We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly Great Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Apartments Dubrovnik - Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Apartments Dubrovnik - Center to your Saves list
Apartments Dubrovnik - Center
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Vicka Lovrina 2 | Zvijezdiceva 15, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 400 Specialty Lodging in Dubrovnik
Sheffield
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Truly Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010

This place is a real gem. Location wise, there is no better in Dubrovnik. a 5 minute easy stroll from the best end of the old town, close to the old harbour (where excursions to Lokrum, Cavtat depart), close to the beach and also shops, bakery, restarurants etc.

The view from the terrace where you can eat breakfast is incredible and one which would not be available in even the most expensive hotels. Uninteruppted views of the old harbour, town and islands.

The rooms which are set in a beautiful terrace garden full of blossoming trees, are small, but immaculate and the same views can even be seen from the kitchen window.

As others have said however, these apartments are made by Stijepo and his family who completely include guests in their family life whilst you stay. Stijepo offered to wash clothes etc, provided many recommendations etc and is on hand constantly to provide a full travel rep service if needed. What touched us is that Stijepo would come round with plates of food, fruit and drinks from time to time, beyond what you get from any package holiday.

Dubrovnik is a truly enchanting place, a bustly old town with architecture equal to that found in Venice and other european towns. The restaurants are superb and some of the bars are great for people watching. The old harbour is so very pretty and Dubrovnik is kept immaculate and respected by Tourists and the locals alike.

This was our first time in croatia and we were taken aback by the friendliness of the people and the beauty of the Town.

If we had stayed anywhere else (Gruz/Lapad etc) then we may have found it to be too busy with traffic etc. IF you stay here, you only need to see the best parts.

I really cannot recommend Lavanda and Dubrovnik highly enough.

Thanks for a lovely stay.

Richard & Danielle

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    19
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
56
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
North East
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

DUBROVNIK - Lavanda Apartments

Dubrovnik is all that you think it is and more. A beautiful city with magical streets, houses and public buildings but what can make or break your holiday is the accommodation and your encounters with local residents either on trips, in restaurants and cafes or on the streets.

Lavanda apartment took these worries away it is a breathtaking location over looking Lokrum island and the Old Town. This is the view everyone wants and 20 times a day someone will stop opposite the apartment and take a photograph of the Old Town. The bakery is 2 minutes away, the supermarket 5 minutes and the beach is only 3 minutes away however the biggest asset of these apartments is the owner Stijepo (or Steve for short). This man is a walking encyclopaedia of Dubrovnik and the best restaurants from pizza to posh but the very best thing about him is that he is so friendly and warm. He will tell you the most inexpensive place to eat, and get you a discount! He will tell you about all of the available excursions and suggest which ones will suit you. Everyone knows him and likes him and the taxi transfer he arranged from the airport to the apartments and return was the smoothest operation I have ever encountered on a holiday transfer. From meeting the taxi driver at the airport to being dropped off at the apartment was like being an A-list celebrity on your way to the Oscars.

Although we were “lucky” enough to come across the coldest day in Dubrovnik for 80 years (in June!) and had 2 days rain thrown in it was undoubtedly one of the best holidays I have had in the last 40 years.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2010

We spent a week in this apartment and cannot recommend it enough. Stijepo met us at the city walls and took our cases to the apartment. Along the way we had a personal tour of the city. Stijepo offered us invaluable local knowledge about where to eat and visit which made our trip really special. He is also on call whenever you need him and offered an exceptional level of service. The apartment is clean, welcoming and is filled with small thoughful touches from the owners. It was a pleasure to meet Stijepo and stay with such a kind and generous host. We would return to this apartment and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2010

Why amazing?
- superb location (close to beach, Old Town, shop and bakery, bus)
- best view from lovely terrace
- clean, functional, with everything you need from holiday apartment
- and the most important - hosts - welcoming, attentive, helpful, made us feel absolutely at home and the best guide you can imagine.
We truly recommend apartment Lavanda to anyone who wants to visit Dubrovnik.
Thank you Ivana & Stijepo for wonderful time, hope we see you soon again.
Hvala!
Dariusz i Wioletta

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hertfordshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2010

Right from the start










From the start of our 7 day stay when, despite the heavy rain during the first two days, we experienced a wonderful first time stay in Croatia. We were warmly welcomed by Stijepo ("call me Steve") who made us feel absolutely at home by offering a lovely cool drink while he described in great detail what we should looking for in the city where he had spent all his life. His knowledge of the area and it's people proved to be most useful in helping us plan for the days ahead. Stiejpo was always on hand and we got to meet his lovely wife Irvana (although working hard as a teacher) his delightful mother Slavica and not forgetting the "King Kongs" (their 2 great lively sons).
Oh and yes the apartment Lavanda is excellently located an easy 10 minute walk to the Old City. It is compact and very, very clean with everthing you need for a short stay.
We experienced a trip to Montenegro, a short crossing to Isle Lokrum, a visit to lovely Cavtat and of course we walked the City Walls.(all recommended by Stijepo)
However, even after having visited most of the tourist attractions we will return, to once again catch up with our friends-Ivana, King Kongs, Slavica, turtle, two grasshoppers and Stijepo!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2010

Both Stephen and Ivana are amazing hosts, they are an amazing family that care about sharing their country with visitors. They provided detailed information of the city; places to eat, places to visit etc A travel book could not given this kind of information.!

Their apartments are a pleasure to stay in; the view both at dusk and dawn is breath taking !

We cant wait to go back

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2010

It is very nice place! We recommend it to all visitors. Thank You very much!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Apartments Dubrovnik - Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartments Dubrovnik - Center

Address: Vicka Lovrina 2 | Zvijezdiceva 15, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 400 Specialty Lodging in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartments Dubrovnik - Center 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartments Dubrovnik-center are located on the two locations in Dubrovnik`s center. Two apartments, Lavanda and Old port are situated in the most beautiful part of the city – Ploče.It is opposite the Excelsior hotel, only a few meters to the sea.The apartments have a breathtaking view of the old town, the sea and the island of the Lokrum. Apartment Dubrovnik-center is situated in the old town surrounded by city walls, in the Zvijezdićeva street, just two minutes away from the Stradun – the centre of all events. The apartment is a part of the old stone house that has been Šutalo family property since the 16th century. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Apartments Dubrovnik - Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apartments Dubrovnik - Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.