We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No curry on the menu!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taj Mahal

Taj Mahal
Nikole Gucetica 2 | Iva Vojnovica 14, Dubrovnik 20 000, Croatia
+385 20 323 221
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 280 Restaurants in Dubrovnik
Price range: $14 - $22
Cuisines: European, Yugoslavian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“No curry on the menu!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Very nice place serving authentic Bosnian fare. Staff very friendly and the location lovely. Definitely not for vegetarians, as the menu is exclusively meat. We ate here twice during our visit to Dubrovnik and enjoyed the experience very much. Recommended.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    633
    348
    112
    28
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Warm welcome on a cold, wet, windy night.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

It was full, and we booked no problem for a little later, the welcome was like old friends coming back, the wind had whipped up from the sea and it was a little chilly walking around the old town, we were so pleased to find the Taj, very tasty Bosnian food and homemade bread, warm service, & superb coffee served in the traditional way with a glass of water and homemade sweet. Met a super Norwegian couple who had been back every night for a week it was so good, it was our last night, but saved the best to last. Highly recommended if you go to Dubrovnik, it is not far from the Irish Bar, where we had a drink and husband caught up on the football results whilst we waited for our table. Perfect end to a perfect holiday, we were very grateful to Sanja and Jon from Fresh Sheets Kathedral B & B for the tip.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Got lost looking for Soul Cafe found Taj Mahal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Spent some time looking for the Soul Cafe, wanting a highly recommended place to relax with a drink after lots of walking. Did eventually find it - it appears to be closed down, which was a bit disappointing. However, on our search, we came across Taj Mahal. What a find!

No real idea what to expect with Bosnian food, but it was an absolute pleasure. When we sat down to eat there were no other diners, but this changed pretty soon afterwards and more staff arrived.

Our starters of tomato soup and cheese stuffed peppers were really tasty. Main courses of vegetable skewers and the house speciality, type of pasty filled with veal and turkey were flavourful.

Deserts were excellent, baked apple and baklava, with homemade liqueurs (carob and myrtle) went down a treat. As the restaurant had gotten quite busy after we arrived, the waiter apologised for slower service (had not really noticed) and gave us two honey liqueurs on the house which were very nice too!

Tried a Bosnian coffee, which the spoon could almost stand up in on its' own, it was that strong! Nice though.

The whole meal came in under 500kn. Excellent value!

The only minor issue, would be that there is no fish on the menu, which does limit the choice for non meat eaters, but as that isn't me, I can highly recommend this restaurant.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“very tasty and very professional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

We enjoyed a meal here today. My husband had the special, I had the lamb skewers and my two daughters had the turkey skewers and bosnian beef burger. Everything came out beautifully presented, hot and delicous. In addition we had a side of flat breads, two beers, a pepsi, 7 up, glass of rose and a bosnian coffee. All for under 50 english pounds...great value for money. All four plates were clean as a whistle. Thank you very much...we are looking forward to our visit to mostar now very much!!!! :0) :0) :0) :0) :0)

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

A very nice experience.

A small place with just a few tables which works very well with the the good and cheerful service. Top score for the atmosphere.

The bosnian cuisine was unknown to us. Our party's reactions went from average to very nice and surprised.

All in all, a very fine evening - in particular because of the cozy, cheerful and charming atmosphere.


BTW: The name might cause some confusion - so beware of what kind of cuisine you expect. It makes sense to make reservations.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taj Mahal also viewed

Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 

Been to Taj Mahal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taj Mahal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.