We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two great apartments run by wonderful people” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Apartments Dubrovnik - Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Apartments Dubrovnik - Center to your Saves list
Apartments Dubrovnik - Center
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Vicka Lovrina 2 | Zvijezdiceva 15, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 421 Specialty Lodging in Dubrovnik
Santa Barbara, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Two great apartments run by wonderful people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

In June 2012 I stayed in both the Apartment Dubrovnik-Center and the Lavanda apartment (the first one was only available for 4 nights, then I moved. The owners Stijepo and Ivana were so quick to answer emails and could not have been more helpful. Then Stijepo lugged all my stuff (and I have a LOT) from the city gate to the first apartment and again to the Lavanda. In the heat... poor guy. The Dubrovnik-Center apartment has the benefit of being in the old town, and it is VERY close to the Buza Bars #1 & #2. It is a tiny but comfy place on a really sweet street full of local residents. I found it very quiet at night but it is a bit of an uphill trek with a lot of stairs - which means it is also out of sight for many of the gazillion tourists on the flat part of Dubrovnik.

Stijepo had told me the Lavanda apartment was nicer and he is absolutely right. For one thing his mom (or Ivana's?) is there onsite and maybe she keeps the silverware more organized. There is more comfort (the bed at Lavanda is against the wall so you can read in it - at the other one, it is not so you can't) and a terrace with wonderful views of Dubrovnik's Old Town. I can't imagine why anyone would want to rent an expensive hotel room at the Excelsior which is a few steps away when you can rent a little apartment from these folks. Thanks Stijepo and Ivana for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Apartments Dubrovnik - Center, responded to this review, July 1, 2012
Dear S.

Thanks for your review. We are happy that Dubrovnik was one of your station in your five-month journey. You were in two of ours three apartment here in Dubrovnik and it a great to see that you had wonderful stay.

We hope that we will see next time.

P.S. Don`t worry for Stijepo. He carries luggage always. He is strong guy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    20
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
57
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

We stayed in the apartment lavanda right outside the city walls across the street from the hotel excelsior. The location is great, 5 min walk to the Ploce gate, 1 min walk to beautiful Banje beach. There is a supermarket and two bakeries nearby. The apartment was clean and had a small kitchenette with a microwave, TV, a/c, and free wi-fi. The best part is the huge terrace with a beautiful view of lokrum and the old city. On arrival Stijepo offered us a welcome drink and took the time to sit with us and show us a map of the city, what we should see, places to eat and drink, day trips from the city, etc. We will definitely stay here again the next time we are in Dubrovnik.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Apartments Dubrovnik - Center, responded to this review, July 1, 2012
Thanks

We will happy to see you again.

Ivana and Stijepo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

The place is about 5 minutes from a Konzum grocery store, two bakeries, and the city walls. Overall, a very pleasurable experience. Stijepo is a real character. Some of the photos on here are not of the actual place. Overall, a really good value and location. I suggest trying the walnut liqueur in town if you get a chance.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Apartments Dubrovnik - Center, responded to this review, July 1, 2012
Hello

Thanks for your review.

You were staying in apartment Lavanda and next few days in apartment Old port which are lacated 4-5 min. by. walk from the entrance in the old city, Ploce gate. Some of the photos are from the old city. Zvijezdiceva street, where is located apartment Dubrovnik-center and Buza bar, one of the most beautiful places in Dubrovnik, near the apartment. Some guests want to stay inside of the city walls, actually in the center of the old town and some outside of city center.

Best regards

Ivana and Stijepo

We definitely reccommend to take one drink at the Buza bar (Cold drinks), 2-3 min. by walk from apartment Dubrovnik-center.

Ivana and Stijepo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antartica
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

Great place - very very nice, extremely friendly, informative and accomodating owner. Pretty close to old city. In a city that is full of tourist rip-offs, this is a gem

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

Stijepo was an extremely hospitable and kind host. He took alot of time to sit down with us to explain the city. And his mother was so lovely, as was the pet turtle :-)
The apartment was a reasonable size and clean. The outside sitting area is wonderful. The bed was ok, a little uncomfortable. The location was great if you have the ability to be a mountain goat.. But in Croatia you have to beable to climb hills.
Next time I visit Dubrovnik I look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

We stayed in Stijepo's apartment in the old city and also in apartment Lavanda just outside the Ploce Gate. Each provided an excellent insight to different aspects of this historic town. The apartment in the old town was in a quiet garden lined narrow street away from the tourist hustle and bustle. The facilities were more than adequate. We were met by our wonderful warm host at the Pile Gate and walked through the old town. At every turn Stijepo (who insisted in carrying our bags) offered advice on where to eat and what to see. His enthusiasm for his town was most apparent. We returned to Dubrovnik a week later and stayed in the Lavanda apartment for three nights. The room was again excellent and we had magical views of the town and coast from the balcony. We returned to find little presents in the fridge courtesy of our host. His mother was also most welcoming and her warmth overcame any language difficulities. Nothing was too much trouble for Stijepo. We highly recommend this establishment to anyone wanting to experience the true Croatia.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

My family of 4 (kids 9 and 12) stayed for 3 nights; husband and I in Lavanda and the kids in Old Port room next door. We felt extremely safe here and it has been the kids' favourite place so far on our holidays.
Stijepo and his mum were extremely helpful, both on arrival and during our stay. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the kitchen (which we did use for dinner one night) functional.
The beach very close by was great and it was nice to see all the locals bathing there as well (and hand feeding a gull!).
Every morning we bought fresh local food at the market in the old town and enjoyed our breakfast on the terrace with incredible views. The ice cream shop and best place for cevapcici Stijepo recommended are a must!
We cannot imagine a better place to stay in Dubrovnik and loved every minute of it!
Would not dream of staying anywhere else next time and would recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Apartments Dubrovnik - Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartments Dubrovnik - Center

Address: Vicka Lovrina 2 | Zvijezdiceva 15, Dubrovnik 20000, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Dubrovnik
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 421 Specialty Lodging in Dubrovnik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartments Dubrovnik - Center 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartments Dubrovnik-center are located on the two locations in Dubrovnik`s center. Two apartments, Lavanda and Old port are situated in the most beautiful part of the city – Ploče.It is opposite the Excelsior hotel, only a few meters to the sea.The apartments have a breathtaking view of the old town, the sea and the island of the Lokrum. Apartment Dubrovnik-center is situated in the old town surrounded by city walls, in the Zvijezdićeva street, just two minutes away from the Stradun – the centre of all events. The apartment is a part of the old stone house that has been Šutalo family property since the 16th century. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Apartments Dubrovnik - Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apartments Dubrovnik - Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.