riviera, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that the building and the spacious rooms were to your liking. On the other hand, we are deeply sorry for the inconvenience that you may have experienced in regards to the bugs and nest of ants. All of your kind remarks will be shared with our Housekeeping Manager. Please note that your experience doesn’t reflect the usual standard of our housekeeping service and we apologize for that.

Thank you once again for your review and when you plan a return please do contact us at booking@arenaturist.hr with any enquiries or requests.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    23
    26
    19
    30
See reviews for
10
52
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

The Riviera is in a beautiful old building, gone to seed, which is unfortunately hidden now by trees so you can't see the façade well. Inside it is rather gloomy and has undergone seval make-unders since its Hapsburg heyday, resulting in a post-communist budget lodging. This also adds to its 'charm' but is probably not to everyone's taste. Our room was on the 4th floor and was very large and spacious. It had a view over the sea as requested and a lovely little balcony to sit out on. The beds were quite soft but comfy. The room had a fridge (useful for cooling drinks in the hot summer weather), a fan (necessary as there is no air con) and lots of wardrobe and storage space. We loved the mix of original Hapsburg era / Yugoslav era/ post communist era features which made it quirky and charming, but again this would not be to everyone's taste. The breakfast was quite good, with a range of fresh meats and cheeses, fruit, yoghurt, different breads and pastries. The juices and hot drinks we not so nice, but no worse than in the other budget hotels we have stayed at in Croatia. The wifi works well, but is only available on the ground floor (reception) and first floor (breakfast area) but there are loads of places to sit in order to use it. There is a useful mini supermarket, one minute up splitska street. Location is good, on the front, 2 minutes from the giant amphitheatre and about ten minutes walk into the centre of Pula. All the old blokes who work on reception spoke good English and appreciated my attempt at speaking Croatian! We were there for the Pula film festival and the town had a real buzz. Watching a Croatian film 'Simon čudotvorac' in the amphitheatre at night was a real highlight. If you want a clean, boring, bland plastic hotel don't stay here, but if you like a bit of character, it is good value for money and quite an experience.

Room Tip: Ask for either a sea view or a view of the amphitheatre / top floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arenaturist, Management at Hotel Riviera, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice review and for choosing our hotel Riviera for your stay. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the room and that the hotel's design and architecture were also to your liking.
If you plan a future stay in our hotel, or in any of our facilities do not hesitate to contact us at: booking@arenaturist.hr and we'll be more than happy to help you!

Kind Regards,
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Huge rooms with a view (if you are high enough), great location and spotless bathrooms make up for the lousy mattresses. Breakfast was very nice but it's a crying shame that the lighting in the breakfast room reminds you more of a train station the pretty room it could really be. Little touches could do wonders for this place so please take this a s constructive criticism because it only takes a little bit to go a long way!

Room Tip: choose a room high up if you can as these have a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arenaturist, Manager at Hotel Riviera, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear guest,

We thank you for your review of our Hotel Riviera and are pleased to get to know you have enjoyed your stay at our facility as well as its location, cleanliness and food offer. We will indeed take your criticism about lightning as constructive and hopefully as you say go a long way for the next summer season.

Hoping to see you again soon somewhere within our Arenaturist hotel structures we send you our friendliest regards.
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pula, Croatia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Nice old hotel on a perfect location with a nice view from the sea side rooms. Staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms are a bit outdated, but the location of the hotel compensates a lot. Breakfast is also good. Overall good hotel for a fair price.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arenaturist, Manager at Hotel Riviera, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear guest,

We are very grateful you sent us a review about our Hotel Riviera and glad to hear you enjoyed the time spent at our facility as well as the sea side room, friendly staff, food offer and hotel's location.

Until your next visit we send you our best regards.

The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fitchburg, Massachusetts
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Great hotel just a 5 minute walk from the bus station. Literally 5 minute walk from everything once you get your bearings. SO grand and beautiful, with large rooms and updated bathrooms. We had 2 balconies overlooking the Adriatic to choose from. Great little breakfast on the large balcony was perfect for drinks before dinner. Only downside: mosquito issue was pretty frustrating, but keeping the bathroom door closed at night seemed to help. Impoverished nobility, perfect description!
Front desk was extremely service oriented, and very pleasant to deal with.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arenaturist, Manager at Hotel Riviera, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review about our Hotel Riviera. We are pleased to know you have enjoyed your stay at our Hotel as well as appreciated our helpful staff, food offer and hotel's location.

