We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Local Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Odisej

Odisej
Arsenalska 7, Pula, Croatia
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 89 Restaurants in Pula
Cuisines: Croatian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Skipton
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great Local Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I can't believe a couple of the bad reviews given to Odisej, mind you, I'm not an expert on kebabs, burger van food, or pizzas !! We normally eat in some of the best restaurants in Istria, Odisej is the best for cevapcici. Okay, if you want posh, Odisej isn't going to be for you. It's mainly frequented by locals, and is not in a posh area of Pula to say the least. We've gone here for years with Croatian friends when we fancy some good plain local food, that's exactly what it is. Odisej is currently celebrating it's 20th anniversary, they must be doing something right. At around £30.00 for cevapcici & drinks for 4 people it's fantastic value.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    18
    10
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Rubbish. Glorified burger van food.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

I can't believe odisej got any excellent reviews at all. The food is basically greasy, tasteless kebab meat similar but inferior to an English kebab shop or burger van. We were looking for something other than downtown Pula's ubiquitous pizza parlours (which are by and large excellent) but after our hugely dissatisfying and unfinished meals, we would rather have visited McDonald's. Kebabish in Sheffield is the best kebab shop I know and it is excellent for a kebab shop, but I wouldn't rate it as an excellent restaurant. Unless you're looking for a drunken late night reminder of England, avoid at all costs.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pula, Croatia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good service - mediocre food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

Nice place and interior. Professional service but the food is not at same level. They make also burek but you can find that kind of meal only in the morning.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent grill house”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

10 mins walk out of town centre but well worth the effort. Small restaurant with lovely garden terrace. Specialises in cevapici, grilled chicken, pork and veal (definitely the winner for us) all served in home made lepinja flat bread. Side orders of fries, salads, grilled veg platters. Excellent value dinner for 2 including wine and coffes for less than £20! Very popular with locals but multi-lingual staff and pleasant atmosphere.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Namur, Belgium
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Surprising at first, then very good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Odisej snack-grill is a nice little snack situated about 15 minutes away from Pula center.
I don't remember well what we had there, I think it was grilled chicken and cevapcici.
It was quite simple: white bread, onions as the only vegetable, and grilled meat.
It was very good, not something I'm used to eat tough, but very good and filling.
It's a snack, so you won't have anything healthy or light, but its tastes good, it's quality food, and the place is clean.
The staff is friendly and helpful, and the price are more than affordable.
If we visit Pula again, I'm sure we'll eat at Odisej.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Odisej also viewed

 

Been to Odisej? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Odisej, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.