We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“City hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Veli Joze

Save Saved
You added Veli Joze to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Veli Joze
Becka 9, Pula 52100, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 30 hotels in Pula
newcastle upon tyne
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“City hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Stayed for 1 week, great staff !, good breakfasts, 10 minute walk to town, good showers, clean and tidy
No lifts, no safes, no air con, poor wifi, cot style beds, over priced
All in all Pula is a lovely place with great restaurants and lovely people, also very cosmopolitan as it is only a car ride for most of Europe, the Croats don't have a lot to smile about so make the effort and you will find them to helpful and appreciative with a good sense of humour.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not face the road as it is very noisy when the windows are open, when the w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    6
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
1
6
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Great location near center, friendly and helful staff are the best values of Veli Joze. And breakfast was so good, above my expectations! Only minus is lack of air-condition in rooms so it's a bit too hot in the summer during your sleep.
sum, good value for your money, especialy if you want to explore Pula by feet.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We were in Pula at the Veli Joze for a week... we wanted to be very close to friends having an apartement nearby! So the Veli Joze was a logistic solution not exactly the hotel we would personally look for... but what a nice and pleasant surprise to have TATJANA, JASNA and MARIA at the reception helping us always with a smile and with a solution!!!!
Breakfast is very good (remember you are in a 2 stars hotel, if you have been in a 2 star hotel in Italy... you would never get such a choice for breakfast!!!!)
After 3 days of stay they give you a 10% discount on the price (wich is already very competitive!)
Grazie ancora to the girls at the reception! Valentina & Riccardo

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valdobbiadene, Italy
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

i went there twice. both times were bad experiences.
last one was the whorse I ever had: I came back to hotel at midnight and just above my room there where 20 students who did noises untill 02:00 AM
in my terrace I found everything (cigarettes, beer, paper, condom)
I went twice in the reception asking to change the room but nothing change
for sure i won't go there anymore

Room Tip: change hotel !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Stayed for four nights and totally enjoyed it despite the little bit dodgy building. Yes, it's an old building with creaky floorboards and a barrack-like surrounding but I thought it was somehow fascinating. The twin bed room was clean and big enough. The lack of A/C was no problem even though it was 30+ celsius outside. Breakfast was weak, but still edible.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarajevo, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

If you really must stay here, because there is no other place left, than please at least do not have big expectations. The hotel is so shabby that the floor in the rooms is bumpy – I was afraid to break a leg. And their beds squeak. They use some strange cleaning stuff which smells awful, but at least it is clean. Room doors are so bad that it is really unsafe to leave anything of value in the room. They change the towels once in two days and bed sheets once a week. Breakfast is very poor and served in some underground room, which makes you depressed first thing in the morning. Before booking I asked for Wi-Fi and I was told no problem, there is Wi-Fi in hotel bar. But, there is not bar in that hotel! There is this basement breakfast place and you can use it there. But only during the breakfast. I was not allowed to go there in the afternoon - it was closed. There is no elevator so going to your room with the suitcase is pretty challenging. Also, the staff is not very kind and helpful (not all, but that was my general impression). We made reservation in Euros, but you will have to pay for the provision unless your payment is in Kunas (HRK). But it is cheap, rooms are clean and it is in city center, so who does not mind all mentioned above, this is the right place for you. I paid cca 27 EUR per night (B&B) which is, for Croatia’s standards, very cheap.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

The hotel is older and could use some renovation, particularly air conditioning (only the apartments have A/C, and even then only in the TV room, not the bedroom). the staff were indifferent but correct. On the positive side, the hotel is reasonably priced and only about 15 minutes from downtown Pula and the coliseum. It is therefore quiet and away from the traffic. The rooms do not have wi-fi, though apparently there is access in the basement, for a fee. Ample parking around the hotel. Breakfast was on the light and bland side. We left a bit hungry.

Room Tip: Ask for an apartment if you want A/C
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Veli Joze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Veli Joze

Address: Becka 9, Pula 52100, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Istria > Pula
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 30 hotels in Pula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Veli Joze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Veli Joze, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.