We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attempt at a three course dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lanterna

Lanterna
Pjescana Uvala v/1, Pula 52100, Croatia
Update restaurant details
Ranked #16 of 71 restaurants in Pula
Cuisines: Croatian
Restaurant details
Great Falls, Montana
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Attempt at a three course dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

It didn't quite turn out as hoped for but it still was an enjoyable dining experience.

We started out with an appetizer of goat cheese with olive oil followed by salads for both of us.

About 45 seconds after the salads were delivered here came the main course of sea bass in a scampi sauce for each of us as well as single sides of fried potatoes and spaghetti with butter.

It would have been nice to have a little more time to enjoy the salads before the main showed up. As it was, our small table was chockablock with various dishes piled with food.

That aside, we did enjoy the two glasses of white wine with dinner and a single cappuccino afterwards.

The bill of 276 kuna ($55) seemed about right. The round trip taxi rides from our city center hotel added another 100 kunas ($20) to the tab so (for us) it got pretty close to the 'splurge' category.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    4
    17
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Zagreb
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Recommended for seafood lovers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Been thare a couple of time with my friends and family.
The restaurant is very good if you like to eat seafood.

One of the restaurants I would recommend visiting when staying in Pula.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
208 helpful votes 208 helpful votes
“Good Seafood”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012 via mobile

Recomended to this restaurant by the hotel as a good seafood eating place. Didn't look much from the outside but inside it was very well done, modern and the seting helped provide a good atmosphere.

We started with 2 entrees, octopus salad and a crab dish, both excellent. Mains were clam pasta and crabmeat pasta, both OK. Dessert we both had pannacotta as it was recommended, only average. Total cost of the meal including a large water and a coke was 360 kuna or about €52. Fair value for money.

Service was very professional. Glad we went but would try somewhere else next time.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fresh seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

Very good seafood, good service, prices tend to be high

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“cosy restaurant with good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

went on a saturday evening in may. very popular with locals as well as tourists. started with clams and then the scampi risotto. House white wine. All meals nicely prepared and well cooked. competitive prices.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lanterna also viewed

 

Been to Lanterna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lanterna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.