We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good seafood” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Farabuto

Farabuto
Sisplac 15, Pula 52100, Croatia
+385 52 386 074
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 82 restaurants in Pula
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Seafood, Croatian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Boutiq style, SLOW FOOD restaurant.We are small place , and principle of our work is based on fresh seasonal ingredients, our home made pasta and bread...And working with top istrian olive oils like Meloto or Salvela.We are trying to serve you the best of our traditional and mediteranian food, in a simple and honest way.If you are fan of slow and quite dinner, let us quide you through our modest menu..And if you wanna finish your dinner in one hour,the best is to avoid us.
Paris, France
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very good seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We came to Farabuto to eat seafood and were not disappointed. We had a delicious starter (mixed seafood platter for 2) and a nice seafood risotto for 2 (large portions, with whole shellfish). The dessert (chocolate mousse) was ordinary and we could have skipped it without missing much (after reading other TripAdvisor reviews I very much wanted to try the strawberry lasagna but it was not on the menu). We each had a glass of white house wine, which was very good and really cheap (6 kn a glass).
The bill came around 330 kn in total, which was very reasonably priced given what we ate.
Service was good. The waiter gave us nice explanations about the starters and he offered us local liquors after our meal.
We arrived around 20.30 and probably did well not to come later as the restaurant filled in very quickly after that.
In a word, we recommend this restaurant for seafood lovers!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    82
    43
    17
    11
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
wien
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very good cosy restaurant for a very Good Price , highly recommended”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

We Visited this restaurant as two families with one child. As we came in a little late we really liked the fact that they served the pasta for our 8yr old first.
The appetizers (mixed Sea food platter) was excellent, and all main dishes were really very good! I had shrimp Pasta which was really tasty fresh and very good with a unique taste.
The recommended wine a local malvazia went very well with the servings was dry fresh tasty and reasonably priced. I didnt pay but the prices in the menu were really good, so you get a Lot for your money.
Only little downside is that it takes quite long until you get your food.
Overall a recommendation!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent small restaurant that will blow your mind, but not your wallet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

First bit of good news was coming almost before closing time, and still being admitted (we stayed 2 hours pass their closing time).

Service was absolutely fantastic! Reorganizing their terrace so we can fit outside on a cool summer night was just one of the things we got from them.

Food was awesome - 5 of us ate 5 different meals, trying a bite of of each other plates, and in the end, we just couldn't decide which was the best.

We were more than happy with the wine we got, but the icing of the cake was the dessert - we had strawbery lasagna (must try!), and cheesecake with FRESHLY baked almonds on top, which smelled divine!

The great night we spent there was finalized with a staggeringely low bill in the end, we were expecting prices up to 50% higher! The food and the service are as good or better than what you can find in most of elite restaurants.

I know I've found my go-to place to eat in Pula!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best restaurant in Pula”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

In centar of Pula is hard to finde a Restaurant that is diferent then the next door one. Local peopel recomended us Farabuto. It was the most exciting moment of our stay in Pula ofcourse just after the concert of Leonard Cohen. Food, staff and atmosphere were too good. Only small minus for location( littel bit hard to find but once you get there you´ll forget all the trouble.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Budapest, Hungary
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not worth it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

First of all it is a pain in the butt to find, which is really not worth the trip. Then there is the service. We went at 4 in the afternoon (hardly the busiest time, there were maybe 2 or 3 other tables other than us) and it took the waiter 15 minutes to get us a menu, then once we ordered we waited a full hour for our food (grilled stuffed squid with pollenta and pasta with mushroom).

The food was nothing to write home about. The "special pasta" was actually Hungarian noodles ("nokedli"), which was kinda boring for me as a Hungarian. Also TripAdvisor lists this venue as having vegetarian food, which is completely false. I fortunately stumbled upon the mushroom pasta in the daily offer, but otherwise the menu is void of vegetarian options.

Disclaimer: The waiter apologized for the delay at the end, we got a 10% discount and a free bottle of mineral water, so they handled it quite well, which is the reason for my average scores, rahter than poor or terrible.. He claimed there was some trouble that day so our case might be a one-off experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Farabuto also viewed

 

Been to Farabuto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Farabuto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.