We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food full of surprises” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Konoba Batelina

Konoba Batelina
Cimulje 25, Banjole, Pula 52100, Croatia
(052) 573767
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 99 Restaurants in Pula
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chowder
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Pula, Croatia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great food full of surprises”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

I visited this restaurant only once as I am not a slow-food lover.

But I was really impressed with their innovative ways of food presentation. Its spectacular what they can do with small Adriatic fish.

They managed to turn small seamy fish in a gourmet masterpiece.

A must-try when in Pula!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    23
    8
    5
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zagreb
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“So glad we came...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We chose this restaurant specifically because it was rated so high on Tripadvisor & boy are we glad we did. This is definitely the best restaurant in Pula. When we arrived they did not have
and free tables but the really nice waiter told us to come back in about 30 minutes and he will have something for us. Sure enough, we came back and a table was already prepared for us with a reservations sign. The food was impeccable and if we would have stayed longer we would definitely be back for another meal.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“This is absolutely the best place in Pula area.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Don't even think of going anywhere else, this place is best you can find. Try to reserve in advance though.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The best meal ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I visited this place 3 times during my 2-week stay in Pula. It is definitely the best food I've ever had. It is strictly fish restaurant, and fish is not even my first choice.

Unbelievable combination of home-atmosphere and fine-dining. It is interesting, it is refreshing, it is incredible tasty. The personnel is friendly, the terrace is comfortable and you can smoke there, the cat is fat :).
My suggestion is just to let waiter to choose food for you. We had over 10 different meals every time, every one was delicious. Surprisingly for this type of restaurant, their deserts are very modern and delicate. Home wine is fine. We had about 10 different plates (2 of us) + deserts + 1 liter of wine + brandy .... for about 35 euro/person?!
Just take your time and enjoy, it will be an unforgettable experience.
It opens at 5 p.m. and closes at about 11. And yes, reservations are needed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visnjan, Croatia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Leave it to the host”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

When you come to this restaurant, the best thing you can do is to let the hosts do their job. At first we told immediately that we all are fans of all kinds of sea food and we found that we are in the right place. We were lucky at the same time that we were six, so we get to the table six different starters, six different main courses and six different desserts. Each of these dishes was very nice, a lot of flavor, prepared fresh, just for us. In between we succeed to eat a huge bowl full of fine shells. With good local wine, the evening was a real feast of flavors.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Konoba Batelina also viewed

 

Been to Konoba Batelina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Konoba Batelina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.