We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Culinary Post of a No-Longer-So-Busy Port” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Milan

Milan
Stoja 4, Pula, Croatia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 83 Restaurants in Pula
Price range: $25 - $100
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Ljubljana
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Top Culinary Post of a No-Longer-So-Busy Port”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Milan is a classy fish restaurant. One of the very best in Croatia. Still, used to be "only" No 2 in Pula before Val Sabbion shut down in early 2012. That much to yokels who come to have some cheap fast food experience; vast majority luckily disappears upon setting their eyes on the place. It looks posh, both the terrace and the indoor part. Perfect table settings, perfect lighting. Old rums on display... Quiet, self-assured friendliness.

It is a part of hotel Milan, a family institution. Which is good if you come for a truly solid dinner and need to sleep over. Yet note that the hotel is only 3-star; it seems it shall be redecorated, expanded and upgraded within two years. High time! Parking is no issue, they have a good size lot behind the hotel. The sea is five minutes walk away, the city centre and the famous Pula Roman amphitheatre ten minutes drive.

Wine list is good, one of the best I have seen in Croatia. with all major Istrian and Croatian stars at, well, still acceptable markups. Some foreign jewels for the well-to-dos, Bordeaux Premier Crus (of a single vintage), Angelo Gaja... Service perfect and quiet. Cuisine entirely on the traditional side; the traditional side of the local wealthy townfolk rather than the village fishermen, though. Definitely enjoyable and immaculate. 15 on a 1-20 scale.

Recommended heartily to all gourmets who enjoy the harmony of posh and relaxed atmosphere, very good cuisine, faultless service and proper wine. It is not surprisingly cheap, but well worth every Kuna. Again, not the place for a fun & cheap food seeking tourist. Or the experimentalist.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    14
    7
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I would recommend this restaurant if you are interested in quality food and wine in a good atmosphere, but not if you are looking for a cheap, casual type of place.
Seafood is excellent, service is also ok. Would go back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“sehr gut”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

wir waren sehr zufrieden. es lohnt sich hin zu fahren. the service was great, they were friendly and professional. we were four and all of us were very happy with the food and the atmosphere. their olives were great, the oliveoil they serve also great. we will go there again. it is not inexpensive, but it is really good!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good if you fancy sea food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

My wife and I went to Milan Restaurant looking forward to try a typical Italian dish like home made pasta of some sort, I love a good Italian pasta dish. However, all the dishes were sea food (except their spaghetti bolognese) and I wasn't feeling like sea food. I went for the bolognese, and it was quite ordinary; the pasta was not home made and I wasn't even offered parmesan cheese to give it some taste. My wife tried the scampi which she found tasty, but she missed something at the side to go with it. The dish consisted only of scampi; no salad, greens, sauce or anything.

I have to admit the appetizer was truly delicious, and perhaps it raised our expectations a bit too high. If the dinner itself had been of the same quality then we would have never left.

For dessert we had a slice of cake each. Tasty but not out of the ordinary.

The outdoor part of the restaurant was split in two, we were seated in the part where we could see the street at first; it was noisy and it felt like being seated in a hallway. Luckily there was room in the other outdoor part, and there was no problem moving us there.

The price was as you'd expect in a restaurant like this, a bit higher than average, and the service was superb until our waiter left for home as we received our main dish; then there was none.

We had hoped to spend our entire evening here, but being a bit disappointed by the food and the service we went home to our bed & breakfast to have a few drinks instead.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire, UK
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Nicest food, bit more expensive but worth it for a bit of service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Great waiting staff. Good wine advice. Mix of people, some really dressed up, some quite casual.

Would go back.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Milan also viewed

 

Been to Milan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Milan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.