We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So glad we came...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Konoba Batelina

Konoba Batelina
Cimulje 25, Banjole, Pula 52100, Croatia
(052) 573767
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 83 Restaurants in Pula
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Zagreb
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“So glad we came...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We chose this restaurant specifically because it was rated so high on Tripadvisor & boy are we glad we did. This is definitely the best restaurant in Pula. When we arrived they did not have
and free tables but the really nice waiter told us to come back in about 30 minutes and he will have something for us. Sure enough, we came back and a table was already prepared for us with a reservations sign. The food was impeccable and if we would have stayed longer we would definitely be back for another meal.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    20
    6
    2
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bratislava
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“This is absolutely the best place in Pula area.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Don't even think of going anywhere else, this place is best you can find. Try to reserve in advance though.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The best meal ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I visited this place 3 times during my 2-week stay in Pula. It is definitely the best food I've ever had. It is strictly fish restaurant, and fish is not even my first choice.

Unbelievable combination of home-atmosphere and fine-dining. It is interesting, it is refreshing, it is incredible tasty. The personnel is friendly, the terrace is comfortable and you can smoke there, the cat is fat :).
My suggestion is just to let waiter to choose food for you. We had over 10 different meals every time, every one was delicious. Surprisingly for this type of restaurant, their deserts are very modern and delicate. Home wine is fine. We had about 10 different plates (2 of us) + deserts + 1 liter of wine + brandy .... for about 35 euro/person?!
Just take your time and enjoy, it will be an unforgettable experience.
It opens at 5 p.m. and closes at about 11. And yes, reservations are needed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visnjan, Croatia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Leave it to the host”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

When you come to this restaurant, the best thing you can do is to let the hosts do their job. At first we told immediately that we all are fans of all kinds of sea food and we found that we are in the right place. We were lucky at the same time that we were six, so we get to the table six different starters, six different main courses and six different desserts. Each of these dishes was very nice, a lot of flavor, prepared fresh, just for us. In between we succeed to eat a huge bowl full of fine shells. With good local wine, the evening was a real feast of flavors.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York, USA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Seafood perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We visited Batelina after a wine tasting at Wine Station Trapan In Nearby Sisan, which is something I highly recommend. First, you must make a reservation-no walk ins allowed and second, it's cash only.

The fish was exceptionally fresh and simply prepared. We had several courses of seafood including the exotic such as shark liver to an amazing crab pasta. Bring your appetite and prepare to enjoy a wonderful meal on their patio. You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Konoba Batelina also viewed

 

Been to Konoba Batelina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Konoba Batelina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.