We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Located” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Amfiteatar Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Amfiteatar Hotel to your Saves list
Amfiteatar Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Amfiteatarska, 6, Pula 52100, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Pula
Sydney
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Well Located”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Our stay was comfortable and the service was excellent. Wifi was flakey at best. Breakfast was again pretty average. The room we had looked out onto an awful apartment block typical of the communist era. Still it is next door to the magnificent amphitheater and an easy walk into town.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    39
    15
    5
    3
See reviews for
7
50
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

I think the most important thing is what am I paying for?
Pros: the location is good in pula although a busy road that leads Into the town.
Cons: 1. A lady staff! Said this when I asked: sorry I understand I was late in reserving for a hotel car park and it's full. Is there an alternative?
She replied: oh.. You. Can park your car at the carpark along the road it cost 4 kuna per hour.
I replied ok( went out to machine found machine spoiled. Went bk to hotel receptionist)
Er.. The machine is faulty and also for 100 kuna a day. How do we pay 100 kuna with coins?
She replied: oh, you can just park without paying and get a ticket that cost 100 kuna.. Anyway the hotel one cost 75 kuna per day.
I replied: ok

Next moment as we parked and walk into town. Found parking with security and cost 60 kuna a day.....

I rush back to my car but got a fine already( it's a fine!!!!!)
I went to the receptionist again.

Erm how do you pay for the ticket then?
She replied: ANYWHERE!! ( as If I am a Croatian. ) I asked again anywhere? She replies yes anywhere.

What kind of standard is this?

2. Normal room with thin pillow and really can't call the self hotel..
3. Wifi took some time before finally logged in.
4. Breakfast was normal( as per most bnb )

If a choice is given ( was a weekend everywhere nearby is Packed!! )

For the price I would get an alternative. Don't understand
What's with the rating.. ( ANGRY )don't ask me how I paid the fine, and stupid idea for parking like that.

Rating *

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Nice people ,great size and designed room, comfortable. Their restaurant serves nice food, the breakfast is sufficient. Just next to the Amfiteathre.The mini bar is not filled, some items are missing, but as we only stayed for 1 night, we were not bothered.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

The hotel is pretty much average in every way. Rooms are new and clean but small. The "seaview" is more like parking lot view with the sea in the distance. Bed was hard and staff were nice but didn't always seem to know what they were doing. Food at the restaurant was also average. if you want to stay right in Pula it's an okay choice but maybe a little pricy for what you get.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, UT
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We visited Pula for a conference in May, for which accommodations were spread throughout the area. There are more elaborate hotels, but for our needs, the Amfiteatar most fit the bill. It is true, the hotel would avoid many complaints by describing the view more accurately. We stayed in a room with a "seaview" for six days, and then in a room on the top floor which had no window, simply a skylight. "Seaview" is an exaggeration of what one sees from the front side of the building. Even so, it definitely beats "no view." But one can walk across the street to a pleasant little park, and if and when the screens from the construction on the beach come down, it will be easy to experience the sea up close and personal.
That said, the hotel is very clean, the staff delightful, and the outdoor restaurant is first rate. Truffles abound in this area - and the restaurant has a delicious truffled pasta at a price that would be hard to find in most places. The breakfast was good, though choices were limited. Bananas go fast! The wifi problem might be disturbing if it is essential. It was not available on our floor the entire time we were there, but people could access the internet in the lobby. In an emergency the computer at the desk could be used, but the staff could not always do without it. But these are minor matters. How often can you walk out your door and see a glorious Roman amphitheater a block away? And then wander in the opposite direction among other Roman ruins in a jewel-like setting. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

We stayed at the Amfiteatar Hotel for two nights in Pula, bookending our tour of Istria.

The first night we were assigned to a room on the small side but entirely adequate for going to sleep and waking up. We were given a wifi code - wifi worked poorly in the room but was fine in the lobby, so I toted the computer downstairs when I needed to do work. The bathroom had good water pressure, the room was clean.

When we returned at the end of our trip, we were given a room on the 3rd floor with skylight style loft windows (nice decorative touch, woken EARLY in the morning by the streaming light) and with a defective shower. The bathroom and bedroom carpet ended up soaking wet, but it wasn't a huge nuisance. The wifi worked better in this room.

The rooms were quiet, the continental breakfast very extensive, and the hotel in general quite modern and attractive. We were given a passcode for the front door to enter/exit during off hours - the code did not work, unfortunately, and I ended up stranded outside the hotel early one morning after a sunrise stroll (wasn't kidding about the skylights!) until a staff member came to my rescue. The front desk is not staffed 24 hours/day.

Its a very nice hotel - its just not an excellent hotel. The location is fine, the rooms were clean and I would recommend it for short stays. It just needs a little tweeking.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington, d.c.
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
144 hotel reviews
Reviews in 133 cities Reviews in 133 cities
329 helpful votes 329 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

We visited croatia for 10 days, flying into dubrovnik, busing to split, and driving from split from split to Istria--Motovon, Rovinj, and Pula and visiting small towns enroute, and busing to Venice from Pula., see prior reviews for motovon and rovinj and tips. This hotel is less than a year old, sleek and modern, with art decoish style rooms and decor, wifi, an elevator,and a roomrefrigerator. The restaurant is said to be one of the best in PUla-we had a coffee on the patio and ate at a pleasant small konoba in the old town, ?Orfige?,a 7 minute walk from the hotel . The amphitheatre, is as well preserved as Rome but smaller, is 50 steps away and the old town, as noted, is a few blocks. Pula is worth a visit for the coliseum. We needed to overnite there to return our Avis car and get the 510am bus to Venice that stops in front of the .amphitheatre, But for this fact, we would have stayed in more charming Rovinj a 3rd night.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amfiteatar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amfiteatar Hotel

Address: Amfiteatarska, 6, Pula 52100, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Istria > Pula
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Pula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Amfiteatar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Amfiteatar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amfiteatar Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.