We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If You want eat fish with sea worm...” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Milan

Save Saved
You added Hotel Milan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Milan
Stoja 4, Pula 52100, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 29 Hotels in Pula
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“If You want eat fish with sea worm...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

From 13th to 17th of February we were in Pula for business.
On the 15th of February, I've made reservation for dinner in the restaurant of Hotel Milan.

We ordered scallops (excellent) and than fish (turbot, I think). But I had a big surprise discovering something disgusting in the fish. I told the waiter. His reaction: 'oh that's a sea worm'. No apologies, as if that's normal. But for us it was not normal at all! We were quite shocked, didn't order anything else and left. Also at that moment no apologies.
We are very displeased by this and like to warn other customers.

Inge M.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    12
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
2
14
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

This hotel is owned by a family and also has one of Pula's finest restaurants. We stayed in this hotel for two nights. The staff was extremely helpful and accommodating.

The hotel itself needs a renovation, though. For the price one would assume that the standard of the hotel would be higher. The rooms need makeovers, as they are quite worn and old looking. Also, the beds are too soft. Otherwise the rooms are clean and tidy.

We had requested a non-smoking room, but our room initially reeked of old cigarette smoke. Fortunately, after keeping our windows open during the first day, the smell subsided.

The breakfast is excellent! The staff presses juice from fresh fruits if you want. The buffet is generous with yogurts, cheeses, ham, muesli, nuts, spreads, melon, fresh fruits etc. And the cakes they serve are scrumptious.

Even if you don't stay at the hotel, make sure you try the restaurant if you're in Pula. It is excellent with a wide variety of fish, pasta, lobster, etc. The wines are great and don't miss the cakes they serve as dessert!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011 via mobile

Stayed here after checking the reviews on Trip Advisor and wasn't disappointed. Good rooms and friendly staff. 5 minute drive into the centre of Pula. The restaurant was amazing and the quality of food was first class. If you weren't staying at the hotel and would still check out the restaurant

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zwalm
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Located between the old city of Pula in Istria and a couple of beaches.
Hotel Milan is a surprise. The design of the hotel is special.
Great rooms but the restaurant is a MUST DO.
They have a great reputation and are mostly fully booked in the week-ends.
Incredible wine card.
We paid 100 eur pro night for a double.

Room Tip: Don't go in week-ends or season
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2010

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Milan for three nights in July and have absolutely nothing bad to say about the place. The food in the restaurant is excellent (we learned that the family run Hotel was up until quite recently only a restaurant, and that the hotel function was added later), the staff is extremely friendly and very service minded and the rooms are modern, clean and well air conditioned.
The only slight minus is that the hotel is situated a bit off-center, but a taxi from the hotel to the town square takes 10 minutes at the most and costs about 50 kunas.
I can warmly recommend staying at Hotel Milan and if you do, I strongly recommend buying the hotels/restaurants own bottled olive oil - it's to die for!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2010

I stayed here for 4 nights.
The rooms are not that big, but big enought.
Beds are a bit too hard, but again this is a personal feeling.

The service is very good. People are willing to help and are very friendly.
The food is great.
Close to the little city of Pula, that is really romantic.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2009

The family run hotel is in a rather bland 60s building. Inside is comfortable, straightforward and faithful to the time of construction - but in perfect condition. I would't mind having the same decorator do my home, it is a pleasure to the eye. The paintings would do justice to any good gallery.

The service is impeccable and the restaurant is excellent. The only inconvenience is the distance to downtown, slightly too long to walk more than once but there are buses and taxes are not expensive either.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Milan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Milan

Address: Stoja 4, Pula 52100, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Istria > Pula
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 29 Hotels in Pula
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Milan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Milan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.