Until we see you again within one of our facilities in Pula we're sending our friendliest greetings.
The Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sweden
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The building is really impressive as its terrace were in summertime you can have breakfast, gorgeous! you can almost feel how luxurious it was many years ago! The breakfast is OK, with some heathy solutions and you will not stay hungry. Rooms are OK in size but very very worn out, like 50 years old furniture as well as everything on the walls. The same feeling is at the reception. However you can see that it was nice long ago. But the view from our room was marvelous, straight on the Amphitheater. Just few hundred meters from the Amphitheater. The service is sort of OK, I'd say average and it still reminds of all socialistic style (pre-war) service. Helpful staff in its own way. We had our MC with all kind of extra equipment and they offered very good and safe parking spot next to the entrance although the same was not a parking place. This building has a great potential and its pity that it falls apart!

Room Tip: Ask for the room facing the Amphitheater, not sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arenaturist, Manager at Hotel Riviera, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your detailed feedback! We very much appreciate your inputs and would like to underline how useful your comments are. It is a pleasure for us to read, that you enjoyed the breakfast on the terrace and the Roman Ammphiteatre view from your room. We are glad that you had a nice stay with us and that you found our staff friendly and helpful.
The Riviera is a historic building form the Austro-Hungarian period in Pula. As you have noticed, it needs to be renewed, but unfortunately for bureaucratic reason we are still not allowed to take any serious step to renew and re-modern Riviera. We hope to have the chance to have you as our guest again soon!
Best Regards,
The Arenaturist staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Montana
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

This beautiful old five-story hotel, in the neo-Baroque style from the late 1800s, appears to be a work in progress for the hospitality company called Arena which has a dozen or more properties throughout the Istria peninsula.

Look one way and you see ornate public areas on each floor and a spacious breakfast room/ evening pub with a gorgeous terrace.

Look another way and you see a building badly in need of a several tubes of caulk and a many gallons of paint.

But if you like old hotels with a ton of character like we do, then you can put up with areas of shoddiness interspersed with splashes of beauty.

Our very large triple room (#409) had twin beds, a couch, desk and chair and a walk-out balcony with amazing views of the harbor and town. Also a mini-fridge and satellite TV.

For some unknown reason, the triple is priced the same as a much smaller standard double room (without balcony) at Euro 58 per night ($75). The oversized bathroom had an excellent shower and plenty of hot water.

Breakfast was included in the price and it was one of the best morning meals we've ever had in our travels throughout Europe. Eggs cooked to suit; potatoes; sausage, bacon, pancakes assorted pasteries, juice and a lot more. We were so stunned by the quality of the breakfast, we made several trip through the buffet!

A small grocery store was a block away where we picked up juice, snacks and beverages for the small fridge during our two-day stay.

The staff was exceedingly friendly, particularly the front desk employes. Arena HQ promptly answered all my email inquiries and my preferences and special requests were noted on the reservation form sent to me and the Hotel Riviera. And all requests (fourth-floor corner room, balcony and twin beds) were granted.

The Riviera is in the center of town, just blocks from the Roman coliseum and various other ruins. There are dozens of restaurants less then three blocks away.

I can't emphasize enough that this establishment (which is classified as a 'Guest House' rather than the next higher classification of 'Hotel') may not be suitable for a lot of travelers. Check out their website and, more importantly, the Trip Advisor reviews. Then you can make an informed decision based upon your style of travel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arenaturist, Manager at Hotel Riviera, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear D.Farkswald,
We would sincerely like to thank you for having written such a nice and positive review of the Riviera on Tripadvisor. We are incredibly glad that you liked the special historic atmosphere present in the hotel and that you enjoyed the breakfast served and the friendliness of our team.
Just as you noticed, the building is a very important historic construction from the Austro-Hungarian period in the centre of Pula, and as a company we have big plans to give back to Hotel Riviera the splendor it deserves.
We are always replying to the reviews of our guest to let them know that we did not forget this great building but, unfortunately for bureaucratic and legal reason we are still not allowed to take any step in the renovation of the hotel.
Once again, we would like to thank you all your kind compliments. Your praise is motivation for us to continue to do all that most possible to make our guests’ stay relaxed and.. memorable.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riviera

Address: Splitska 1, Pula 52000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Istria > Pula
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 30 Hotels in Pula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Riviera 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel Pula

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riviera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.